We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional pub with a good atmosphere.”
Review of The London Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The London Inn
Ranked #52 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My family and I stayed there for one night whilst on our holiday in cornwall. It is a nice traditional pub in the heart of Padstow. The pub itself it very traditionally decorated and the service was decent. We were planning on having a meal on the evening but we sat down, looked at the menu and were a bit disappointed because there was very little choice. The menu was, in truth, quite boring so we decided to go elsewhere. We did, however, have breakfast there the morning we left and it wasn't great. If you like a traditional pub full English then you'd probably quite enjoy it but I felt it was just average. It had everything you'd want in you full English but it was pretty bland and tasteless. My advice to them on the food front is really just to spice up the menu a bit. The accommodation, on the other hand, was very good. When we got there they told us that the rooms has been recently refurbished and they were great. The decor was very nice, inspired by the location. The furniture was homely and comfortable; I felt warm and safe. I was impressed by the rooms and it made the stay a lot more pleasant. There was a downside though, the door to the hall way which lead to our rooms had no lock. we were a bit worried about this to begin with but the doors to the separate rooms did have locks themselves so this was more reassuring. Overall the accommodation was great, but the food needs work. It was good traditional pub in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My hubby liked this pub I guess because it is in the tradional style & it is dog friendly which is is bonus. We went in about 5 times while on holiday as it was close to our cottage so I'm not judging this on one visit. I personally did not like the staff at all, to put it frankly they don't like tourists, are surly, unfriendly & hungover!

The drinks were always good & hubby tried a few local beers which he enjoyed. We would defiantly not have eaten here due to the poor hygiene as the toilets were never clean no matter what day or time we visited.

This is defiantly where the locals drink, all of whom were foul mouthed, loud, vulgar & not suitable to be in a child friendly area! I do not believe pubs are a suitable place for children but one couple had to leave mainly due to two middle aged local men who should have known better!

One lady staff member was friendly but there is only so much one person can do. I would like to point out to all the staff here that people like me a mire tourist are keeping you open because what we spend between June, July & August will keep you afloat in Jan, Feb & March. Food for thought!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank pinkbunnytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The London inn is one of your traditional family run pubs. The landlord Tim was born and bred in Padstow so has a strong local following. The food is excellent and having stayed there for several nights I can highly recommend the cosy atmosphere. Breakfast was great and the menu diverse enough to cater for individual tastes. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening of folk music too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiewoosie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a find, a traditional pub that served home made food and has a well kept cellar. A pleasure to visit and we noticed a number of people returning to sample the varied menu and I can see why. Nice to see a local business fitting into a niche that has not been 'Steined'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6amigos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Arrived with my family at 11.30, and tried to order a drink. There were 2 other people in at this time.
The Bartender / Landlord was trying to teach the barmaid how to use the till, and basically ignored us.
We did however eventually get our drinks.
I attempted to order food at 11.50, to be told "we don't serve till 12".
I asked if I could order, to be told "you can order in 10 minutes".

Surly, unhelpful staff.

Needless to say, we walked elsewhere, and will not return to this place. We will however recommend it to all our friends and family, in case they're bored of the delightful and friendly places around Padstow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very slow service. The barmen looked hungover and couldn't be bothered.! You would expect a salad garnish with the overpriced sandwiches to make up for the poor quality. The chips were clearly cooked in oil that hadn't been changed in a while.

Very disappointing and I'm a local !! Will not recommend this place to anyone !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Shazp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from Padstow after two week stay in a cottage that we rented so we ate out a lot in that time and tried lots of different places. The London Inn had a great range of cask ales which my husband was very pleased about, the staff are very polite and helpful especially Tim the landlord nothing was too much for him. The food was fantastic and we thought value for money it was also another class against other pubs that we ate in. My trio of fish was really tasty, I also had the calamari which was just like you would get in a taverna in Greece. My husband really enjoyed the lasagna which he said was the best he has ever had. So if you want to have a great choice of ales and food go and see Tim and his staff they will definitely look after you.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the London Inn but we went in there several times to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,536 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Farmers Arms Inn
The Farmers Arms Inn
#50 of 55 in Padstow
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 55 in Padstow
42 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waves Rooms
Waves Rooms
#2 of 2 in St Merryn
36 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#26 of 55 in Padstow
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London Inn

Address: Lanadwell Street, Padstow PL28 8AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range: £60 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The London Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Inn Has Been a pub since 1803 and was 3 fishermans cottages but named after a local sloop (ship) . An unspoilt old cornish pub with 3 B and b rooms and wheel house restuarant.We proudly hold the excellence for serving cask ale certificate and we hold the largest selection of cask ales in padstow .Our food is localy sourced mostly in padstow fresh padstow farm meat and fresh crab and fish from padstow fishing boats . Proper Ale ! Proper Food ! Proper Job ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing