We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Althea Library

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Althea Library
Ranked #3 of 56 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hard to add anything new to all the praise already heaped on this B & B. Jane and Geoff were so hospitable and there were so many extras that made the stay so comfortable. The Green Room was lovely and the breakfast was fabulous. Such an interesting building but a lovely homely atmosphere too.

Room Tip: The Green Room was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
210
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous long weekend in Padstow staying at Althea Library in the Puffin Suite. Beautiful room, fabulous bathroom, extremely clean, amazing breakfast. Geoff & Jane have thought of everything from toiletries in the bathroom to fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge along with teas coffees and biscuits. Location is close to the harbour with on site parking. We will definately return!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We found this excellent b&b on an internet search through the Cornish tourist board in 2004. We've come here every year since, we just love it here. Jane & Geoff are excellent hosts and can't do enough fo you. The location is superb, being just a 5/10 minute walk from the harbour and having a parking space too (parking in Padstow is at a premium so having a space is brilliant). We usually stay in the 'Green room', it suits us perfectly. Mind, if you're very tall, the room is in the roof space and is low in places (I'm 5'8''). Each time we come we notice something different. Jane and Geoff are constantly updating the place.

Room Tip: There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs where you can get good meals from in Padstow. For valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrowne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a 3 night stay with Geoff & Jane at the beginning of July and their hospitality is just wonderful. We arrived quite early due to our long drive and were greeted with delicious tea and coffee on the terrace.
We stayed in the Puffin Suite and the rooom was delightful and had every home comfort and it felt like home from home. The bathroom was beautifully finished with a great shower and the automatic floor lights are a nice touch. Our bed was very comfy and the lovely sitting room area meant we were able to relax after dinner and in the day when the weather wasn't so good. The breakfast that Geoff and Jane serves up is absoloutely delicious and kept us going all day. We were recommended to Althea Library from a friend who owns a holiday home in Padstow and were delighted to have found such a gem. We will certainly be back to Althea Library as we had such a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: The Puffin Suite is delightful and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Althea Library can be summed up by the fact that we and many other visitors go back time and time again. I think this is our 10th or 11th visit in 7 years and it never disappoints. Geoff and Jane are so welcoming and friendly with usually a funny story to tell. There is all you need in the room (we stay in the Green Room) which is always perfectly presented - believe me because I'm quite fussy about where I stay! Geoff's cooked breakfasts keep you going all day. His salmon and scrambled egg on a muffin is the best you will find. You are happily catered for if you are Vegetarian or Vegan.
Althea library is situated 4 or 5 minuets walk from the middle of Padstow. If you are looking for an excellent little guest house where you are made to feel special then go and visit Geoff and Jane - only thing is don't tell too many people - it's our secret!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the 'green room' from 2 nights during a cold spell in May. We really appreciated the warmth of our room. We found other B&Bs sometimes turn off the heating but this place was always warm and cosy. We loved our room with it's sloping ceilings and windows looking out onto rooftops. Our bathroom was spacious and spotless, with wonderful locally made soap, shampoo and body lotion, good quality towels and even a mirror that lights up :)
We were pleasantly surprised to find a little fridge with fresh milk for our tea or coffee, bottled water and even delicious chocolates. There was a cosy living room for the use of guests where we spent our evenings relaxing and reading after dinner. Althea Library also has a little patio garden where you can sit and enjoy the afternoon sunshine and do bird watching, since there are several bird feeders hanging in the garden. We felt like this was home for us and we hope to be back soon !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evafromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Beautiful B&B with the nicest hosts. Geoff and Jane make you feel so welcome and have beautiful cosy rooms for the perfect night sleep.
Amazing breakfasts are served each morning which set you up for the day.
A great location just 5 minutes walk into Padstow but with the added advantage of having a car park - something very rare in Padstow.
Highly reccommend this lovely B&B

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Chalet
Sea Chalet
#2 of 56 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 56 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tor View
Tor View
#7 of 56 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Library

Property: Althea Library
Address: 27 High Street, Padstow PL28 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II Listed Building, converted from a school/library and situated in the oldest part of Padstow near the Parish Church and a 5 minute walk from the harbour, shops and excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Althea Library reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Library Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing