We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Custom House Inn
Ranked #13 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family and I have fallen in love with Cornwall and visit several times a year and always seem to end up in this great spot. It's a lovely place to have a drink and watch the boats in the harbour. The staff are always polite and friendly and the food has always been delicious. I'm sure we will be visiting for many years to come.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiesuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very fortunate to be a part of such a beautiful area, and hope we add to its charm. I will pass on your lovely comments to our teams who welcome such feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, small but comfortable room, clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. The staff we're helpful, and the hotel had excellent views of Padstow key. A fantastic cooked to order breakfast left us feeling satisfied, and I'm sure we'll return again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartinBridget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is always a pleasure to read that you found our staff helpful, and enjoyed our Cornish breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel last minute, literally on the drive there. Bit of a gamble but worked out perfectly. A small room, but well decorated and a very comfortable bed. We had one of the cheapest rooms, at the top of the building and no view, but felt we got a real bargain as a result! The hotel is in a great position, right on the harbour so really at the centre of things. Parking in the public car park opposite. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very fortunate to be so well positioned on the harbor with such beautiful views. I am very glad you discovered us and enjoyed your stay, we very much hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have visited Padstow several times now and each time we seem to end up at the Old Customs House. We enjoyed a lunch of whitebait and house burger washed down with a glass of local cider. As usual we had a lovely lunch and felt welcomed like a local. We have in the past had the excellent fish and chips and eaten them sitting on the harbour, but beware of the seagulls!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are so glad you continue to choose us for your visits to Padstow where you are always very welcome. We are also delighted that you have had the chance to try our new menu and hope you choose to eat with us next time you are down this way. We are always a safe haven from jealous Seagulls!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

My husband booked day before we arrived location on the harbour. Had a beautiful meal starter and main. Definitely will come back again. The bed is the best we have ever slept in. The bathroom gorgeous clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniaxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thankyou for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were in room 9 cannot fault it lovely and big, view was perfect and bathroom was great. From the min we checked in the staff were lovely and so friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and age one night in the restaurant which was also great. Overall we would recommend and would defo return.

Room Tip: In peak season get there early so that u get a perfect space in car park opposite then u can put 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

We are always glad to read positive feedback about our staff who all work hard to make every stay special! Thank you for your lovely comments which we will pass onto our teams. We hope you choose to visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Warm welcome and friendly staff. The room was very clean, comfortable and overlooked the harbour. Breakfast was delicious!

The harbour location meant is was easy to walk everywhere.

If we visit Padstow again we'll definitely book here again.

Recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonsweetmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments about our business and our staff. We are very fortunate to be wonderfully positioned right on the picturesque quayside in the heart of Padstow. It is nice just to pass the time with a few drinks and look out on the boats and harbor. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,560 reviews
1 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 55 in Padstow
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Padstow Townhouse
Padstow Townhouse
#6 of 55 in Padstow
95 reviews
2 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#2 of 55 in Padstow
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Custom House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Custom House Inn

Address: Inn South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range: £87 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Custom House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Custom House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Custom House Hotel Padstow
Old Custom House Padstow
Old Custom House Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing