We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guardian-reader heaven!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Guardian-reader heaven!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect short break in Padstow. I would highly recommend the beautiful and wonderfully clean accommodation - and, without saying, the food at this classy establishment. Excellent value for the wonderful experience on offer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    94
    45
    24
    6
See reviews for
42
315
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic setting, amazing ambience and food to die for! The service was top class and all in all we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
This seafood restaurant would be great for all occasions and I'd strongly recommend the venue to friends and family. It's most certainly a must when visiting Padstow!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank leeoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I had booked a lunch months ago with my fiancé. I was looking forward to it as a lot of people had recommended this place. We booked the lunch for 12:00. On arrival we were taken to our table where I was crammed into a very small space unable to get out to use the bathroom as the table next to us was far too close. The restaurant was a two hour slot and it didn't even get half full in that time, so I don't understand why we had to be crammed in like that. I ordered the mussels for starters and what a disappointment. They were small and undercooked, I was sick for 24 hours after the meal. My fiancé had the fish and chips and his chips were raw in the middle, needless to say he didn't eat them. I have always loved watching Rick Stein and enjoy his cookbooks so I was sorely disappointed with his restaurant. I ordered the lunchtime special was £38.50 and for my main meal I ordered the lobster, however you have to order a side dish which costs an extra £5. Overpriced and overrated. We paid a lot of money, waited months looking forward to it, for me to then be ill for the first 24 hours of my holiday because of the undercooked food. What a shame.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Put together the following ingredients: a central Padstow location; friendly, accommodating and helpful staff; clean, modern and well maintained rooms tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished; spotless bathrooms with show-heads that knock you out; all mod cons; great views of the harbour (depending on your room of course) and a gourmet fish restaurant on your doorstep ... all makes for a superb stay. We were there for several days in room #5 which has the middle terrace overlooking the Camel Estuary and Rock. Then room #7 for two nights; no terrace, but fairly large and windows looking out over both the estuary and the town harbour. Excellent. If you want to treat yourself, then this is the hotel for you, although book early to avoid disappointment!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

You cannot visit Cornwall without making a trip to this restaurant. Unfortunately the highlight of our particular evening was a spectacular lightning storm which lit up the whole harbour area. No such fireworks from the kitchen though. Menu selection was superb, and to be honest my wife enjoyed her meal, mine however was a little disappointing, I selected stone bass Madras curry, as I had been following Rick's Asian safaris, but it was far too hot for my taste and rather disappointing for the price of £39. Wine selection was very impressive and the service by a large contingent of young staff, was excellent and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were impressed by the service and wine although we are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations with the curry. We have passed your review onto our executive chef. If you would like to discuss further then please contact us at feedback@rickstein.com.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

As usual we are never let down. The staff are so professional and always so courteous that nothing is too much trouble. We love rooms 5 and 6 but this time due to them being booked we stayed in room 2 which looks out on the harbour. Food in the restaurant brilliant. There is a terrace upstairs where you can have drinks overlooking the harbour and the splendid views. Breakfast again the food is excellent and the catering school is relaxed and very enjoyable picking up wonderful tips. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. We love coming back here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sally t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for posting such a great review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much; we’re very luck to have such fantastic views from some of our rooms.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff professional and courteous and that you enjoyed your meal at The Seafood Restaurant.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Padstow Seafood School, it’s a great way to spend a day in Padstow.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the seafood restaurant last month and stayed for 2 nights. What a great time we had. We had our little dog - a small cockapoo with us and the hotel were so accomodating. The first night we had take away fish and chips (of course from steins) and we took them up on the decking and watched the boats. The 2nd night we went to the cafe and that was also great great food and really reasonable. We spent the days walking along the beach, drinking in local bistros, eating and having fun. We did the cycle 11 miles there and back (cant remember what it was called) but its the first stop of the camel trail. To be honest cycle was great but it wasn't a great town to cycle too as there wasnt much there. If you go cycling....go with water and snacks...we didnt and I was so thirsty during the cycle. The only thing I would change was the room was so so hot I didnt sleep well on either night and there was a note to say we couldnt turn the air con down :( but overall a lovely time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.

It sounds like you had the perfect break in Padstow. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed fish & chips from Stein’s Fish & Chips and that you found the food at Rick Stein’s Café to be great and good value for money.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the air con, we are always happy to offer extra fans on situations like this.

We look forward to welcoming you and your cockapoo back to Padstow again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

Property: The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Address: Riverside, Padstow PL28 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our 16 rooms at our flagship seafood restaurant and enjoy picturesque views over the harbour and camel estuary.At a glance16 roomsPrivate rooftop terraces (Rooms 5 & 6)Pets accepted (dog friendly in selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hireDisabled accessChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingThe locationOur guest rooms are above The Seafood Restaurant, famous for establishing an international reputation for imaginative cooking of the very freshest fish and shellfish by Rick Stein and head chef Stephane Delourme. BreakfastBreakfast is served in our flagship seafood restaurant with a choice of speciality dishes such as smoked haddock kedgeree, grilled kippers or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFor ultimate pampering book our Gulland or St Kew rooms for large stylish bathrooms, powerful showers and free standing baths.Relax and unwindPrivate balconies and views over the beautiful Camel Estuary make the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifiTea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seafood Restaurant Hotel Padstow
Seafood Hotel Padstow
The Seafood Hotel
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing