We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My best choice of self catered accommodation ever”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chough Cottage

Overview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview
Car Parking Area Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
18 reviews
Overview
Car Parking Area
Enter a caption for your photo
Entrance View
Upstairs Lounge Area with Panoramic Views
Upstairs Kitchen and Dining Area
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom and Shower
Picturesque Padstow Harbour
Rough Tor Peak on Bodmin Moor, a 30 minute walk from base to summit.
Idyllic Harlyn Bay, just 5 minutes away
Beautiful Trevone Beach, just 3 minutes away
Low Tide on the Camel Estuary
Tregudda Gorge and Clifftop Walk, just 5 minutes away
The Beautiful North Cornish Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greg P
Cheddar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“My best choice of self catered accommodation ever”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is beautifully kept and best of all homely- after 2 days my daughter was calling it home. The views from upstairs are fabulous. Julie and Paul are the extremely hospitable owners and make you feel very welcome and are also very helpful for local information.
Whenever we come to Cornwall in the future we will be staying here and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views from upstairs and the homeliness
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmecholet...
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, cosy, home from home with exceptional hospitality !!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this last minute as a base for a property finding trip around Cornwall, after finding it on Trip advisor.
Right from the initial enquiry I was given lots of valuable information by the proprietor Julie.
On arrival she had provided some local property pages, milk, tea, coffee, biscuits etc, great when you haven't been shopping yet.
During our 4 night stay both Julie and her husband Paul were on hand for anything we needed including loads of local knowledge.
The property is located just off the main road into Padstow with 'fantastic' views of the camel estuary and the gorgeous Padstow.
Even though it was November the scenery was a pleasure to look at every morning.
The cottage is extremely comfortable and very warm and cosy. And has all the comforts of home.
Location is very good also as you are only a few minutes drive away from all amenities you need. The road links to all major towns and villages are excellent and very scenic.
I would without hesitation recommend any of the cottages at Blue Hills, although I feel 'Chough Cottage' probably has the best views out of the 3.

We hope to return again in the spring time for another stay.

Thanks again Paul & Julie for a lovely stay and your wonderful hospitality.

P.S - As I spent the week without a hair dryer (my own fault), maybe one in the cottage might just 'wow' a bit more. Although I'm sure if I had of asked they would have supplied me with one in a breath.

Thanks again......

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann G
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A very warm welcome from the owners to the lovely Chough cottage. Bright, new, warm, sparkling clean, excellent standard of accommodation. Extremely comfortable with attention to detail. Stunning views of surrounding countryside and good proximity to Padstow. We were very happy with our choice and would definitely recommend this accommodation.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicmcq
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great summer holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Chough Cottage is simply the cleanest and most comfortable self catering accommodation we have stayed in. The owners were very helpful and friendly from booking the holiday to going home. The area is stunning with all the local beaches having great facilities for families and children/teenagers.
Padstow is lovely but very busy peak season. I would recommend visiting later on in the day.
I hope to stay at Chough Cottage again next year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: noise form main road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirsty d
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in warm & welcoming cottage with everything we needed”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We received a lovely warm welcome from Paul & Julie and were delighted when we arrived at Chough Cottage. This home is clean, comfortable, cosy yet spacious and lovingly cared for with guests' every requirement considered and catered for.
The cottage is conveniently located a short distance (5 minute drive) from the picturesque fishing harbour of Padstow with all its great pubs, restaurants and ice creameries! We didn't have to venture very far to find plenty of lovely local beaches and places to visit.
We had a truly wonderful family break here and would highly recommend it to anyone considering booking. We will certainly be re-visiting soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cottage was warm, clean & comfortable
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T-A-H-glo...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is a very comfortable, exceedingly well equipped and nicely located cottage. We spent Easter at this cottage. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage has every thing you could need. It is well located between Padstow and Wadebridge and ideal for getting to the Camel trail for some lovely cycling. There are many beautiful coastal walks nearby. The views from the cottage are fantastic. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone and look forward to returning ourselves.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cottage is comfortable and brilliantly equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$109
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing