We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but lovely”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive but lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the seafood restaurant and our room was small but lovely. Tastefully decorated, beautiful bathroom and very clean. The breakfasts were probably the best we have ever had, make sure to order a hot breakfast from the a la carte menu and try the homemade granola as it is very good!
Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating.
We had dinner at the restaurant once and the food was very good. I agree with some reviewers that the service could be quicker and more attentive but we didn't mind pouring our own wine and water after the initial glass as the place is not pretentious and has a relaxed feel. Yes it is expensive but we found it to be worth it and we would go back.
It is true that rick stein seems to own most of padstow but we found this to be a positive among some of the cheap souvenir shops, fish and chip places and italian restaurants. If you intend to go to any of his restaurants, make sure you reserve a table in advance or you will be disappointed!
A few negatives of our stay we're finding a bit of plastic in our scrabbled eggs and salmon (should not happen at a restaurant of this caliber), the noise from another room's water pipes, patchy wifi and expensive off site parking but otherwise I fully recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    94
    45
    24
    6
See reviews for
42
312
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colby united kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have been looking forward to our visit for some time but unfortunately the experience was a bit of a let down. Whilst the waiters were very pleasant , I found the front deck staff rather pretentious .The menu was very varied and exciting but as expected , rather expensive. The service , at times was poor . Wine bottle brought to the table and glasses filled. Thereafter we had to pour ourselves. Fine in some restaurants but not one with such a reputation. We asked for a jug of water which was brought to the table , again glasses filled . jug taken away. Water was not cold and no evidence of ice . Glasses never refilled until we asked . Waitress apologised and stated that she had been too busy to give us the appropriate attention. Food was good but overall not a good experience

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alanchivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were lucky enough to eat here last time we were in Padstow and reviewed the superb restaurant then. Nothing has changed in that respect and our meal here was just as outstanding as the last one - superb sashimi, exquisite oriental salad and a chocolate and caramel dessert to die for, all accompanied by an excellent selection of wines, cocktails and after-dinner drinks. It was nice to know that were were staying this time though so only a short walk back to our room afterwards.

We chose The Seafood Restaurant when we realised that it offered dog-friendly accommodation, all in the name of the Steins' late and much-loved Jack Russell, Chalky. Chalky's Pals receive a delightful blanket to keep and the warmest of welcomes from all the staff who seem only too pleased to cater for their needs as well as their owners. We had St.Saviour room which was lovely - spacious and comfortable with a wonderful bathroom and all the comforts of home. The communal areas are characterised by some lovely pieces of art and photography and the rooftop terrace is a perfect place for drinks, offering wonderful views of the Camel Estuary.

Special mention must be made of the breakfasts though - the quality of lunches and dinners at The Seafood Restaurant is well-documented but the choice for breakfast was superb. A wonderful range of meats, cheeses, pastries and cereals (especially the homemade granola), a terrific selection of fruits (both fresh and also prepared into various compotes) and delicious freshly squeezed juices. Above and beyond that though, the cooked options were outstanding - we were lucky enough to be staying long enough to try most of them between us. My favourite was the kedgeree but both the kippers and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs were not far behind - my wife also enjoyed the traditional Cornish breakfast which had delicious locally produced items. Our dog was also able to join us enviously in the conservatory each morning which was a nice touch from the staff.

All in all, the welcome is so warm and friendly, and the staff work so long and hard to make sure that your stay is perfect, that returning to stay here will be a must when we next visit Padstow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The tables are beautifully laid out on white table cloths and wine glasses. There were lots of staff, but we did feel neglected as a couple. Larger tables appeared to receive better service. It is a family restaurant and lots of clatter - not very relaxing. We had lobster thermodor which was tasty, but not enough of it. It was expensive, but I guess to be expected as it is a Rick Stein Restaurant. I was disappointed to see virtually everywhere in Padstow is taken over by Rick Stein, locally known as Padstein.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Room 5 is one of the premium rooms at the restaurant 250 pounds per night. Just a few advisory points before you book this room. There is a out door seating area/ drinking/ eating space next to your room divided only by a screen that has gaps in it so people can view your room and wave at you when you are looking for some privacy.

The air con should not be run below 22c (sign next to bed), we ran it at 22c and the compressor broke down in the night and the room ended up a hot box. if you open the doors you will be kept awake by the gulls, so the air con is required in this room.

There is no shower, but a shower over the bath, if you struggle to climb out of baths, be aware of this trip or fall hazard.

The food is good, the tables are a touch too tight and depending on your location you may get a few jabs in the back from staff struggling to navigate the tightness of the table layout.

The hotel replied to me, on the Air con, and of course it all works perfectly, yes sure, thats why you have a sign next to the bed to say DO NOT run the Air con below 22c, never have I seen this before

Could I go back= yes

would I go back= No

Room Tip: Eat here but sleep somewhere cheaper and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chezz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed her for my Dad's birthday, stayed in room 3 and parents stayed in room 5 and ate in the restaurant both nights and for breakfast.

First of all, rooms are lovely, possibly the cleanest and comfiest rooms ive ever stayed in, molton brown shampoo and shower gels really helped too! The room with the terrace is perfect for chilling out with a glass of prosecco and has an amazing view!

The food, is well, world class even to someone who doesnt really like fish!!! The steak is melt in the mouth and the fish and chips are the best on the planet!! The food is presented amazingly and tastes as good as it looks! The breakfasts are world class, the best ingredients, definitely worth trying the kedgeree!!!

Staff and Rick Stein... Faultless! The most polite, helpful and delightful people. Honestly went above and beyond to serve us, help us and get what we need. Managed to meet Rick twice whilst we were here too, lovely to see that him and son Jack have time for their guests and stop to say hello!

Best trip in a long while

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hs2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape verde
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

11.7.2014.

We booked this restaurant because Ricks style of cooking I admire greatly.

From the moment we sat down the service was great. My partner chose the set menu with lobster and saffron risotto to start. Lobster fermidore for main which she said was the best she ever tasted. I had to have the Fruits De Mer and trust me it was fantastic. Washed down with 2 bottles of crossings sauvignon blanc. If I was being really picky I'd say the table for 2 wasn't quite big enough. We was drinking Chalkys bite, water, wine. The table once the starters arrived soon became abit short for space. But apart from that we loved it. So get in there and enjoy the best seafood ever :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herringhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

Property: The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Address: Riverside, Padstow PL28 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our 16 rooms at our flagship seafood restaurant and enjoy picturesque views over the harbour and camel estuary.At a glance16 roomsPrivate rooftop terraces (Rooms 5 & 6)Pets accepted (dog friendly in selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hireDisabled accessChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingThe locationOur guest rooms are above The Seafood Restaurant, famous for establishing an international reputation for imaginative cooking of the very freshest fish and shellfish by Rick Stein and head chef Stephane Delourme. BreakfastBreakfast is served in our flagship seafood restaurant with a choice of speciality dishes such as smoked haddock kedgeree, grilled kippers or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFor ultimate pampering book our Gulland or St Kew rooms for large stylish bathrooms, powerful showers and free standing baths.Relax and unwindPrivate balconies and views over the beautiful Camel Estuary make the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifiTea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seafood Restaurant Hotel Padstow
Seafood Hotel Padstow
The Seafood Hotel
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing