We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropole Hotel, Padstow, England”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Metropole Hotel, Padstow, England”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely Hotel in a great Location close to the town an Harbour, The rooms were very good with a good Beds very Comfortable gave us a great night sleep on all 3 nights. The staff could not do enough for you very helpful at all times. The breakfast in the Hotel was a good variety and very good value. We did not eat lunch or Evening as there is so many food choices in the town. Overall we would stay here again lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    520
    208
    84
    51
See reviews for
184
949
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

First time in Padstow and really loved it!!! Hotel was in excellent location with wonderful views from restaurant over harbour. First night we booked a table in the Harbour Restaurant, service was good but food was average. However when we complained about over cooked fish we were supplied with a complementary bottle of wine. Breakfast was very good with a good choice and very fresh. Sometimes you had to go searching for staff for a drink at the bar which was a little frustrating.Overall great for location but would go for bed and breakfast as there are so many good restaurants to choose from than the restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 54Markl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Couldn't fault the staff, everyone was very helpful and the location was excellent. The hotel is a stones throw from the seafront and harbour. We parked the car in the car park and simply walked around for two days, perfect. The hotel is located just behind Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant and within easy walking distance of pubs, cafés, restaurants and the harbour which is the hub of the village.

We had a room overlooking the sea so we did have superb views. However I would say that the room was just ok. Having paid almost £400 for two nights it fell below my expectations. Furniture was worn and the room itself need refurbishing. We only had breakfast which was very good and the views from the restaurant were also very good. I had heard before booking that Padstow was expensive. It is, but all in all we had a great time and I would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Our sea view room had a good view but it was nothing special. You pay a premium for the sea view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftytaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Metropole Hotel from the 7th to the 10th July.
Our accommodation was very good, the food was excellent and the staff were first class. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We commented to our waitress at dinner on our last evening how delicious the amuse bouche was on our first evening there, and, by the end of dinner, chef had written out the recipe for us !,
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the estuary and spent many a happy hour just relaxing and people watching.
I do not enjoy particularly good health, but the short break was just what we needed to recharge our batteries.
Thanks everyone for making our holiday such a happy, relaxing one.
Betty M.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bere Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is our third visit this year to one of our favourite hotels in a lovely place. The staff here are excellent, particularly Yurena our superb waitress, and the food is always top class! The views from the hotel over the Camel estuary and Padstow are tremendous!

Room Tip: Go for a sea/river view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bereferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel because of its locality in Padstow. We stayed for two nights to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.
It's a lovely, elegant hotel. It's got all of its original features from when it was built over 100 years ago.
We stayed a sea view room, which was huge, very clean and nicely furnished. The ensuite had a bath and a separate shower, again very clean. To welcome us there was a bottle of prosecco and a card from the staff, which was a lovely touch.
Reception staff were very friendly, especially, Emma, as were the waiting staff in the dining room. The breakfasts had lots of choice, pastries, fruit, cold meat, cheese, cereals, while the hot choices were cooked fresh and were very enjoyable.
I would not hesitate to return, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear dac14,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased we were able to make your anniversary a special one.

I am delighted you enjoyed your room and service and I will certainly be delighted to pass on your thanks to all the teams and especially Emma.

I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just come back from a short break at the Metropole to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We booked with two friends and had a simply fabulous time, going out to Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant for a fantastic meal.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a sea/river facing Premier Double Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Peter G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary. I do hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Many thanks

Melissa Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing