We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunbeam Cottage”
Review of Sunbeam Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunbeam Cottage
Reviewed 13 July 2014

An excellent and comfortable oasis of tranquility! We very much enjoyed our stay and one reason we selected the cottage was that it was dog friendly - so Fred enjoyed it too!

Well appointed - so peaceful and literally a minute or so stroll to the harbour - ideal for recharging the batteries - only niggle, but expected, parking, quite a walk up the hill to get a place [ if you are lucky to get one!]

That said, will definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevenrees01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location goes with saying really, beautiful Padstow.

Sunbeam Cottage, is, as it sounds ‘a beautiful quaint little cottage’, right in the heart of the old town.

The cottage itself was lovely, very cosy, clean, and very well equipped, ‘home from home’…I loved it…Can I move in please:)

Wendy the owner of the cottage was there to welcome us and was only across the road or a phone call away should we require anything or any advice on the local area.
(I left some clothes in the wardrobe and Wendy posted them back to me, thank you Wendy).

I would definitely recommend Sunbeam Cottage and will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Lovely cosy clean self catering cottage right in the old town of Padstow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Whilst Sunbeam cottage is in a lovely position in the town, I feel it wasn't up to the 4*.Downstairs is a good size lounge and kitchen, though some of the white goods have seen better days. I found it off putting that in every cupboard was a list of all the items and how much they cost. I have never stayed anywhere before that has done this. The stairs are steep, but what you would expect from an old cottage but the lack of spindles and just a huge gap below the bannister was worrying. There are two bedrooms upstairs, one a good sized double with a fair size ensuite, that is crying out for a shower over the bath. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and towels clean and nice. The roman blind at the window though was black with mould on the underside and really smelt. What was never explained was that the loft space, right above the bedroom is occupied, so was somewhat unnerving when we could hear voices and noises coming from it! The second bedroom has two single beds and a very small ensuite shower room. The shower is old and tired and sadly so is the cottage quite tired. Rusty radiators and lots of chipped paint doesn't reflect the 4 stars. We did see in a local estate agents the cottage is on the market and that may very well account for its unloved look. Its sad because with just a small amount of effort this could be a lovely place to want to return to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limeblossom8, Owner at Sunbeam Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay in Sunbeam Cottage. I thought i would respond to some of your comments as they are incorrect. There is an inventory list in the cupboard of all of the items in them, with no prices. We are advised to do this by the Tourist Board and it is standard in holiday cottages. In only one of the cupboards, it says "if you break a piece of crockery it will have to be replaced, you can either do this yourself or let us know". I buy that set of crockery in our local kitchenware shop and it is a useful way for guests to replace them if they want to themselves to save embarrassment, this is the only note that has the prices and information of the relevant shop on it.
There is an attic in the cottage that is locked and i can assure that there is no-one living in it! The cottages in the old part of the town are sometimes divided in to two and this is the case with Sunbeam. You were probably hearing the next door neighbours.
Being a cottage, the rooms are going to be small and the en-suite in the twin room i agree is small but functional, it is a standard sized good quality shower cubicle, the shower is three years old and is a "Mira" one of the better makes of electric showers. It is in very good condition. My guests seems to appreciate having the choice of two en-suite bathrooms. I don't agree with you reagarding their needing to be a shower above the bath, it already has a shower attachment and if you want to have a shower you just walk the 5 metres in to the other en-suite

The white goods in the kitchen are all good quality and modern, the dishwasher may not be brand new but it cleans brilliantly. I don't agree in replacing equipment that has nothing wrong with it.

I was half expecting a review of this kind from you. on your arrival you seemed particuarly affronted that i should ask you for your cash deposit even though this was clearly stated that this was required on arrival in the booking terms and conditions and again in your confirmation letter. It was explained to you that it would be returned to you during the week after your departure and in cheque form but you were still wanting it returned before you left and it had been cleaned. You also rang two days after you left wanting to know where the cheque was, as i informed you it was already in the post and there might be a delay as it was a Bank Holiday Weekend. Notice that I didn't charge you for the crockery that you broke.

In regards to cleanliness, i clean the cottage myself with another cleaner. I take between 2-3 hours just to do the downstairs rooms and the other cleaner takes 2 hours to do the top two rooms. This is highly unusual in holiday cottages that they are cleaned so thoroughly but i am glad to say that this pays off in all the compliments and positive comments that my guests give to me or have commented in reviews on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely short break at Sunbeam Cottage. Wonderfully located just a few minutes walk from the harbour. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable so you feel at home shortly after arriving

Thank you Wendy for a lovely stay

Katie and Brenda (And Noodle the dog of course)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DevonTreacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Arrived a Sunbeam cottage in pouring rain and gale force winds. Wendy was kindly waiting for us at 11.30 p.m. at night to show us the cottage and how everything worked. Very kind of her. The cottage is lovely, homely and very well equipped, felt like a home from home unlike a lot of rental cottages. It is also very centrally located with the harbour only a 2 minute walk away. I would recommend this cottage for the ease of use, its centrality, its cleanliness was superb, Wendy herself, and the cosiness of the cottage!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a loveley weekend in Padstow staying at Sunbeam Cottage - it was very nicely decorated, clean and warm. We have been visiting Padstow for the last 10 - 12 years and have stayed in various places around the towm - Sunbeam Cottage has got to be one of the nicest places that we have stayed in. It was very comfortable and very homely and just right for us.

I would recommend Sunbeam Cottage to friends - as they say, it did what it said on the tin!

Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we found the cottage very pleasant and well equipt,there was plenty of towels and all the stuff in kitchen was more than adequate.The position is superb with just a few minites walk to harbour.All in a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padstow hotels
1.5 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Molesworth Manor
Molesworth Manor
#1 of 2 in Little Petherick
274 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 14 in St Merryn
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#5 of 14 in St Merryn
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeam Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Cottage

Address: 39 Duke Street, Padstow PL28 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Padstow
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Cottage is an 18th century old fisherman's cottage situated in the heart of the "Old Town" of Padstow, 200 metres from the harbour. Renovated to a high standard and sleeps 4 comfortably with a double en-suite room and a twin en-suite room. We have been awarded 4 stars by the AA. Dogs welcome at no extra charge (maximum of 2 dogs). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunbeam Cottage Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing