We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely position & comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely position & comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice hotel in a lovely position in the town. You need to make sure you get there early to ensure a car parking spot. Staff very helpful & friendly. Our room was ok however the bathroom was very dated & could do with renovating (18), especially given the cost of the stay. We didn't eat in the evening but the breakfast was very good with lots of choices other than the usual "full english".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_taylor090659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    495
    197
    82
    49
See reviews for
176
909
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night. Room with a view was £214 which is a lot given the money not being spent on the hotel. The view was good and all the staff were friendly and attentive but our room was small. The bed was not straight so looked at the mattress. It was made nearly 8 years ago!! Had mattress protector but the mattress itself was stained. The bathroom towel radiator was corroded and the general sate of the room was way beyond its refurb date. Great location but not a 4* hotel. Unless its corrected soon it's slipping fast into shabiness!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnzbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 4 days at this Hotel which dwarfs the other buildings in Padstow having been built in the Rail Heyday......my Sister stayed in the Trevethian Garden Suite 104 which was immense, had it all including French windows to the garden and a view over the Cam Estuary. It had been fitted out for her with a walk in shower ( quite small) because she is less able. The comfort was second to none, king sized bed, couch, easy chair in the room, walk in dressing room, en suite and dais with easy chair and occasional table.
The meals were superb, fine diningesque, interesting menu, lots of fish. Great breakfast too.
My daughter and I stayed in 104 which was a twin garden room opening onto a patio with sun hairs etc. This room needs a makeover, the carpets were badly stained, the bathroom extractor was not working and I have to say it was too small for two people. It would be an ideal single. There was little room to move and it was so hot because we were reluctant to leave windows open because one night there was a person sleeping on the ledge outside out window. The staff moved him on but it did unnerve us a little for the rest of the stay.
Generally I would say, choose your room carefully, standard is definitely just that.
The Hotel retains it's earlier elegance but on the LG Garden floor there was a strong odour coming from the toilets which were situated there for general use.
The staff were well trained, helpful, hard working and courteous. The car park is a little tight especially the disabled bays. The outdoor pool was adequate but opened quite late and closed early when we were there in June
I would return there because it was very well situated for the Town access, views, great food but I would choose the room very carefully next time

Room Tip: Unless you are every he easy going upgrade from standard. rooms are very quiet, and there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boadicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good location, friendly staff , huge rooms, really excellent evening meal.
hotel generally looks a bit 'tired', I think they are still trying to refurbish but even the rooms which have been done already are in need of a bit of TLC. We were sweltering in our room so Itook the duvet out of the cover and just slept under the cover. The duvet was a winter weight one in June!!



Main let down is the breakfast. I have had better, more comprehensive breakfasts at small B&B's and it was definitely catering for coach tours. The hot dishes were OK but the fruit/fruit sald left a lot to be desired

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Metropole hotel is in the perfect location...but it does need some refurbishment to be a 4 star hotel.. Stayed one night in May. We were looking for a place late in the afternoon. We were a bit shocked at the 219 pounds price for one night. Room was adequate but was in need of refurbishment....a bit tired looking. The toilet seat was broken.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3455lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Metropole for 3 nights on business. Welcome was good , the staff were all very friendly. A mention for Jodie in the restaurant who worked tirelessly and very efficiently throughout my stay. The food was very good including an excellent breakfast. But , this hotel can not be classed as 4 star. Room very dated , carpet ripped in places , bathroom very dated , beds not very comfortable and the whole room was badly in need of a makeover. £170.00 a night !!! I'm sorry but seriously not worth the money. If I had been spending my own money I would have found an alternative hotel after the first night. A real shame as this hotel has the potential to be one of the finest in a stunning area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 144mikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Booked as a walk in last minute after looking on trip advisor. Perfect location with good parking etc. A little disappointed with the room standard given the 4 star rating and price charged, the bathroom is very basic and the bed linen could be better, only based on the rating compared to other places stayed locally for a lot less money.
Breakfast was excellent and very freshly made on warm plates, being a sunny morning we had a lovely view over the harbour whilst eating. We paid for a room with a view and Although everyone recommended it I'm not sure it's worth it as you can walk and see it first hand in 2 minutes.
The town of Padstow is always worth visiting in any weather as it has everything you need.
I'm sure we will return but would like to see evidence of some investment in the rooms beforehand.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing