We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penjoly Cottage Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Treglos Hotel(Constantine Bay)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
209
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and biscuitsnothing is too much troublechoice of fresh fruitattention to detailabsolutely first classsecond to noneamazing choicetrouser pressreplenished dailyplace is spotlesshome from homevisiting padstowfantastic staywonderful hostswide choiceexcellent place to staywouldn't stay anywhere else
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is just a great B&B - forget the stereotype of chintz and scowling staff that unfortunately some British B&Bs still live up to. Penjoly's owners clearly think about their guests and try to treat them as individuals. When we arrived we were welcomed with a warm handshake and chat by Dave, plus a pot of tea and biscuits! The rooms are extremely comfortable, nicely decorated and well equipped, there was a power shower (and even a bidet, great for European travellers), tea, coffee and biscuits in the rooms. The breakfast menu was extensive but as my Turkish husband doesn't like most ingredients of an English breakfast, Dave made sure there was a selection of cheeses for him - it really is this kind of personal touch that makes Penjoly different from other places. The rates are reasonable, it's a very short drive from Padstow and there's off-road parking. Would highly recommend it to other visitors to this area. Only one thing - I do think the owners have to bite the bullet and extend breakfast by half an hour to 9.30am. We found the beds so comfortable they were hard to get out of! But that's a really small niggle in what was a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CultureClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Penjoly after seeing it advertised in Tourist Information centre. There is absolutely nothing not to like here. Very warm welcome from Dave who showed us to our beautiful room. Obviously a lot of care has been taken furnishing the rooms, they are absolutely immaculate, with a great ensuite bathroom and shower. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day, there was everything you could ask for and more. I defy anyone to find anything they don't like about this place. Would definitely recommend and will stay again if in Padstow, there's even plenty of parking space - bonus. Thanks Dave & Gary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife, Jenny, and I were just passing by, looking for overnight accomodation, whilst touring Cornwall. As luck would have it we saw that Penjoly had vacancies. David (the host) met two weary travellers with a smile, freshly brewed coffee and warm welcome. Penjoly is set back from the main road to Padstow. A superb location for visitors to this part of Cornwall. The guesthouse is quiet, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Our room (No. 1) was a spotlessly clean en suite with every detail meticulously arranged to facilitate a good nights sleep. The breakfasts (I use the plural because we soon decided to stay longer than the originally intended single night) were superb. The 'bacon and mushroom tower' was my favourite. David Croft and his staff provide a brilliant 5 star + service. Jenny and I will certainly return. We highly recommend Penjoly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We returned to Penjoly for a second visit at the beginning of July and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. The description 'guest house' doesn't do it justice - it feels more like a mini luxury hotel. Dave, the host, has thought of all possible needs and has furnished the rooms throughout to a very high standard. We will return, hopefully in the autumn, to see Padstow at a different time of year and would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from our first stay at Penjoly. Every single aspect of our stay was Perfect. Extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated, the breakfasts were wonderful and the welcome we were given by David & his staff was second to none. Altogether this was a 5* experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews