We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay”
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press Quirky dining table and dresser
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press
Quirky dining table and dresser
Open fire or woodburner
Ekornes Stressless recliners in the Old Round House cottage
Heated indoor swimming pool (Easter to end of October)
Farm play equipment
Barn owlet
Barn owl on own of our Owlcams
Dundee - one of our miniature Shetland ponies
Frankie - our other Shetland pony - on a creekside walk
Trevorrick Farm and the Camel Estuary
The Camel Estuary and iron bridge
Trevorrick Seamills - walking in to Padstow
The Camel trail and iron bridge walking in to Padstow
Camel Estuary at low tide
Walk down to the beach from Padstow
Padstow harbour
The imfamous Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant in Padstow
Padstow harbour
Padstow harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Albia-New...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,686 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We rented Curlew Cottage for the Easter Week and it was just great.

The cottage is comfortable and warm, with a good collection of cooking equipment.

The farm is lovely and quiet and out of the way of mass tourism.

There is a nice little 1.2 M Indoor pool on site - suitable for a quick splash.

Owners - Mel and Mike are great : Very helpful.

This would be a brilliant place if you had pre or primary school aged children as there are loads of tame farm animals which Mel takes the resident children to feed every morning .... Still a great place for teenage kids as well as there is the coastline nearby and lots of walking / Cycling / Beach / Diving options.

Highly recommended

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for a great review, a particular compliment from such a prolific reviewer! Lovely that as a family with grown up children, you all still appreciated what Trevorrick Farm has to offer. We and the other children staying enjoyed seeing your diving find, and hope to see a photo of it cleaned up! Hope to see you again as there is so much to do in the area for all ages. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith230...
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was a surprise weekend away with my husband for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Mel and Mike are lovely and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Lily Pad Cottage and it was just what I wanted. A beautiful cottage with log burner. It was perfect. The cottage was very clean and had lovely furnishings. The bed was very comfortable with a thick cosy duvet and nice plump pillows. Lily pad had a new bathroom/shower room, with lots of space in the walk in shower. We were able to use the decking area and enjoyed the beautiful view over the camel estuary. It was also nice seeing the other guests and their children feeding the goats, pigs, chickens, turkeys and ponies. Unfortunately we had to leave on the Monday but we will most definitely be going back very soon I hope.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very friendly but you also had your privacy in the beautiful cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
So glad you enjoyed your short break with us. We hope you will come back again soon. All our cottages are now extra cosy with new "designer" radiators, so absolutely perfect any time of year. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came back, will come again!”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our fourth stay at Trevorrick Farm, this time in Serendipity cottage - all the cottages are high spec but Serendipity is our favourite mostly for the comfy king size bed! Our 5 year old daughter remembered Melanie with fond affection from the previous year, and was just as delightful with all the kids again this year. Plenty of quality time was spent with the animals including some highly amusing, but temporary, escapes by nimble goats. The kids tended to adore cuddling the guinea pigs of course, but the pigs, turkeys, lambs and ponies all got some good quality time. We're planning our 2015 holidays and we're already provisionally booking our next trip to Trevorrick. Utterly brilliant family holidays every time; Melanie and Mike are just the best hosts ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Looking forward to seeing you again this year. We are so glad we have found really comfy mattresses, which are used in all our cottages. Has been wonderful to see your daughter grow up, guests are always telling me how their children talk about "Melanie's Farm" for months after they have stayed. We are so much more than just a cottage in the country. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Well we returned as we said we would, stayed in the Badgers Way this time. Again could not fault the accommodation, good kitchen & nice big lounge. All the beds were comfy. Melanie & Mike friendly and helpful. Walked into Padstow across the fields & along the camel way with the in-laws & their in the mid 70's. Excellent food from the Pickwick Inn, & renovations being made, so expect big changes. Hope to be back next year with the granddaughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for another lovely review. We know we are doing something right when we have guests return twice in the same year, as yourselves. First time on your own in Lily Pad, second time with family in Badgers Way. Hope to see you and some more of your family this year. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbennet...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely first family holiday”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful week in Badger's Way in early September and it seemed as if Melanie had thought of absolutely everything that would be needed to make our holiday perfect. She was cheery and incredibly helpful throughout our entire stay and even a few weeks on from the holiday, my children are asking when we'll be going to stay "with Melanie" again.

Badgers Way was immaculate upon our arrival and the shopping (mostly local produce and all delicious) that I'd ordered from www.food4myholiday.co.uk had already been taken into the kitchen with the chilled items put into the fridge too. Our first milk delivery from the local milkman (very reasonably priced) was in there too meaning we could all get straight on with enjoying ourselves as soon as we'd arrived.

Melanie was thorough in showing us around the lovely property and had been kind enough to bring in age-appropriate toys for my 4 year old son and 2 1/2 year daughter (wooden trains, garages, tea sets, dolls, construction toys and more books than we had a chance to read all week). The kitchen was very well stocked with every utensil we could need and everything worked perfectly.

The highlight of each day for our two children in particular was helping Melanie to feed the various animals. We became very adept at saving various vegetable scraps and old bread for the ducks, turkeys, pigs and especially the best behaved guinea pigs I've ever met (everyone's favourite). The lambs & goats were great fun too although reluctant to walk on the lead at times (who can blame them!) and it was lovely to be able to see Daisy's new calf after it arrived half way through our visit.

The wash house was a god send with two small toddlers and the washing machine (£1 to operate) was very useful, as was the space on the washing line to hang things out to dry. We borrowed the very useful beach tent from the wash house to take to Polzeath beach one day (a great beach with gentle waves and brilliant rock pools on the far side, made even better by the fact you can park right on the beach itself) which was highly appreciated as the weather was stunning and the protection at midday was needed.

The pool was great (if a little bracing at first!) and the kids loved the little play houses outside the pool building in particular. I had a happy hour sitting in the sun with my book while the two kids busied themselves with the till and ironing board hidden away inside - bliss!

We ate at the house most nights but did venture down the road to the Pickwick Inn one evening and that couldn't have been more child-friendly, with good pub-type food. We managed to get the kids to walk (with promises of food!) and it took us no more than 15 minutes, even with two little ones.

This was our first 'proper' family holiday together and it really couldn't have been more perfect for us, helped in no short measure by the friendliness and attention to detail from both Melanie and Mike. Thank you both and, if the children get their way, we'll be seeing you again before too long!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My children would say feeding the animals
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased that your family had a really special "first holiday" with us. That is what we are all about, we want to be a little bit different from just a cottage in the country, and hope guests of all ages will take away special memories. We have a little boy of 3 coming on holiday today, he and his family stayed in April this year and I am told he has been talking about the farm every week since, so mum and dad decided he would prefer "Melanie's Farm" to Majorca. They only told him last night about their holiday as they thought the excitement would be too much if they told him before. So I look forward to seeing you and your family again...... Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerseyMis...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Melanie and Mike could not have been more friendly and welcoming. As soon as we arrived we felt at home with them - they are both so helpful and full of information for their guests. Our little grandson, aged three and a half, enjoyed meeting up with Melanie each morning for the animal feeding. He particularly loved the Guinea pigs, learning to stroke them and feed them. While we were at Trevorrick a calf was born, too!

We stayed with our family and rented Curlew and Owls' Roost. Both cottages were delightful with everything you could possibly need. They were both very clean with, we thought, comfortable beds. Melanie had even gone to the trouble of placing lots of suitable toys in each cottage for our grandson.

We also loved the 'free ranging' ducks, hens and turkeys - the latter caused great amusement when they tried, sometimes successfully, to 'fly' to the top of a bush to eat the best berries. Much of these antics were viewed from our little 'private and secluded' garden, a small fenced and decked area a few steps from our front door. This is an excellent idea as you can eat outside without the ducks pestering for food.

We enjoyed the swimming pool, using it most days after a day out. The other facilities were excellent, too. The adventure play areas were superb - giant combine harvester, tractor, climbing frame, trampoline and sandpit. Also, we had the use of a washing machine - pound coin needed. The countryside is very beautiful surrounding the farm with a number of walks in the area. We enjoyed Trevone beach as it was child friendly and sheltered with a flat sandy beach.

We thoroughly recommend Trevorrick Farm for a wonderful restful holiday. It is particularly suitable for young children but not for those adults who object to ducks and turkeys, etc., wandering around. This is a farm and ducks and cockerels can be noisy but isn't this part of farm life?! We loved the whole experience and our little grandson really enjoyed himself. Happy children = happy parents and grandparents!

Thank you Melanie and Mike for making our stay such fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing farm experience, facilities and animal feeding, child friendly activities
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui R
Lydney, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you love animals & the countryside, stay here!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in the Old Roundhouse for a week. Upon arrival Melanie showed us the goats, pigs, the washroom and swimming pool. We were escorted to our cottage and everything was explained, cottage very clean with wonderful views and a lovely little garden with a table & chairs. The whole stay was made special because of it being a farm, I made a fuss of the cows and 'bully', the bull, across the field, saw the goats everyday and the kunekune pigs were delightful. I especially liked the ducks, coming to our front door, my partner would say "your friends are here asking if you want to play" !!. The cottage was comfortable, everything in working order, and a great supply of DVDs & videos. Didn't use the swimming pool but it looked clean and watched someone doing lengths so it must have been fine. We enjoyed the table tennis and snooker, upstairs in the games room. Great walk down to Sea Mills and across fields to join the Camel Trail over the bridge into Padstow. On my last morning, just before we left, Melanie asked if I could help lead the goats from their night time shed to the field, it was lovely leading a goat with a new guest who had just arrived. Highly recommended, Melanie & Mike were very friendly and helpful, thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on a farm
Liked least: The soft mattress, but it was alright, no back problems.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing