We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed and Tired from lack of sleep”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointed and Tired from lack of sleep”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Through a mess up with my booking, my Wife and I were given room 43. in the eves. room size OK, very hot and stuffy, with original wooden sash windows, which rattled and difficult to open, window glass needed cleaning. On the ledge outside are Seagulls sitting on a Nest, every time we went near the window they made that terrible screech and also during the early hours of the morning waking us up. There is also a constant drone 24hrs a day which disturbed our sleep.Food generally very poor, and badly cooked, my full breakfast of egg,bacon,sausage, etc all over cooked dry and chewy, next day I tried scrambled egg, terrible just a yellow mass of watery slop. so tried poached egg cooked OK. Dinner over priced few choices no vegetables not good. overall I would give this hotel a 2-* and change the cook.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear rowile,

Thank you for review. I do apologise that you felt your recent stay was so disappointing and I am sorry you left us feeling like this.

I am unsure by what you mention as a ‘mess up’ with your booking but room 43, which is on the top floor has recently been decorated and does benefit from fantastic views but had you not been comfortable we would have been more than happy to have moved you to an alternative room.

I am especially sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy the food and found it over priced. Many of our comments we receive praise the chefs, even the review that follows yours comments on how reasonable and good the food is, although I appreciate guests have different expectations and tastes, I am just sorry that your experience here wasn’t a better one.

Should you wish to discuss anything then I would be more than happy for you to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    506
    199
    83
    49
See reviews for
179
926
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have visited Padstow many times and stayed in many places, but never the Metropole. I have just spent a great weekend on a romantic break deal staying here and it was lovely!! We had a fab room (The Heligan Suite 109) with French doors to the garden and a sea view.Yes the decor is a little tired but the food, and service was excellent. Champagne to the room upon arrival was particularly enjoyable (part of the weekend deal) and from the great full English breakfast to the delicious fish dishes on the menu, and lovely deserts it cannot be faulted. We will definitely visit again!!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor suite the rooms are enormous as is the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sally-Anne R,

Thank you so much for your review of the Metropole. I'm so pleased that your first stay here was so enjoyable.

I do hope that it wont be too long until we can welcome you back!

Many thanks and kind regards

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just came back from weekend at metropole hotel in padstow, hotel was very clean and staff were very polite and very friendly, views from hotel were beautiful. Room was very clean and really nice, would definitly go back again.

Room Tip: I had standard room which was a big room, but you can upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear endlandjessie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted you had a great stay with us. We are in such a fantastic position to enjoy the wonderful views across to Rock and up the Camel Estuary. I hope it wont be too long until you're back to visit again!

Kind regards

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We got married here in April 2013 and decided to return to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We had a great stay and would definitely return again. The food was amazing again and there were different choices on the 2 nights. Very efficient, polite and friendly staff. great view from modern, spacious bedroom. The hotel was just as perfect as we remembered from our wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear suz275,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

It was pleasure to have you back for your first wedding anniversary and I'm delighted it was as good as your special day.

The staff are such an asset to us and work incredibly hard to ensure that all are guest are made to feel welcome and at home.

I hope we can welcome you back for your second anniversary!

Many thanks

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at the Metropole for two nights with a group of friends as we were doing a one day cookery class at the Padstow Seafood School. We were met on arrival by two very friendly staff at the reception desk, our rooms were good and we had fantastic views over the harbour and estuary as the Metropole is in an elevated position.

Great breakfast in the morning, I would definitely recommend the Metropole!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sichal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Im so pleased that you and your friends had a great stay with us and thank you for recommending us.

I will have great pleasure in passing on your thanks to all the teams here at the hotel.

Kind regards

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had pr-booked Easter Sunday. Lunch at the Metropole for my wife's 60th birthday for 10 of us including 2 children. We were not disappointed the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent there was also a children's menu which went down well. The view from the restaurant was beautiful and there was also live music as well which was also very good. Since returning home from our short break in Cornwall and our meal at the Metropole each adult member of our family that attended has e-mailed me to thank me for the lunch and to say that the food was excellent and the restaurant with view was first class. So that leaves me to say a very big Thank-you to all the staff at the Metropole for helping to make my wife's day a special memory.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISCA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear ISCA13,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am delighted we were able to look after you and friends and make your wife's birthday so special. I will be delighted to pass on your thanks to all the teams and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The dining room is very pleasant with lovely views over the estuary. The staff are friendly and the service is good. We had the set menu and found the food to be excellent and very good value for money considering what you can pay in other restaurants in Padstow. The atmosphere is somewhat staid. This hotel is in an excellent spot and would be worth modernising in such a way as to not lose its character. If management want some ideas have a look at what they have done with the Godolphin Arms in Marazion near Penzance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing