We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful stay”
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press Quirky dining table and dresser
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press
Quirky dining table and dresser
Open fire or woodburner
Ekornes Stressless recliners in the Old Round House cottage
Heated indoor swimming pool (Easter to end of October)
Farm play equipment
Barn owlet
Barn owl on own of our Owlcams
Dundee - one of our miniature Shetland ponies
Frankie - our other Shetland pony - on a creekside walk
Trevorrick Farm and the Camel Estuary
The Camel Estuary and iron bridge
Trevorrick Seamills - walking in to Padstow
The Camel trail and iron bridge walking in to Padstow
Camel Estuary at low tide
Walk down to the beach from Padstow
Padstow harbour
The imfamous Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant in Padstow
Padstow harbour
Padstow harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Happy2Tra...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Melanie and Mike could not have been more friendly and welcoming. As soon as we arrived we felt at home with them - they are both so helpful and full of information for their guests. Our little grandson, aged three and a half, enjoyed meeting up with Melanie each morning for the animal feeding. He particularly loved the Guinea pigs, learning to stroke them and feed them. While we were at Trevorrick a calf was born, too!

We stayed with our family and rented Curlew and Owls' Roost. Both cottages were delightful with everything you could possibly need. They were both very clean with, we thought, comfortable beds. Melanie had even gone to the trouble of placing lots of suitable toys in each cottage for our grandson.

We also loved the 'free ranging' ducks, hens and turkeys - the latter caused great amusement when they tried, sometimes successfully, to 'fly' to the top of a bush to eat the best berries. Much of these antics were viewed from our little 'private and secluded' garden, a small fenced and decked area a few steps from our front door. This is an excellent idea as you can eat outside without the ducks pestering for food.

We enjoyed the swimming pool, using it most days after a day out. The other facilities were excellent, too. The adventure play areas were superb - giant combine harvester, tractor, climbing frame, trampoline and sandpit. Also, we had the use of a washing machine - pound coin needed. The countryside is very beautiful surrounding the farm with a number of walks in the area. We enjoyed Trevone beach as it was child friendly and sheltered with a flat sandy beach.

We thoroughly recommend Trevorrick Farm for a wonderful restful holiday. It is particularly suitable for young children but not for those adults who object to ducks and turkeys, etc., wandering around. This is a farm and ducks and cockerels can be noisy but isn't this part of farm life?! We loved the whole experience and our little grandson really enjoyed himself. Happy children = happy parents and grandparents!

Thank you Melanie and Mike for making our stay such fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing farm experience, facilities and animal feeding, child friendly activities
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui R
Lydney, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you love animals & the countryside, stay here!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in the Old Roundhouse for a week. Upon arrival Melanie showed us the goats, pigs, the washroom and swimming pool. We were escorted to our cottage and everything was explained, cottage very clean with wonderful views and a lovely little garden with a table & chairs. The whole stay was made special because of it being a farm, I made a fuss of the cows and 'bully', the bull, across the field, saw the goats everyday and the kunekune pigs were delightful. I especially liked the ducks, coming to our front door, my partner would say "your friends are here asking if you want to play" !!. The cottage was comfortable, everything in working order, and a great supply of DVDs & videos. Didn't use the swimming pool but it looked clean and watched someone doing lengths so it must have been fine. We enjoyed the table tennis and snooker, upstairs in the games room. Great walk down to Sea Mills and across fields to join the Camel Trail over the bridge into Padstow. On my last morning, just before we left, Melanie asked if I could help lead the goats from their night time shed to the field, it was lovely leading a goat with a new guest who had just arrived. Highly recommended, Melanie & Mike were very friendly and helpful, thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on a farm
Liked least: The soft mattress, but it was alright, no back problems.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A thoroughly relaxing stay in a beautiful location with fabulous hosts who made us feel so welcome”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were very lucky to stay in the lovely, homely and SO well equipped barn conversion, Lily Pad. This meant it was a pleasure to go to the local shops, buy lovely local produce and cook a few meals at 'home'. I really enjoyed being able to stop in some evenings and just relax with a home cooked tea and a bottle of wine! It made eating out that much better. I was amazed that there was even a full set of boxed games and a pack of cards to play as well as the TV and a stereo. We had just spent a week in France prior to coming to Trevorrick Farm and had had enough of eating out at nearly every meal at over-priced and over-rated restaurants. So stopping here gave us the best of both worlds and we thoroughly relaxed. The icing on the cake, was the lovely wood burner We only used it one evening but it was so welcome.
Melanie and Mike couldn't have been nicer hosts and we loved seeing all the animals - especially the ducks waddling up and down behind one-another quacking away - such a well-needed tonic. We didn't even venture to the swimming pool barn complex which I'm sure is just brilliant for kids especially, particularly on wet days.
I have to say, I was most impressed with just how there was practically everything you could need. Lily Pad's kitchen had things I don;t have at home like little ramekins. It even had vases so I could get fresh flowers. And the other criteria, which is really important to me, was just how spotless it was.
We had such a wonderful stay and I have fallen in love with Padstow. Thank you again for being such wonderful hosts.
Thank you so much Mike and Melanie for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome, the peaceful location, a place that felt like 'home' for our week away and our wonderful hosts
Liked least: If there was one negative for us, the mattress was too soft, but that is just personal preference.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanjoxo
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Lily Pad Cottage, made to feel very welcome. We all loved the animals. Would Highly Recommend.”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on 8th August 14 for 1 week stay in Lily Pad cottage. This was myself, husband and our 4 year old son. Lily Pad cottage was great with everything we needed for a comfortable, cosy weeks stay. Our son slept on a mattress on the floor in our room which was fine. Our son (and us!) enjoyed getting up 3 of the mornings to meet Melanie & some of the other guests to feed pigs, goats, groom pony, hold guinea pigs etc.! It was a great start to the day! Trevorrick Farm is a great base to explore Padstow and the surrounding areas. We visited Cornwall Crealy which is just a few miles away. This was great as we paid once and got 6 days use! We also visited the nearby beaches which were all great. The indoor pool and facilities on site were great for the days when the weather wasn't quite so good! We also visited Lappa Valley for some crazy golf & steam trains! We did a 16 mile bike ride on the Camel Trail which was great fun & easy to hire bikes. We ate out a few times - Rick Stein fish & chips a must and not too expensive! But we mainly ate in the cottage which worked great for us. Wonderful location and we were made to feel very welcome. We would like to thank Melanie, Mike & family for making it such an enjoyable and memorable holiday. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: More than just a holiday cottage.
Liked least: We enjoyed it all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I love the phrase you used "More than just a holiday cottage". We try our best to provide a great farm holiday experience to all our guests. This is what makes us so unique, along with being blessed with a fabulously beautiful location with so much to do close by, as well as the great on-farm facilities we have added. Thank you for appreciating what we have to offer and Mike and I look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveG922
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not The Standard We Were Expecting”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at trevorrick farm together with our son and his family in july of this year, their accommodation at the Old Round House was perfectly acceptable, but ours, staying at Lily Pad Cottage was a massive disappointment, On arrival we were shocked to see the scruffy appearance surrounding the cottage with weeds,and rubbish strewn everywhere , with dead flowers in pots outside the door , The close proximity of Lily Pad Cottage to the actual farm animals was not what we expected, we knew obviously that we were going to stay on a farm but we didn't expect them to be literally outside our windows roaming free, . The noise and smell from the poultry made it extremely unpleasant, every time we left the cottage we had to walk down a rough concrete strip that was covered in droppings from the animals , which never seemed to be hosed down. The inside of the cottage was very clean, but basic , with chipped very old china in the cupboards, it seemed to us that compared to the rest of the cottages we certainly had drawn the short straw, attention to detail was zero , Our son and his wife however were delighted with there accommodation, having a better location and a newer more up to property. Melanie , who was the owner was extremely unhelpful, and unconcerned of our plight , we were very disappointed with her attitude, If you are considering having a holiday at Trevorrick Farm DO NOT STAY AT LILY PAD COTTAGE , It certainly is not four star accommodation , which is how they are advertising it, A very uncomfortable week

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I really am sorry that you chose a holiday which didn't suit
you. You expressed surprise on arrival that we are a
"working farm", yet the small scale farm experience, well documented
in all our reviews, is one of our greatest strengths. Mike and I tried
our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible, however given
that you asked for a 50% refund as soon as you stepped into the
cottage, it was always going to be an uphill struggle. You had earlier
walked around the farm (you didn't view the cottage booked for your
son until they arrived the next day) and decided that all the other
cottages and our neighbour's private residence - which I pointed out
was not one of our cottages - had a nicer "aspect". When you entered
your cottage I don't believe you had even seen the wonderful decked
area we had built for exclusive use by Lily Pad guests with wonderful
views over the creek towards Padstow and Rock and the Camel estuary. You
weren't interested in looking around the inside of the cottage: the
superb modern bathroom with powerful shower installed last year, the
lovely bedroom with kingsize bed only a year old, or the newly
refitted kitchen. All these improvements meant that the cottage was
actually awarded a Gold Award, to add to the Four Star award, in April
2014. We pay independent professionals to assess the quality of our
cottages. You, sadly, just stated you wanted 50% of your money back,
which I am afraid I really couldn't offer you and I am sorry that on
that basis you consider me unhelpful. We are however delighted that
your family had such a lovely time. Your grandson, Sam was such a
great help with our unique interactive farm animal experience in the mornings, which is so much enjoyed by all, as other reviews illustrate. It was
wonderful that on arrival we were able to show him and his parents the
calf that had been born five minutes earlier. I welcomed other members
of your family, who were also in Cornwall, when they visited you, and
I spent time to take the aspiring young vet to see the calf. It must have been a
great family reunion. Best regards. Melanie and Mike. xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley123
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Serendipity Cottage and had a wonderful holiday/farm experience. Our two girls (aged 4 and 7) loved feeding, walking and stroking the animals. The guinea pigs in particular were a big hit. They also enjoyed rounding all the animals up again in the evening. Trevorrick Farm have lots of play equipment in the garden for the children to enjoy and the swimming pool was very popular with our two.

While we were there a new baby calf was born, which was very exciting, and there appeared to be new baby chicks hatching every day.

We spent a few days at the beach, went on a couple of 'nature' walks looking for animals, insects etc and popped to Padstow a couple of times for fish and chips and cornish pasties.

In the evening we generally stayed in the cottage but did walk to the Pickwick Inn a couple of times, sometimes just for a drink and to let the girls have a play on their park, which was very nice. Also, went on night walks around the farm looking for the owls, which we did manage to spot a few times.

I must mention the Old Mill House in Little Petherick. It does wonderful Cream Teas and their garden is beautiful. The girls made friends with the owners dog, which kept them busy for an hour or so. All in all a very pleasant week in Padstow. Thank you Melanie and Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the animals
Liked least: nothing - it was all good.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
So glad you had such a fantastic farm holiday experience with us. We have so many animals to meet, but guinea pigs are often the favourites. Always an added bonus when the owls are around, always great to watch the adults swooping in and out bringing food to feed the 3 owlets. Looking forward to seeing you all again in the future. Melanie xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_W...
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I've lost count of the times we have loved our holidays at Trevorrick, and our holiday earlier this month was just the same. The cottage was beautiful, spotless, and well appointed and there was nothing else we could have asked for.

The farmland and surrounding countryside are just stunning and the variety of animals perfect. Add to that two lovely hosts and we couldn't ask for more. Children of all ages just love the morning "feed and pet the animals" routine, and I saw lots of happy children enjoying themselves bottle feeding the lambs, taking the ponies and goats for walks, rounding up the chicks and doting on the world's most chilled out guinea pigs. I think most families there don't actually get a chance to go out until around 10am, as the children are totally absorbed until then.

The owners don't rest on their laurels - they are always making improvements. This year there is wifi in the cottages and different animals to spend time with. My favourites this year were the delightful kune kune pigs, which were always keen to come running for a treat or two. There is a new heating system for water on the complex and we thought the swimming pool temperature was just right being heated this way.

We ate out at the Ring O Bells and the Pickwick Inn - both within easy walking distance. They serve excellent food, but they do get very busy so if you want to eat there, get there and order some time before you actually want to eat. We also ate at the cottage several times as it's a real home from home and has absolutely everything a kitchen should have.

The beaches in the area are lovely and we were blessed with fine weather this year and we spent many happy hours trying to catch great waves to body surf on.

For a location with perfect peace, stunning scenery and a very chilled out, happy vibe, Trevorrick is hard to beat. Oh yes, and the Old Round House probably has the most comfortable bed in Cornwall!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing