We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St petroc”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Petroc's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St petroc”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from the most wonderful stay at St Petrocs, could not fault the amazing staff, fabulous food and lovely room ( only slight niggle was our bed was on a slope, but not bad enough to complain)

The customer service throughout all of the Rick Stein outlets, restaurants and hotels is just fabulous really attentive staff who were so nice.

We had a four night break and would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly7719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    129
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
94
318
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staying at Bryn Cottage for a birthday treat, cannot fault anything the cottage is finished to a really high spec. the shower is like having a spa. Breakfast of smoked salmon, scrambled egg was the best I've ever tasted! Such a relaxing place could easily stay a fortnight. People are very helpful even the weather is being reasonably kind! The description on the internet was probably the first one that I have encountered to be true to life. Will certainly be back, well worth the long drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank war714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightwater
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the St Petroc and it has been very relaxing. Luckily the weather has been exceptional and so outdoor pursuits were a bonus, recommend cycling along camel way and the ferry to Rock. We ate at both the seafood restaurant and the cafe both very good and the service was excellent. Our room was called estuary and was at the top of the building. The stairs to it were very steep but in an old building theses things are to be expected. My only comment on how things could have been better was the tea selection, not the choice but the quality, it would have been better if it had been of tea pig quality. Other than that gripe it was a very enjoyable stay in a place we first visited some 32 years ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisLightwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of an autumn break deal which included meals in both the bistro and seafood restaurants. On arrival the staff couldn't have been more helpful, pleasant and professional. Our room overlooked the garden, it was very large and exceptionally well designed, including a very comfortable bed. But, a small degree of maintenance wouldn't go amiss, such as the lightly coloured curtains which were stained and a leather chair that was slightly damaged. The food and service was excellent for the three nights.
On the morning of departure I paid the invoice which looked reasonable at first glance, however, on a closer check I found two discrepancies an overcharge on both the package and dinner tips for the sea food restaurant. On returning to the hotel the receptionist dealt with the issue,made no apology and was in fact quite rude and unprofessional when my husband thanked her she totally ignored us both.
It is clear that this person should undergo further training in order to deal with the public in a civilised manner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have been to Padstow many times and never eaten in St.Petrocs before and we will certainly eat in there again. Excellent service, staff very friendly, food was amazing, best steak i've ever eaten and as for the sticky toffee pudding, wow. Look forward to going again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 673wendy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for two nights immediately after Easter; a 30th birthday celebration. We had two double rooms, one at the front of the hotel and one at the back, both were very comfortable, with the en suite bathroom in the front bedroom recently renovated to a high spec. (Great beds). All of the staff were welcoming, professional and very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. One of the afternoons proved to be very chilly, and staff happily served us hot chocolate in the sitting room/lounge (to accompany our RS patisserie delights). Unfortunately one of our party was taken ill during the second night of our stay. The hotel staff were brilliant, very caring and supportive.

Room Tip: Check out the location within the hotel before you book; the booking clerk was very knowledgeable ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel with our daughter and her partner as part of an autumn break deal, which included a meal in the bistro, (reviewed separately). We found it charming, with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. We parked outside, not knowing where to go, and were immediately taken to the parking area - it's not attached to the hotel but it's not far away and, given the situation of the hotel virtually in the centre of Padstow it's good to have any parking nearby.
Our room was St. Wenn and we had no problem with noise, maybe just a bit of chatter as guests were leaving but it certainly didn't disturb us. The room was huge, with large mirrored wardrobes, (plenty of coat hangers), a lovely bathroom with a shower - a bit tricky stepping in and out of the bath if you're a bit wobbly like me - good quality loo paper and a powerful hairdryer. The hospitality tray was the best we've seen on all our travels; a teapot, a cafetiere plus a sachet of fresh coffee, the usual teas and hot choc and - joy of joys - a pint of fresh milk in the fridge. No nasty little plastic containers of UHT milk. Plus cookies from the Stein patisserie. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows nice and squishy.
Our daughter and boyfriend stayed in Estuary View, up some steep stairs and smaller than ours, but no less comfortable. He is 6ft 5ins and didn't bang his head on the beams once.
The lounge and reading room were comfortable - lovely to have coffee and pre/after dinner drinks in and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
Breakfast was great, especially the buffet choices - fresh raspberries, strawberries, pineapple, glass jars of yoghurt, muesli, croissants, Danish, fresh bread.....
Good choices for cooked, although we wondered why the bacon was streaky, not back bacon, but that's a minor quibble. Excellent coffee, not always the case at breakfast, and nice toast, from proper bread.
A great place and we're already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Estuary View has no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshwanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
404 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petroc's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petroc's Bistro

Property: St. Petroc's Bistro
Address: 4 New Street, Padstow PL28 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petroc's Bistro 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With low wooden beams, winding stairs and cosy fireplaces you will be charmed by our hotel in the heart of Padstow. At a glance10 rooms including breakfast Relaxing sitting roomReading roomPaved gardenSnug barPrivate parking Pets accepted (selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hire Disabled access on requestChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingSt Petroc’s BistroThe hotel includes St Petroc’s Bistro where our head chef Paul Harwood serves our 30 day dry-aged aged chateaubriand and Devon Ruby Red steaks as well as some of Rick Stein’s favourite classic bistro and Mediterranean dishes. Breakfast Breakfast is cooked by our team of chefs in the bistro with choices such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, mushroom and parmesan omelette or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFrom powerful showers to free standing baths our bathrooms are lovingly designed for ultimate relaxation. Relax and unwindThe four poster beds, cosy fireplaces and estuary views that feature in some of our bedrooms are perfect for a little relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifi Tea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Petrocs Hotel
St Petrocs Padstow
St. Petroc's Bistro Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing