We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Petroc's Bistro
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just had a lovely two night stay in a generous room with brilliant sea views. The room was very spacious, well furnished and very comfy. We had 3 separate windows all having wonderful sea views. The whole experience at the hotel was excellent. The staff are all very friendly and efficient. We had breakfast in the hotel on both mornings and the food was delicious and lots of choice. We would definitely recommend a stay there. The only downside was the amount of people in Padstow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petroc's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review about your stay way with us.

We are thrilled to read that you had an excellent two night stay and enjoyed your ‘generous room’ with views of The Camel Estuary.

We are also glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning; we like to offer a wide variety of options for our guest to enjoy.

Padstow can get quite busy in the school holidays which is why some of our guests enjoy staying with us out of season. We offer special dinner, bed and breakfast breaks in the autumn and winter too.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very clean, service brilliant and staff could not do enough for us. The room we had was described as a cosy room which is exactly what it was, small and perfectly formed with a large bathroom. Our room was at the top of the house in the attic and subsequently had stunning views of the sea. The bed was really comfy, the room was well set out and beautifully furnished. The breakfast the following morning was excellent as a number of delicious options were available from full English to eggs Benedict. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petroc's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback from your stay at St Petroc’s Hotel & Bistro.

You describe exactly what Jill Stein thinks of when designing our rooms. We love the exposed brick and orange soft furnishings in ‘Attic room’.

Our chefs will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the variety available for breakfast; they like to ensure that all guests are full and content for the day ahead.

Do come back soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely food with a delicate touch! The hake was beautiful! There was scaffolding all across the front when we visited but this is not affecting the quality of what goes on inside. It's worth the walk away from the harbour side.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob-n-Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is part of Rick Stein’s Padstow empire. The best way to describe it is a boutique hotel. It is located in the centre of town; rooms are classified cosy, comfy, generous and generous sea view in order of increasing cost. We had a comfy. The Garden room. Padstow prices are quite high, but the hotel was well attended so these must be market prices.

Décor and furnishings are modern, with the lounge area being particularly opulent. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and everything worked well. Parking was round the corner in a ground level garage, very much in the French style i.e. cramped, cluttered and leaky but also free and close by. Casual observation would suggest that some BMW drivers need to improve their parking skills.

St Petroc’s has a ground floor restaurant, with maybe 50 covers. We very rarely eat dinner at hotels in which we stay, so we only ate breakfast here, which was generally good with plenty of fresh fruit, natural yoghurt and pastries (from Rick’s patisserie). The cooked items were a bit mean, Eggs Benedict was one egg with Hollandaise on a small muffin for instance. Egg benedict. The other observation concerns the restaurants musak. It is hard to ignore, being a procession of music genres i.e. rock, folk, songs from musicals, jazz etc. One track I really did find hard listening was the Stones Sister Morphine at breakfast time. Put me off my Sugar Puffs.
The dinner menu was dominated by seafood and chilli, spices and curry in line with the proprietor’s culinary interests.

Our comfy room (with nice comfy bed) was upstairs round the back of the building and had windows on 3 sides. It was no more than satisfactory, mainly because there was little storage for our possessions, clothes, holdalls etc. It was also a noisy room. We didn’t get curtains, but internal foldy wooden louvred shutters that rattled when the windows were open. Either side are garden areas, which in warmer weather could be a source of noise, but for us the main problem was the kitchen. It was below our room, so we got kitchen noise morning and evening rising up, and also a monster kitchen extractor fan and associated gubbins is mounted on the outside wall of the room. This seemed to be on from 7am to 11 pm. There were also other smaller air con units that joined in from time to time. The alternative is to close all the windows and use the aircon in the room.

Padstow is a nice centre for North Cornwall, and this small hotel is central for the town, so everything is walkable. This justifies the highish prices so this was OK value, but with the dead hand of the accountant a bit too visible at times. Padstow is a good base for N Cornwall inc Helligan and Eden project, but next time I think we would try a different hotel, or bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Avoid St Issey and Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fibonacci1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our first stay and if I'm honest we would not go back to this hotel.
The staff are lovely and very helpful and the breakfast is excellent. Because we were staying with our dog they set up breakfast for us in the bar which was great.
The room, St Issey, certainly had most of everything you needed in it but was just too crammed with furniture and badly set out. Add to that the industrial strength extractor fan that chugged into life around 6 am every morning and it did not make for an entirely relaxed stay. That said we are early risers and we don't spend much time in the room when we're away. What was surprising was the receptionists 'surprise' when we mentioned the noise from the fan as this can not be the first time this has been noted by a guest. LESSON TO NOTE -THEY CLEARLY DO NOT RESPOND OR LISTEN TO FEEDBACK. That alone would stop us returning.
The reception and lounge area also had a really unpleasant sewage / damp smell so we didn't linger too long in either.

Room Tip: Do not book St Issey and ask if any other rooms are near the kitchen extractor fan. I'd also avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was going to write a long screed but its fair to say that the dinner on saturday evening was not exactly as it should have been...the restaurant room has an acoustic problem...too many covers being squashed in to a small area...the servers cannot make themselves heard easily..Starters...prawns with too much salt and a hint of burnt garlic in butter....Hake with bacon and beer , scallops with jamon Serrano...we don't eat meat with legs so asked for the exclusion of said items..not easy apparently but butter used on the scallops was OK without the jamon ..the bacon on the hake was not possible to exclude without just leaving the fish in a stock which was chicken stock!!!! my other half gave in as we were fed up by then..... Come on Chef !!...its not rocket science to whip up some sort of sauce/stock/jus to replace said items. Desserts....rhubarb crumble with very little rhubarb !! even the basics have sunk without trace !!

Average food, above average prices for what??? No, we shall not dine at the Bistro again....

Service and staff...excellent but let down by kitchen failings...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tourmanagerexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have stayed at St Petroc's for May Day many times and always enjoy ourselves. This year was no different.
The rooms, St Pirans and the Garden Room, were lovely and the breakfasts were really tasty.
The staff are friendly and were great with our toddler. We are saving up for next year!

The Wrights and the Bloomers.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for! May Day in Padstow is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,498 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
107 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#15 of 55 in Padstow
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petroc's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petroc's Bistro

Address: 4 New Street, Padstow PL28 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petroc's Bistro 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With low wooden beams, winding stairs and cosy fireplaces you will be charmed by our hotel in the heart of Padstow. At a glance10 rooms including breakfast Relaxing sitting roomReading roomPaved gardenSnug barPrivate parking Pets accepted (selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hire Disabled access on requestChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingSt Petroc’s BistroThe hotel includes St Petroc’s Bistro where our head chef Paul Harwood serves our 30 day dry-aged aged chateaubriand and Devon Ruby Red steaks as well as some of Rick Stein’s favourite classic bistro and Mediterranean dishes. Breakfast Breakfast is cooked by our team of chefs in the bistro with choices such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, mushroom and parmesan omelette or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFrom powerful showers to free standing baths our bathrooms are lovingly designed for ultimate relaxation. Relax and unwindThe four poster beds, cosy fireplaces and estuary views that feature in some of our bedrooms are perfect for a little relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifi Tea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Petrocs Hotel
St Petrocs Padstow
St. Petroc's Bistro Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing