We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spacious house perfect for a big family...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sharmalyn House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with patio doors onto a sunny patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Spacious lounge with patio doors onto a sunny patio
Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Kitchen
Sunny patio with table, chairs and loungers
Sea View
Padstow Harbour
Coastal Footpath
Safe Bathing and Good Surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious house perfect for a big family and in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Sharmalyn is a lovely spacious house for families to spend time together. We were a family of 5 adults and 2 children (age 17months and 12 years old). The house is big enough for 8 people and a baby to enjoy a holiday comfortably (my sister and her partner came for a couple of days). The kitchen was well equipped as was the large utility room (dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer, plenty of extra cupboard space). There was a shower room off the utility which was ideal for showers after the beach. A garden with seating area and clothes line for your wetsuits. There was also a storage box filled with beach equipment that you can borrow including windbreakers. The large table in the living room was great for enjoying dinner and family games together.
There were plenty of toilets and showers so we never had a queue. Lovely modern en-suite (Bath and shower) to the master bedroom and sea views to the 3 upstairs bedrooms. Lots of drawers and wardrobe space with hangers supplied. The travel cot provided was lovely and my 17 month old slept comfortably in it. The traditional high chair was also great and we were grateful to have use of them as it saved room in our car.
The location of this house is excellent, the beautiful Harlyn Beach is just a short 5 minute walk away. Lots of lovely walks, including the 6 bays that are around Harlyn (we recommend you visit them all). There is so much to do which is why Harlyn Bay is our favourite location and have been visiting for many many years. It was my mother-in-laws first visit and she cant wait to return! Padstow lifeboat station is close by at Trevose Head and you can enjoy watching a launch on a Wednesday. Padstow is a couple of miles away (or you can walk it which we did once). St Merryn is just up the road (about a mile) to get essentials, (we recommend The Pit for wetsuit hire). The Harlyn Inn is a couple of minutes walk down the road, family friendly and a variety of food served.
We loved every single minute of our holiday, even when it rained!
Martin and Debbie are very welcoming, their house is very clean and tidy. We were shown around and left to comfortably enjoy the house to ourselves knowing that Martin and Debbie were only at the end of the phone if we needed them. We are already thinking about when to come back next year and which Yellow sands property to stay in. We highly recommend Sharmalyn. Thank you for a wonderful family holiday.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, its good to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and Sharmalyn house.
We hope to see you all again in the future.

Thanks again

Martin and Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Yellowsands properties and the first time at Sharmalyn House. We went with another family of four and the house was plenty big enough for all of us.
The house was spick and span when we arrived and there was everything we could need to make our stay comfortable. Bodyboards and chairs to borrow and tumble dryer for those damp towels. We love the beach at Harlyn Bay as it is safe for the children. There are brilliant shops for supplies in St Merryn and of course Padstow is 5 minutes away. The walk to the beach really is a few minutes away. Sharmalyn is a perfect house to stay in a perfect location. We'll be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Many thanks for your wonderful review, Its good to know you found everything you needed in Sharmalyn house. The beach at Harlyn is well sheltered and noted for its safety and is only a few minutes walk away via a private footpath.

We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Thanks

Martin and Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chihuo81
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house! Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are a family of 5 with our little one 18months. We stayed in Sharmlyn house for a week holiday. Absolutely love it! We received a warm welcome and detailed explain on the house facilities and local areas on the day arrive. The house is a few minutes walking distance to the Harlyn beach. Like other reviews said, it is indeed very spacious and spotless clean. It enjoys rooms with sea view and a private sitting area at the rear of the house.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thank you for highly recommending us, most of our clients come from recommendations, its the best form of advertising, giving you peace of mind when you are going to a new place.

Thanks again and we hope to see you all again in the future.

Martin and Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A very enjoyable stay at Sharmalyn House at Harlyn Bay. The property was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The owner was there to meet us on arrival and to show us around and explain all the house had to offer. The beach is just around the corner and dog friendly. The local pub just a 5 min walk and serves good food.. The gardens which surround the house are lovely, immaculately kept with a private sitting area around the back overlooking fields. I would recommend this property if wanting to stay in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P
2 reviews
“Fantastic house and location, just minutes walk to beach and coastal paths”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have been visiting Sharmalyn for many years and have always found it spotlessly clean and fully stocked with every possible utensil needed for a self catering stay. The bed linen was clean and plentiful. All appliances worked perfectly. (dishwasher, washing machine, fridge/freezer & microwave) We received a warm welcome on arrival and additional bedding was quickly provided for a late arrival. It was great value for money and we look forward to many more visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nothing to dislike - liked every aspect. Fantastic views and nearby beach facilities.
Liked least: It rained a bit.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words, its always good to hear you enjoyed your holiday and our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.
Martin and Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania T
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have been visiting this house for 21 years now and we love it. It always feels like our home. It is ideally located for the beach and walks along the coastal path. Most rooms have views of the sea and those which don't have views of the fields. The house contains everything you need and the space is great for a large family - 8 of us. We will return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing