We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended for families”
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press Quirky dining table and dresser
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press
Quirky dining table and dresser
Open fire or woodburner
Ekornes Stressless recliners in the Old Round House cottage
Heated indoor swimming pool (Easter to end of October)
Farm play equipment
Barn owlet
Barn owl on own of our Owlcams
Dundee - one of our miniature Shetland ponies
Frankie - our other Shetland pony - on a creekside walk
Trevorrick Farm and the Camel Estuary
The Camel Estuary and iron bridge
Trevorrick Seamills - walking in to Padstow
The Camel trail and iron bridge walking in to Padstow
Camel Estuary at low tide
Walk down to the beach from Padstow
Padstow harbour
The imfamous Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant in Padstow
Padstow harbour
Padstow harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Foodie99
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for families”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just spent a wonderful, restful week in the mobile home at Trevorrick Farm and highly recommend it to families. Everything you could think of, and more, is provided in the home, including cupboards stacked with toys, games and videos.
The owners, Melanie and mike could not have been friendlier or more helpful, responding almost instantly to any requests, Melanie constantly thinks of the children, for example, offering numerous toys, taking the kids round with her every morning when she cares for the numerous animals, and even organising an Easter egg hunt. Further thoughtful touches are everywhere, like a step next to the football table so little people can also join in and flip flops to wear around the pool. The outdoor play facilities are fantastic. Our kids absolutely loved it here, "looking after" the animals, the play areas and the pool and did not want to leave.

There are a few bird droppings around, but thats because it is a farm and the chickens,ducks etc truly are free range and it is having all the animals around that really is the charm of the place. We certainly did not find it to be a problem.
We didn't see inside the cottages so cannot comment but the mobile home was very comfortable with lovely views of the sun setting over the hills. Slightly reluctant to post this as we are bound for return and don't want to find the mobile home is already booked up!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Family holiday venue in a perfect location”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We have stayed twice at Trevorrick Farm; in 2011 and 2012. Most recently in 2012, our two daughters were 3 (nearly 4) and 1. We stayed in Serendipity; which was very clean, tidy and comfortable and had a bath; unusual in many holiday cottages. The outdoor facilities were great; so many things for our girls to play on (some of it could maybe do with being updated, but our girls loved it all). Melanie was always around the place and was always very friendly and helpful about stuff to do locally and walks to do from Trevorrick Farm. In terms of location, Trevorrick Farm is a perfect location for a small family; Padstow is a great place to get to many places from on the North Coast of Cornwall; so many lovely beaches (we particularly liked Trevone), Tintagel Castle, Eden Project, Crealys, DairyLand, Newquay Zoo and Waterworld, etc, etc, great place for a young family.

Reading some of the negative comments here regarding Trevorrick Farm, I can honestly say that they are not justified; the accommodation was a high standard with every thing we needed for our young girls; high chair, bed barrier, etc was there. Yes, maybe they could do with restocking some toys, but that is honestly about the only criticism I could find; the benefits totally outweigh this, and as for lots of rules; not really sure what the other reviewers are going on about; I don't recall thinking that was an issue for us.

If you want a great location for a young family then go to Trevorrick Farm and Padstow; beautiful part of the world.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2013
Will miss you in June, now eldest at school. If you can get down in the summer, come and say hello. - We may have baby calves to admire. Appreciate your comments. Our new "bigger" climbing frame arrives this week - our old one was becoming cosmetically playworn. I think we are quite unique in our indoor toys we provide for the under fives. I am always expanding the collection, but it can get a logistical challenge sometimes when we have lots of children of a similar age combined with Friday and Saturday changeovers. In the future will try to offer a change for 2 weeks stays where possible xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLouise82
Linch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful escape”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Our trip to Trevorrick Farm in November 2012 was our third visit; we have booked the same cottage each time. I'd first discovered it following an online search in November 2010 whilst looking for a short break with my then boyfriend now fiance. Booking is quick and fuss free. Melanie's phone calls friendly and we received detailed information via email with reference to arrival times, house keeping arrangements and the availability of fresh milk deliveries.
Trevorrick Farm is ideally situated near to Padstow and during our first two visits we always took the opportunity to walk from the cottage after receiving directions. Melanie and Mike have always been welcoming and available to answer any questions but never intrusive.
The accommodation is comfortable and the fact that there's a fully equipped kitchen (something often lacking in holiday accommodation,) is great. A number of improvements (including a luxurious new king size bed,) have been made to the cottage since our first stay a sure sign of the owners wanting to offer a quality experience.
We were not able to return again until July 2012, having had to cancel a much looked forward to booking due to work commitments. This time we were able to make use of the enclosed garden with patio and the heated swimming pool aswell as being at the perfect base for days out. While the sunshine helped make our week in July fantastic the last visit in November proved how good the accommodation is. Four days of heavy rain resulted in a number of hours inside but knowing we would have access to an open fireplace, board games and a dvd player there were no concerns about being stuck indoors.
Each of our trips to Trevorrick Farm has been slightly different but they were all wonderful escapes from everyday life. It's a place I've had no concerns about recommending to either couples or families.
I can't wait to book another stay or two for this year!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2013
Good to see you twice last year. We are great for couples as well as families. We have a lovely new kitchen floor in Round House now. We have also upgraded our other one bedroom cottage, Lily Pad this winter. It now has a large walk in shower and fitted sanitaryware. Also a lovely kingsize bed. - Photos coming soon! We were very pleased with the decked garden we added last year - wonderful views across the Camel Estuary to Rock.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spikecat1
west Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great family holiday cottage”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Trevorrick Farm every year since our daughter was born, she is now 4 years old. We have always had a lovely time. Melanie and her family are always very welcoming. Our little girl has loved all the animals and the play areas. Trevorrick Farm is ideally situated near to Padstow and many other lovely beaches. The Camel Trail is not too far away and we have on occasion hired bikes and had a lot of fun cycling the length of the trail.

We have stayed in two of the cottages to date, having visited three times. The accomodation has always been comfortable and there has always been a number of books and toys in each cottage for our daughter to play with, saving having to bring too much with us. When you first drive onto the site the beutiful surroundings instantly relax you and then you see the chickens, turkeys, rabbits etc and the holiday really begins.

If you are looking for a family holiday in a good location with plenty for the kids to do then Trevorrick Farm is the one for you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Warm Welcome, splendid facilities and fabulous location!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

At Easter, we will be visiting for the second time and we are very much looking forward to the warm welcome, the splendid facilities and fabulous location. As a family with a four year old, it is important to us that we stay somewhere with a welcoming and caring ethos and hence, our return next month.

Trevorrick is a real farm experience so those not wanting to experience animals close up (and everything this would entail) should look elsewhere other than a farm. For us however, this is what makes the place so special, especially for young children who love animals. I have never seen my daughter happier than exploring the baby chicks, rabbits, ducks and other animals with the owner. She is naturally good with children and very open and kind. In my experience, nothing was too much trouble for Melanie and we are very much looking forward to our return next month. We are especially looking forward to the Easter Egg Hunt. Thank you Mike and Melanie for being fabulous hosts!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernF...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing, lacks quality and not that cycle friendly”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012
7
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Trevorrick Farm as a family with my husband and child
We found our cottage to be sparsely furnished and fitted out. There was everything you needed but nothing extra and certainly far from the home from home experience we were expecting even having already making allowance for all the rules. As for being eco conscious it’s more like penny pinching and Ryanair style extras
A box of toys was provided but was mainly filled with track for the train set which was of little interest to our child so thankfully we had brought our own.
We liked the location particularly the proximity to the Camel trail where we cycled the length. But cyclists, be warned the cycle store is in an open barn near the entrance. Also the gate of the timber enclosure opens inwards so there's only room for a couple of bikes. This meant leaving bikes on the outside of the store or even on the car roof. Bike washing seemed to be frowned upon with a very short hose pipe offered with reminders not to waste water. We used the washroom to freshen up our cycle clothing but often found Melanie and already beat us to it. Incidentally the washroom like the rest of Trevorrick is much cluttered and doubles as the rubbish store.
Experience of the owners is that they didn't listen and were too busy / preoccupied to even care and there was certainly none of the is everything all right / what can we do better approach others have offered us in the past
Given other comments i put this down to the schools hols and them being busy. But having paid a premium rate we expected more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to write a review, all feedback is appreciated.
Mike and I (Melanie) are genuine (and real!) people, who take great pride in giving our guests the best possible rural farm holiday experience, and sincerely hope that if guests have any issues they tell us at the time so we can action them. I was therefore puzzled to read this review at first, especially as the "family with one young child bringing own bikes" profile did not fit any August booking. Guidelines state travellers staying together can make separate reviews of their experience. We did have another August review recording a non positive experience from a family with one young child (but no bikes!). Readers can draw their own conclusions.

What we offer, in terms of our accommodation (most cottages gained a "Gold" award at four star in November) and facilities, is fully described and pictured on our website along with our "green tourism" ethos. Trevorrick Farm is set in an "area of outstanding natural beauty" and we hope our guests will work with us to help maintain beautiful Cornwall for the generations to come. We therefore have lots of information in our cottages about recycling, how things work etc, which I would hope most guests see as useful guidance rather than in a negative way.

To any worried cyclists, let me assure you that we are cycle friendly. We have an open barn at end of a short entrance road (our farm is one mile along a lovely country lane), adjacent to the car parking area, which is itself next to the cottages. We store our tractor and trailers here, and guests are also welcome to store bicycles, bike racks, surf boards etc - well illustrated on a "previous" traveller's photo. The enclosure at one end is actually our pony stable - therefore the gate opens inwards, to prevent an animal pushing at it and potentially escaping and we keep it pegged open. It is not a purpose built bike store, and we do not imply it is. As it is unused in the summer, we allow guests to put their bikes in that part - as well as elsewhere in the barn. Equally guests may choose to keep bikes in their individual cottage gardens. Wherever guests keep bikes it is common sense to use a cycle lock, and there are plenty of "anchorage" points in the barn. Should a guest have a particularly expensive bike, we would try to make alternative storage arrangements for them. We have a short hose (to avoid being a trip hazard) on a tap primarily for washing of wet suits or beach things, and would have thought this was long enough to wash a bike too. Though as the Camel Trail is a good surface to ride on, and the lanes around here aren't usually muddy, our experience is guests do not usually wash their bikes. Should they wish to, they are welcome, and as the hose is always there, don't quite understand comment of offering a hosepipe "with reminders not to waste water".

There are two washing machines in The Wash House for guests' use. I have my own in our farmhouse which I use, apart from changeover day washing when all machines are in use, which I hope guests understand. Generally guests aren't around when I am using them anyway, but if they are, they have priority. The Wash House is also our recycling centre (again a good "previous" traveller photo to illustrate how good our guests are at recycling), so I am not sure why the reviewer is describing it as the "rubbish store", especially given the reviewer appears to be writing the review from a "green" perspective.

I believe guests bringing their own bikes appreciate just how cycle friendly we are. We do like to chat about how much cycling we have done in the past - and how much we would like to do - if only........ Before having children and moving here we did at least 50 miles every Sunday - we had a bit more time then! We also suggest various cycling routes and show guests how to cycle to the Camel Trail. However busy we are, we always take a moment.......or two..... to speak to our guests - whether cyclists or not. In this case, I don't actually think the reviewer brought their own bikes - hence mistaking what I describe to guests with bikes as our "pony stable" for a bike store. - Many of our guests actually choose to hire bikes in Padstow or Wadebridge, and in 2013 we are working with a local cycle hire company to offer a "deliver" to your cottage (and/or pick up) service.

Re the toys provided, and I do think we are quite unique in the indoor toys that we provide, a "previous" reviewer who stayed with a young child in August has already put a photo of the living room of a cottage on Trip Advisor. It shows a wooden box of toys, a plastic crate of toys, and then a xylophone toy on top. There was also a good variety of books provided. - That's pretty typical of the variety of things I provide per cottage for a young child - but what I can provide does depend on how many children I have of a similar age at any one time. I am sorry if what was provided in this case didn't appeal - but if I had been asked I am sure I could have found something different!! The two new photos seem very much in keeping with the "previous" traveller photos, though the content of the reviews is very different.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeJB
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family, Farm and Fun friendly? You got it”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stumbled across this slice of Utopia by total accident, something I will be eternally grateful for. Trying to book a half term break at local B&B’s, a treat for my fathers 70th (a Rick Stein tour with his son and 14 month old grandson) I failed… miserably. However in my desperation I turned to Google, my fifth phone number on the list and Melanie answers! To begin with it was touch and go for a booking. Both Melanie and Mike we scrupulously honest, explaining that the weather had done significant damage to T.V. reception and fields were a literal wash out. But if I wanted to wait a week then book online they would consider options from there. I am so pleased that they were accommodating of such an annoying individual. After explaining the motivation of my visit they relented and agreed to a booking for 3 nights. Prior to arrival I received a friendly e-mail informing me of my booking details, arrival times and other sundry house keeping arrangements, including fresh milk deliveries!!! Melanie went out of her way to accommodate any requests we had for my son, a wooden cot, high chair and plastic cutlery and crockery. On arrival she also asked if we needed more that the 3 huge boxes of toys she had provided for my son.
Throughout our experience Melanie kept us informed of all of the arrangements, the conditions of the area and any seasonal variations in their offering (access to the swimming pool).
Having had a rural upbringing I truly value the chance to let my son experience the ‘real’ countryside on his holidays. The ducks, chickens and turkeys really entertained my son and if he every felt overwhelmed he knew who to put his arms out to for a reassuring cuddle (much appreciated by both Dad and Grampy!).
Neither Mike nor Melanie intruded on our experience but equally were on hand to tackle any concerns or queries we had. Melanie let us know when they would be physically present and where they were if they were not on the farm at any time. Given their family circumstances they manage and run an extremely professional and high quality experience. One I fully recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing