We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,700)
Filter reviews
1,700 results
Traveller rating
639
604
256
117
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
604
256
117
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews richardson group richardson hotels sea view third floor on arrival lovely hotel breakfast and dinner camel estuary rick stein's seafood restaurant great position homemade biscuits waiting staff fantastic views car parking winter break cooked breakfast enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,700 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

If you are lucky enough to have a room at the back of the building looking into the external emergency escapes you will have a wonderful view and symphony of the local pigeon population congregating both day and night. My evenings and nights were filled with the irresistible sound of cooing and my dreams took me deep into a pigeony wonderland I had never been before. Twitcher's paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Metropole, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Tam,

thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am deeply sorry that your stay has been spoiled by issue you have described and I would like to pass you my most sincere apologies. I'm sure you will understand that we have little or no control over the behaviours of any natural creature but we have anyway taken your comments on board.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Great location, just a few steps into Padstow town. Staff can't do enough for you, they were always helpful. The hotel itself could do with a refurb but I would certainly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susangoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Public Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Good Morning Susangoodwin

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will join us again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed one night in Padstow and chose this hotel for its adjacent car park. Although we didn't reserve car parking beforehand (as you should) we were allowed to leave the car in their car park - this was greatly appreciated! The rooms are big, but a little on the older side. Breakfast is held in a very nice room overlooking the sea, however the plates were all a bit dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Public Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Good Morning Carmen C

Thank you for leaving us your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been shared with the General Manger with regards plates so that this can be investigated.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

I loved the hotel a little old but nice staff very helpfull and kind couldnt do enough for you a must if you go to padstow the view was excelent looking over the bay and harbour
i also loved the breakfast

Room Tip: lovely view over the harbour and bay
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Public Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Good Morning tony s

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We have visited Padstow many, many times over the last twenty years, and have spent several weekends at the Metropole. Sadly, I feel this may very well be our last.
Firstly, the positive aspects; the staff are unfailingly pleasant and helpful in both the bar areas and the reception areas.
Now comes the downside. The Metropole is a tired, airless, dingy hotel whose only saving grace is that it has stunning views across the estuary. Everywhere, there are signs of neglect; carpets dirty and sticky, wallpaper peeling and stained, bathrooms in dire need of an upgrade. Uncomfortable synthetic pillows and poor quality bedding gives it almost a feeling of staying in a much cheaper hotel ,and I would question whether it really deserves it's four star rating.
On this visit we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast is quite nice, although we did observe that the fruit juice is no longer fresh, there were fewer fruit options and our Continental visitors would probably have been disappointed by the lack of meats and cheeses that were available in the past. The dining room though, is stifling ! Although windows were opened by some of the waiting staff, it was still too uncomfortably hot to sit in for any length of time.
Having to pay five pounds a day for a car-park that is rutted with potholes really adds insult to injury .Apparently it has been due to be fixed for quite some time, but no one has yet got around to it. There has also not been any thought given to spacing here. Maybe the four-wheeled drive vehicles that were dominating the small spaces could instead park in the overflow as most of the spaces are neither wide enough nor long enough to accommodate them.
Whilst I appreciate that at this moment in time the receivers have been called in to Richardsons Hotels, this does not excuse the fact that everywhere was neglected, scruffy and , in some place, quite dirty.
Please; whoever takes on this formerly majestic hotel-spend some serious money on it. We have noticed such a change in as little as five years;- it's as if everyone has given up on it. Must do better.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JEH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Public Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear JEH1958

Thank you for leaving us such an in depth review, we are sorry your sty did not live up to expectations.

The Metropole is subject to an on going refurbishment programme, so we hope you will come back and let us know how we are doing.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews