We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very nice hotel in an excellent location for exploring the delights of Padstow. Nicely decorated and well equipped rooms and an excellent breakfast. Our only disappointment was that our room was right next to the lift shaft and the drone of the lift spoilt the tranquillity and ruined a chance of a lie in. I suggest you ask for a room away from the lift if you get the chance. Mentioned it on departure and the receptionist laughed-personally didn't find this funny as wasn't a cheap stay!! Otherwise the staff were lovely and I would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Not near lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    524
    211
    89
    52
See reviews for
188
959
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the garden suite over February half term with two children and our Labrador. We could not fault the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the cleanliness of our suite. Our holiday was made particularly special because of the welcome that our Labrador received. Thank you! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We like to stay here if we are in Cornwall. The views are amazing and the lounge, restaurant and bar areas are exceptional, as is the food. Rooms are all well equipped (we have stayed in several). My favorite ones are the garden rooms where on a fine day you can sit outside on the terrace straight from your room. Room 6 is "a must stay here" room for all royal aficionados as this is the room Edward VIII and Mrs Simpson stayed in. It is a great room for watching the sun rise. The room directly above, No. 26, has a balcony and the garden room directly underneath the restaurant has a door to the garden, all three of these rooms are large spacious and very comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and attentive.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms come at a premium but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvena-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, really friendly staff, from reception to waiting on. Slight hiccup on room being serviced one morning, but not really a problem. Stayed on several occasions before, will carry on staying. Will try other hotels in the group.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Visited for a single night in February as part of a Christmas present. A very comfortable hotel in a good location overlooking Padstow harbour. We booked one of the suites ( listed as a premium room ) - well worth it !! Fantastic decor, huge bed loverly sea views well worth the small extra. Restaurant is good value. Nice touches like homeade biscuits with a complimenary drink when you arrive. Dont be fooled by the tired looking exterior - interior is great. Staff very helpfull. Will return.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites - for a very small extra you get a huge room, immaculate decoration and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBaker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great team! They make you feel so welcome and take great care of you.
The menus and Food great Cooked and served with much care and attention Sea food choices are excellent.
Rooms were good. Housekeeping caring and thoughtful Thanks for such a brilliant stay Our group will stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RichardHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bere Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We usually stay at a Richardson hotel and having stayed at the Idle Rocks, St Mawes, and the Fowey at Fowey, we thought we'd try the Metropole. We were not disappointed! Friendly staff and a good room on the second floor with a view of the harbour. The food is excellent, as it is at all Richardson Hotels. Will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bereferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
404 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,365 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing