We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Service”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a two night B&B break. I agree with others that yes it is a bit dated but worried that if it was updated it would loose the charm and character it currently has? We had a standard double room which was very comfortable but unfortunately the window rattled all night and kept me awake for most of the night. The following morning I asked at reception if we could have a different room which the receptionist sorted right away.The food was of a very high standard but what really impressed me about this hotel were the staff. They were ALL amazing .......... nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very special throughout our stay. Special mention must go to the Spanish waitress who was exceptional and always had a huge smile on her face !! I would definitely return for the excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

the views from the hotel are absolutely stunning looking out over the camel estuary . the food is of a very high standard at both breakfast and in the evening with an excellent choices to suit every pallet . the rooms are very comfortable and extremely well kitted out .
a leisurely walk into the centre of padstow takes no more than a few minutes where there is plenty of seating to relax and watch the world go by .
the metropole is well worth a visit and for what you get is very good value for money

Room Tip: a room with a sea view . its worth the little bit extra on the bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenjunemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a 3 night DB&B break Food was well cooked, tasty and served well. Staff all very polite, professional & helpful.
Our was on the 1st floor with a harbour & sea veiw. Yes it could do with an update it was clean & tidy. Guest who made poor reviews must be very hard to please.
This Hotel Hotel has been in Padstow for a good many years serving some very well known guest reading its history.
We would certainly return having experienced a warm welcome and stay.
Would agree it could do with a make over, it cerainly is clean and as for saying the smell of disinfectant when you pass the tpilets what do you expect when they have just been cleaned ?

Room Tip: Our room 5 was on the 1 st Floor. A veiw of the harbour & the sea. A little dated but clean &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have visited Cornwall many times and have always looked wistfully at The Metropole standing so grand overlooking Padstow. The location in Padstow is perfect as are the views from the dining room.
We arrived and were excited and check in was smooth. We were then disappointed once we got to our room as our room really didn't feel like a 4* hotel. The decor is out-dated and needs freshening up, our room decor was nothing like the brochure pictures and the bathroom was certainly not that of a usual 4* hotel with a plywood painted bath panel. The room could have been cleaner for example the hair dryer drawer had hair and crumbs in which made me not want to use the hair dryer and again just made me feel we were paying for 4* but were actually getting a 4* location not room. We enjoyed our stay in Padstow but this hotel is tired and needs some money spending to feel like the 4* experience we have come to expect. We wouldn't stay again for this reason.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kooky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Despite arriving 3 hours before the allowed check in, 1 room was ready the other was made ready within 10 minutes, whilst we had our complementary teas and coffees. Views were stunning, staff really friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We'd phoned requesting a cab for the Sunday night as soon as we checked in they confirmed cab was ordered.the hotel does need an update, wi-fi is patchy, but we were in padstow for a break so was not essential. We will definitely return for a 3rd stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a room on the 3rd floor. Beautiful room, sea view and quiet. The room was big enough to have a small settee and an arm chair. The view over the estuary was wonderful. Cleanliness of a high standard as was the comfort of the bed. We ate in the hotel, fine dining, food which could not be faulted. The view from the dining area both for dinner and breakfast a true pleasure. All staff friendly and helpful at all times. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Pros
Basic menu cooked well (but i would go to one of the local restaurants)
The location - you couldn't get any closer to Padstow
The potential to be a beautiful hotel
Big fluffy towels
The views

The Cons
The smell of disinfectant (hospital smell) as we passed the loo's on the way to our room
The mobility scooter parked just inside the main entrance.
Being woken up at 7.30am by very loud buzzing (suspect the plumbing)
The rattle of the door frame when someone moved about in the room upstairs
The distinct 'lily of the valley' smell in the public areas of the hotel
Completely overpriced - we stayed in an amazing hotel the night before for £30 less
The off putting brown stain to the rear of the toilet seat
The overall decor - white and blue tiles in the bathroom, beige floor and beige door
The parking - obviously not enough
I had vouchers to spend which i was not allowed to use on a spa treatment (i came home with £100 which i'm giving away)
horrible flat, cheap pillows

We would never stay here again..... akin to faulty towers without the comedy value

Room Tip: Don't stay here... go to a travelodge, it would be cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: £107 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing