We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old MacDonald's Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday with young children”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the farm camping in our caravan with our 4 year old daughter and 2 year old son. We had a wonderful time staying at this site. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful. The pitch was generous, well maintained and peaceful. The facilities at the farm are fantastic. The play equipment suits all ages and our kids loved the animals and the small train. We ate in the cafe a few times, the food was freshly prepared and very good. The shower toilet facilities are clean and perfectly adequate. This site is peaceful, friendly and utterly charming, situated only a stones throw from a fantastic beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juleschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    21
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
78
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

what an absolute joke this place is, you enter through what seems like some bodies front porch and then into there backgarden. play equipment was poor and unsuitable for the age groups it was supposed to be for. a few miserable looking animals followed. teenage staff and most visitors also looked pretty fed up and disappointed. fortunately at no point we're we asked to pay as I would of been demanding it back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

At six pounds entry for adults this place does not break the bank. It has a small selection of animals which the children are allowed to feed as well as go on pony rides. Lots of things to do / climb on including a train and some go karts. The best thing about it is that its not too big that you can't just let the kids wander around on their own while you get yourself a cider or beer from the cafe. Great place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGnomeAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Cons

Toilet/shower block needs updating. Full of bugs and not very fresh. I stayed for a week and I only saw them being cleaned once. It is left down to the people using them to maintain the cleanliness which I agree you should tidy up after yourself but bleach in the toilet topping up hand towels/hand wash is down to the owners. It's like taking a shower in a barn very cold and dusty.

Pros

Great camping pitch. massive amount of room. I was the last electric pitch and the furthest away from everything but still only a 2 min walk to toilets the farm and cafe. So no issue it was ice to be tucked away. Loads of room in front for the kids to play also.

The farm is great very we'll maintained and has everything you need to allow you to relax on the decking outside the cafe and to let your kids go off and play safely all in view. The train is awesome the go karts fab. You can feed the animals and help out if you want. The cafe was a little pricey in areas but very good food. At night it was nice to allow the kids to run of steam and for me and the wife to relax with a beer/wine.

The owner

Great people friendly and clearly dedicated. The farm is up for sale but this does not stop them putting every effort into the farm

I hope whoever buys the farm updates the shower block but keeps the rest the same.

To the current owners thanks for the time we have had at your farm ( twice now) and good luck for your retirement.

Highly recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevgalyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great family caravan and camping park. Great facilities for the children including go carts, crazy golf, and the farm animals which the children get to feed and ride the ponies. The site is very clean, though the showers do need an upgrade.The owners are really friendly. A great place to stay for a short break or family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. This place is great for the kids with all the farm animals which they can help feed in the morning and evening, I even bottle fed a lamb!!! We camped here and the location is lovely the only thing I would comment on is the standard of shower/ toilet facilities which are below average and sort of put us off using them, Considering the prime location this I feel is something they need to address quickly as it puts people off rebooking.
John the train driver is lovely and the kids follow him around at animal feeding time, my daughter loved the pony rides.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenlrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall, uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I am local and visited for the first time today with a 2 yrs and 4 month old.

Firstly it was expensive for what it was. £6 per adult but what I was most surprised about was having to pay £6 for the 2 year old which meant £18 for three of us. Usually children under 3 are free or pay for the child and adults free. We managed 2 hours at the park, so expensive for what there was.

There were a few farm animals to feed, a small train that went around, some trampolines, child slide, a pony ride lasting about 4 minutes but my toddler didn't want to go, and some little tikes trucks, that was it for the 2 year old......

The trip was ok bug the price puts me off going again, it's not somewhere I would take out a years membership for example it is better value at newquay zoo. Similar price as 2 year old is free and lots more to see, plus the train in the park and swings etc

The place was ok just too pricey for a local....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
4.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
99 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
365 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#5 of 12 in St Merryn
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old MacDonald's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old MacDonald's Farm

Property: Old MacDonald's Farm
Address: Porthcothan Bay, Padstow PL28 8LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run Farm Park, Bed and Breakfast plus campsite nestling amongst the rolling hills of the Cornish countryside, yet just half a mile from the beautiful Porthcothan Bay, situated along the North Cornish coast between Padstow and Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and PitchUp so you can book your Old MacDonald's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old MacDonald's Farm Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing