We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL CRAB SANDWICH!”
Review of The London Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The London Inn
Ranked #50 of 56 Padstow B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“WONDERFUL CRAB SANDWICH!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We were visiting Padstow with a N.Z relative who fancied a crab sandwich for lunch. The sandwich was exceptional with lovely fresh bread and a small side salad with a lovely dressing.
A large pot of tea completed the lunch; Worth paying a little extra for, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_a5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    20
    13
    17
See reviews for
29
57
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Single handedly THE best roast I have ever had in my life, pub roasts can be so cruel, luring you in with promises of succulent meat, crispy potatoes and all the trimmings and what you actually end up with is meat that tastes like a bicycle tyre and a flaccid Yorkshire.
Well this roast has it all - succulent pork (and plenty of it) crispy crackling and potatoes that are fluffy on the inside and crunchy crisp on the outside, lashings of gravy with a homemade yorkie. And if that wasn't enough, usually the naffest part of a pub roast, the veggies rivalled the meat, creamy yet zingy cauliflower cheese, crunchy sugar snaps, carrots and cabbage and an unexpected triumph were the herby courgettes. If I haven't made it clear enough all ready, if you're in Padstow make sure you visit here for a roast like no other. Only £8.50 for your dining pleasure and the service was ace too, quick and a really lovely waitress. I want to live here!!!!

Parveen, 29, how will I ever enjoy anything again!!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sauve-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Lovely food in a nice atmosphere. We go every year for a meal on our family holiday to Padstow and it never fails to disappoint. Staff are always very friendly and accomodating, recently recommended a friend, who stayed for the night and loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

For years of visiting Padstow I have always admired the sensational flowers outside, which are solely what drags this review up to an "average" rating. However, looking for somewhere to have a simple evening meal we went in and found that nothing about the inside matches up to the promise of the outside!
Although it was obvious we were looking for service, none of the several members of staff took any notice at all. A quick "I'll be with you in a minute" would have worked wonders.
Instead, we waited for some time then went elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenFrench_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in their ensuite room, which was clean, spacious and comfortable. Tim was a fantastic host, and the cooked breakfast was great. The pub is an icon in Padstow, with a great restaurant. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambese19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The London Inn may be a cheerful and beautifully flower-boxed pub but no one in their right mind should dream of spending a night there. There are half a dozen rooms above the pub of which only two are not used by resident staff. The rooms are directly between the back door of the bar and an elevated platform for smokers. Sleep is absolutely impossible until after the pub clientele have drifted away at about 11.30. Our room smelt strongly of a mixture of smoke and black spot mould. The bedside table had not been emptied and contained old tissues, packets of matches, and other debris. The toilet seat had almost come loose from the bowl. Breakfast was taken in a dark and cheerless room. It was the worst accommodation I have had for perhaps 40 years.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuttsPadstow, Owner at The London Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi thank you for your response . One thing I would like to add first you were staying in a public house above the bar area which you would understand there would be noise . We stay open just like any other public house we do last orders at 11pm and time at 11.15 pm most other pubs don't do this until 11.30 pm then 11.45 time . Yes there is a decking area at the rear of the pub on which there were 3 people on and they were locals and none of them smoked so I don't understand where the smoke was coming from . As for the bins they were emptied .WE serve breakfast in our restaurant which is yes a little dull but it is a really old pub we have maximum lighting and we serve over 150 meals in this little room a day and no one else has complained about this . You had it in for our little pub as soon as you arrived saying it was cold and wanted heating turned up it was August and your bedroom window was open maybe you should have shut that ? And can't understand why you where knocking on bedroom doors on your arrival asking who the people where and snooping around in my private quarters without asking. to be very frank if you don't like a bit of noise from a PUB please don't stay in one because that is what you will get if you stay in most pubs or bars in a Cornish town in the busiest time of the year . Maybe you should think twice next time to stop in a busy pub in August if you don't like the noise .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Padstow hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

This could be a great pub if the welcome was friendly and the toilets clean. Sadly it seems to me that the owners rely only on the location knowing they'll make money whatever the service they offer. A real shame.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padstow hotels
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 56 in Padstow
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#26 of 56 in Padstow
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farmers Arms Inn
The Farmers Arms Inn
#53 of 56 in Padstow
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 56 in Padstow
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London Inn

Property: The London Inn
Address: Lanadwell Street, Padstow PL28 8AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The London Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Inn Has Been a pub since 1803 and was 3 fishermans cottages but named after a local sloop (ship) . An unspoilt old cornish pub with 3 B and b rooms and wheel house restuarant.We proudly hold the excellence for serving cask ale certificate and we hold the largest selection of cask ales in padstow .Our food is localy sourced mostly in padstow fresh padstow farm meat and fresh crab and fish from padstow fishing boats . Proper Ale ! Proper Food ! Proper Job ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing