We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Petroc's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Rick Stein's Hotel and visited both the seafood restaurant and the bistro for dinner, the whole experience was wonderful. can't say enough good things about it all. Just wish we lived a little nearer, would never go anywhere else. Well done to the Stein Team!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_edwards75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    122
    59
    15
    3
See reviews for
86
303
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had the inclusive winter package - three nights bed, breakfast and evening meal (two in the Seafood restaurant and one in the Bistro). We had the attic room - described as cosy - and it was exactly that. Cosy but not cramped, with a great view of the harbour and quite a sizeable and luxurious en suite. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent, with all the choices you'd want, and the evening meals were exceptionally good food - making the package excellent value. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crustyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We visited in late February when the weather was mainly fine, but winter squalls gave us a soaking every now and again. The hotel was a warm home for our stay, and our room, St Perins, was absolutely lovely. Food in the bistro was excellent, with breakfast a special treat. We also ate at Rick Stein's Cafe which was similarly delicious, and choice of wine, though a bit pricey, was superb. We will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harpon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from two night stay , we stayed in the yellow room , this room is so nice , it has two window seats , and as this room is at the front of the hotel you can see the sea , which was lovely .we had lovely meals in both the bistro and the seafood restaurant and the food and service were excellent . Thanks to everyone for being so friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife, who loves seafood, choose this location for our honeymoon. We booked a 3 night Dinner Bed & Breakfast package at £642 to include 2 Dinners in the Bistro restaurant and 1 dinner in the Seafood restaurant. On the face of it a good deal. We had the best room at the bistro ( St. Decamons ) and it was excellent. The staff were, at all times, very attentive and thorough. However, the food experience, our main reason for choosing Rick Steins venues, was awful. The first night in the bistro produced Hake fish which was tasteless and only lukewarm. We did not complain. The second night at the seafood restaurant was just as bad so we sent the cardboard quality dover sole back. It was also tasteless. The turbot fish that replaced it was, however, excellent. Mid way through the following day my wife complained of headache and tummy problems, which got worse during the day resulting in her being violently sick just before dinner. We put this down to the warm seafood platter that she had as a starter in the Seafood restaurant ( I did not have it ) I therefore had to eat alone in the bistro on our last night and choose Chateaubriande. It looked great on the plate but the centre section produced a very gristly content such that I had a extract 3 undigestable lumps from my mouth and leave them on the plate. Not what you expect from tenderloin steak at £50. Being keen to return to my wife I did not accept their offer of investigation and replacement by the chef. All in all not a very memorable gastronomic experience

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour and estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NA9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steppingley
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Clean and comfortable. Very welcoming. We had a 'cosy' room. When I first heard the expression, it filled me with dread but the very helpful lady who took our booking explained that the bathroom had just been refurbished and the bed was king sized. As we were out all day and all evening, this suited us. Proper sized bath towels and a decent power shower. Good quality breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinSteppingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Having tried the so called better Seafood Restaurant the night before this was a chalk and cheese moment. I rate restaurants by food and service and when they deliver in spades like the St Petroc Bistro I have to give credit. I like relaxed restaurants with charm and personal service and if that is what you want then look no further than here. If you want a Stein restaurant then go here. Only problem little or no seafood! In Padstow...shame!
This is a meat focussed restaurant serving a great appetiser platter good starters an a wonderful Chateaubriand. Everything including the mustards is excellent.
But as I said in my review of The Seafood Restaurant the real difference comes down to service. This makes it distinctive. The staff are welcoming attentive and listen to your issues. They then individually sort out your issues and just enjoy the evening themselves a lovely experience

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 56 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.0 mi away
Molesworth Manor
Molesworth Manor
#1 of 2 in Little Petherick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petroc's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petroc's Bistro

Property: St. Petroc's Bistro
Address: 4 New Street, Padstow PL28 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petroc's Bistro 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With low wooden beams, winding stairs and cosy fireplaces you will be charmed by our hotel in the heart of Padstow. At a glance10 rooms including breakfast Relaxing sitting roomReading roomPaved gardenSnug barPrivate parking Pets accepted (selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hire Disabled access on requestChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingSt Petroc’s BistroThe hotel includes St Petroc’s Bistro where our head chef Paul Harwood serves our 30 day dry-aged aged chateaubriand and Devon Ruby Red steaks as well as some of Rick Stein’s favourite classic bistro and Mediterranean dishes. Breakfast Breakfast is cooked by our team of chefs in the bistro with choices such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, mushroom and parmesan omelette or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFrom powerful showers to free standing baths our bathrooms are lovingly designed for ultimate relaxation. Relax and unwindThe four poster beds, cosy fireplaces and estuary views that feature in some of our bedrooms are perfect for a little relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifi Tea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Petrocs Hotel
St Petrocs Padstow
St. Petroc's Bistro Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing