We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Sunday lunch ever”
Review of Golden Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lion Inn
Ranked #21 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Had the pleasure of staying at The lion Inn Padstowe think it was last Sept was meaning to review but kept forgetting. I must say it was The best Sunday Lunch I have ever tasted Prime Roast Beef with all the trimmings. I have searched in vain to get the same so the only answer is to go back again. Thanks to Mary she was excellent and the girl behind the bar as well she was off on holidays to germany I think and the Landlord/ Landlady as well. All was really great and I really enjoyed my stay with you it was wonderful and relaxing and we will be back.. Gary and Lorraine from Shannon Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed here with 2 friends for our mates wedding , everything was superb , the locals were friendly the staff were fantastic and the food was excellent , could.nt fault it ,
going back again in august , Thanks for a superb weekend

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

simply the best thats putting it mildly food fantastic staff wonderful this is a locals pub but visitors are made very welcome location fantastic been for 3 years now and already looking forward to next year

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulberesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stayed here after reading the reviews we liked it very much the service was great and Mary very welcoming as were the landlord and landlady. Breakfast was very good and the bar had a great local feel even down to Team A playing Team B at darts. The only problem was the parking but that is not down to the hotel perhaps the council should issue resident permits for people staying in the town? Anyway good stay would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Firstly we didn't stay at Golden Lion rather called at 8.30 pm with 12 friends for a meal. Pub was quiet. On asking if they had a table for 12 ( which they did) the lady ( landlady??) behind bar was so off hand and rude ( shouted at me saying "I don't know... you'll have to wait!!" that we decided not to stay. She also 'bit' at young boy who was with our group stood next to me because he dared touch the door of the bar. We chose to eat elsewhere. " Keep your fingers oiff the door"
I did send an e mail before writing this review asking for explanation but no reply!
Clearly this review of mine mirrors closely the review from Sept 07 below from Kewuk. Obviously service levels are not getting any better at least for those people calling in for food !!
It appeared to me this is a locals pub and outsiders are probably fromed upon? We will visit Padstow again next year but will give this place a wide berth!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Just got back from a fantastic stay in the Golden lion B&B,the pub is what i would call a traditional pub which does food etc. The staff are great as well as the landlord and landlady Martin and Sarah and there children were very friendly and couldnt do enough to make our stay that little bit more special.The location has to be the best you are just off the main harbour so it is nice and quiet but you are only a few steps from every thing you could need. I only have one thing that got to me is that you have to park out of town and walk in.Which is not to much of a problem but going back to you car is all up hill.
Thanks to Martin and Sarah see you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed at the Golden Lion for two nights and were very impressed - we had a lovely double room with a window seat overlooking the narrow street down to the harbour - great for people watching. Great little pub full of locals (and serving great food to locals and tourists) and loads of character. Martin and Sarah and all staff were friendly and very welcoming. The highlights were the breakfast (so big I could only manage it one day!)-and the attentions of the adorable little Casper (don't worry he is kept well out of the way if you don't like dogs). Go and stay there and try it - we will be going back. - oh and they can store your bikes!! Don't be put off by the 'no parking' it really wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandChockridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
The London Inn
The London Inn
#52 of 55 in Padstow
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cally Croft
Cally Croft
#10 of 55 in Padstow
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padstow Breaks
Padstow Breaks
#14 of 28 in Padstow
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Symply Padstow
Symply Padstow
#14 of 55 in Padstow
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Inn

Address: 19 Lanadwell Street, Padstow PL28 8AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Padstow
Golden Lion Padstow
Golden Lion Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing