We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull spot for a break”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is an old world hotel which is scruffy around the edges but delightful with wonderful views of Padstow and close to the town centre. The food is excellent and the staff are attentive and very pleasant and parking is no problem which for this part of the world is amazing (but don't park under the trees or the seagulls will get you!)
It is very dog friendly and I had a lower ground floor room (108) with views over the water and an outside door to a lawn which for a dog is heaven! Will come again.

Room Tip: Go for lower ground sea view especially if you have a dog.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V7mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

the slightly old fashioned air in the spacious rooms, very pleasant staff and good food make a stay at the Metropole a very enjoyable relaxing stay.
Views over the estuary ever-changing are a big plus - but impeded by the horizontal glazing bar at eye level that are very much of the 1960's style.
I also wonder whether a heating engineer needs to review the central heating to see where improvements might be needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Metropole has a superb location just five minutes walk from the town and harbour with plenty of parking space. Our double room was on the lower ground floor with views of the estuary and was spacious, clean, warm and cosy. The bathroom, which was clean and a good size, had both a bath and shower, and a good selection of spa toiletries. The towel rail kept the bathroom and towels permanently warm

We stayed for three nights on half board basis and we could not fault the food. Full English breakfasts were cooked to order and the evening meals were a delight, with the three course menu changing daily. The choice was so varied and tempting it was difficult to decide what to have. The only negative was the carpet in the dining room is looking a bit tired and the paintwork was in need of refreshing here and there.

All in all, we had a great stay and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouse_GitSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very enjoyable weekend staf was excellent as was the food. Very clean , close to the village and the harbour, easy to park. Lovely views of Padstow ,harbour and of the camel river . Will definitely be visiting there again.

Room Tip: View of the harbour
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very nice hotel in an excellent location for exploring the delights of Padstow. Nicely decorated and well equipped rooms and an excellent breakfast. Our only disappointment was that our room was right next to the lift shaft and the drone of the lift spoilt the tranquillity and ruined a chance of a lie in. I suggest you ask for a room away from the lift if you get the chance. Mentioned it on departure and the receptionist laughed-personally didn't find this funny as wasn't a cheap stay!! Otherwise the staff were lovely and I would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Not near lift!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the garden suite over February half term with two children and our Labrador. We could not fault the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the cleanliness of our suite. Our holiday was made particularly special because of the welcome that our Labrador received. Thank you! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We like to stay here if we are in Cornwall. The views are amazing and the lounge, restaurant and bar areas are exceptional, as is the food. Rooms are all well equipped (we have stayed in several). My favorite ones are the garden rooms where on a fine day you can sit outside on the terrace straight from your room. Room 6 is "a must stay here" room for all royal aficionados as this is the room Edward VIII and Mrs Simpson stayed in. It is a great room for watching the sun rise. The room directly above, No. 26, has a balcony and the garden room directly underneath the restaurant has a door to the garden, all three of these rooms are large spacious and very comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and attentive.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms come at a premium but are worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvena-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
406 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
956 reviews
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: £104 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing