We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and not disappointed. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Meals and breakfast were of a high standard and reasonably priced for a 4star hotel. Only small criticism is the broadband is extremely slow and unreliable . Will definitely be back for next year

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    494
    195
    82
    49
See reviews for
176
907
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Used to be a very good hotel but not any more, which is a real shame because of it's truly great location. As soon as you walk in, it all looks VERY jaded. Sadly, too, parts of the hotel like the lift and corridors are not even clean. However, we had a nice room with lovely (if noisy!) views. It was clean and everything worked, although the shower and wash basin drain only just. Some of the staff were VERY nice but the service in the restaurant for dinner the first night was a joke. Dreadfully slow, the staff seemed not to have been trained and were not even very polite. Conversely, Reception Staff could not have been kinder when we complained. The food was OK but one night was enough and we ate out the second night. Breakfast was not bad and the coffee was great, but for that price you expect much more. This hotel is crying out for investment. ,Frankly it is now shabby and rather poor and certainly not worth the money. The final straw was being asked to pay a supplement when we asked to pay the bill by credit card...We won't go back until the owners have spent some money on a total refurbishment and staff training. At the current rate it is absolutely not worth it.

Room Tip: Beware the quay is a working area and the noise from the cranes unloading the dredger starts at 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999Sasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is in a great position, just a couple of minutes walk to the main harbour in Padstow. We had a great sea-facing room on the top floor which had 3 windows, so was light, airy and very well appointed with a seating area with comfy sofa. The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent, with a good, varied menu. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you want a great, sea-facing room try room 42. Lovely light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflyblue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

it was amazing the service in the restaurant was amazing and when i went in to the room for the first time it was beautiful and the swimming pool it was just so amazing the hotel is just so amazing it really is

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice hotel in a lovely position in the town. You need to make sure you get there early to ensure a car parking spot. Staff very helpful & friendly. Our room was ok however the bathroom was very dated & could do with renovating (18), especially given the cost of the stay. We didn't eat in the evening but the breakfast was very good with lots of choices other than the usual "full english".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_taylor090659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night. Room with a view was £214 which is a lot given the money not being spent on the hotel. The view was good and all the staff were friendly and attentive but our room was small. The bed was not straight so looked at the mattress. It was made nearly 8 years ago!! Had mattress protector but the mattress itself was stained. The bathroom towel radiator was corroded and the general sate of the room was way beyond its refurb date. Great location but not a 4* hotel. Unless its corrected soon it's slipping fast into shabiness!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnzbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 4 days at this Hotel which dwarfs the other buildings in Padstow having been built in the Rail Heyday......my Sister stayed in the Trevethian Garden Suite 104 which was immense, had it all including French windows to the garden and a view over the Cam Estuary. It had been fitted out for her with a walk in shower ( quite small) because she is less able. The comfort was second to none, king sized bed, couch, easy chair in the room, walk in dressing room, en suite and dais with easy chair and occasional table.
The meals were superb, fine diningesque, interesting menu, lots of fish. Great breakfast too.
My daughter and I stayed in 104 which was a twin garden room opening onto a patio with sun hairs etc. This room needs a makeover, the carpets were badly stained, the bathroom extractor was not working and I have to say it was too small for two people. It would be an ideal single. There was little room to move and it was so hot because we were reluctant to leave windows open because one night there was a person sleeping on the ledge outside out window. The staff moved him on but it did unnerve us a little for the rest of the stay.
Generally I would say, choose your room carefully, standard is definitely just that.
The Hotel retains it's earlier elegance but on the LG Garden floor there was a strong odour coming from the toilets which were situated there for general use.
The staff were well trained, helpful, hard working and courteous. The car park is a little tight especially the disabled bays. The outdoor pool was adequate but opened quite late and closed early when we were there in June
I would return there because it was very well situated for the Town access, views, great food but I would choose the room very carefully next time

Room Tip: Unless you are every he easy going upgrade from standard. rooms are very quiet, and there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boadicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
374 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,290 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,119 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing