We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best chippie in Padstow”
Review of Chip Ahoy

Chip Ahoy
Ranked #30 of 90 Restaurants in Padstow
Restaurant details
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Probably the best chippie in Padstow”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Based on the reviews, we tried this, having tried a more famous chippie on a previous visit. It was very good, nothing more to say.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 15Chris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    75
    28
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great chips, ok fish”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got one portion of fish and chips from Chip Ahoy and one portion from Rick Steins fish and chip shop to do our own taste comparison last Wednesday evening! We both agreed that the chips were better from Chip Ahoy but the batter on Rick Steins fish was better! Portion was bigger from Chip Ahoy and marginally cheaper but not enough to worry about. It was quite a bit quicker at Rick Steins. Overall would go back to both!

Helpful?
Thank SophieP1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude owner tried to short change me by £10”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

After I asked for my change from a £20 note, he told me he never makes mistakes and mumbled under gus breathe hope you can sleep in your bed tonight. I never heard this comment myself but my wife told me he said this after we had left the shop. By the way the fish and chips where extremely average I have had much better in belfast!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lkmurray87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish and Chips As usual!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spend a bit of time in Padstow walking in our dog when we are staying in Newquay, and we had several visits to Stein's chippy before we realised it was overpriced and small portions (and not cooked by Stein lol) so we wandered away from the front and a few of years ago we ate at Chip Ahoy and sat outside at the couple of little tables they have outside and they were lovely, so whenever we are in Padstow this is where we always go now. We were in Padstow on Friday so we got Fish and chips and a sausage for the dog and sat and ate them on the back of the car as our car park ticket was running out so we did not have time to sit outside. Lovely fish and chips yet again with lovely crisp batter, not scrappy little bits of chips either, which I hate, and chatty friendly staff aswell and not overpriced. Would recommend and I will definately be back!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best in Cornwall”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Perfectly cooked fish and chips. Made with cornish potatoes and daily landed haddock. We've not had better anywhere.

Helpful?
Thank chubster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chip Ahoy also viewed

 

Been to Chip Ahoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing