We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our fourth visit here and probably the best! Greeted in reception by very welcoming friendly staff. Our room was lovely. The restaurant is just amazing, the food incredible. Most members of the waiting staff go out of their way to make sure everything is just right.Raquel and hannah deserve a mention! Breakfast a great way to start the day . Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stopped off at the Metropole whilst staying in Padstow to go to Dinner. The hotel is big with great views of the beautiful Padstow Harbour and worth booking if you are visiting the area

Good points included the big room, spacious bathroom and comfy beds. Views of the sea through the huge windows at breakfast was also lovely

Two negatives was the tight car park and the trickle of water that came out of the shower!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived in Padstow not having booked accommodation so enquired at the nearest hotel, they were quite expensive but it was raining badly and really cold so we were temtped to just go with it until I decided to have a quick look at other hotels near by on my phone and found Metropole Hotel which had a deal on so we went in. We were immediately made to feel very welcome and booked our stay. We had dinner there that night which was lovely, the service was fantastic! We had breakfast the next morning and even though we were late down (my fault) they didn't seem to mind one bit and were so hospitable with a great breakfast choice. Would highly recommend this hotel on friendliness alone. As for the rest of it, it was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleEm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have stayed a few times at The Metropole. It is always warm, cosy, very friendly and good value for money. What more can you ask for during these cold winter days. It is like stepping back in time but that is why we love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we arrived, we thought at first it was a similar to faulty towers, but it wasn't... It was a lovely hotel, dated but charming.

We ended up staying longer than expected as padstow is a lovely getaway. We both took our bikes (highly recommended) their is a cycle trek called the camel trail, or something similar, and it was fantastic. We happened upon it by chance and we loved it.

We didn't eat at the hotel except for breakfast, which was nice, but unable to review the food. Rick Steins fish restaurant is just around the corner so we ate there, superb. The whole village is very rick stein orientated. The rock is define idly worth a visit too, Nathan outlaws restaurant is there which is very good. You have to take the ferry to get to the rock, all adds to the fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Padstow was very wet and windy on the weekend of our stay, but the warm welcome we received at the Metropole more than compensated for the poor weather. We were allowed to book in before mid-day, and were given an option to upgrade for a very modest £10 per night which we accepted. Our room had a magnificent view over the Camel estuary, was spacious and had a very well equipped bathroom. We remembered the quality of the restaurant food from an earlier stay, and we're gratified to find that it was just as good this time. This is definitely the place to stay in Padstow!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stay here most years for a weekend, it's a lovely welcoming hotel.
The staff cannot do enough for you, the food is excellent and even the basic rooms are large and comfortable. It is a good base for exploring this beautiful part of Cornwall. I cannot praise The Metropole enough, excellent value for money - I look forward to returning soon, definitely one of my happy places!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bathlangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: £108 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing