We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B&B”
Review of Cyntwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyntwell
Ranked #17 of 56 Padstow B&B and Inns
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed at the Cyntwell in Padstow last weekend and were really impressed. Our room was spotlessly clean, cosy and had everything we needed. The B&B is old and quaint with lots of traditional features, while our host was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fab with lots of choice. As it's only a two minute walk into the centre of town I would highly recommend the Cyntwell, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
116
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colne
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed 1 night in Cyntwell the beginning of November and loved it. We had a double room in the loft which was very warm and cosy on a cool and blustery autumnal evening We had previously spent 4 nights in other bed and breakfast establishments in other areas of Cornwall and Cyntwell on our last night was definately the nicest place by far. Wendy was very welcoming and helpful from the start and she even forwarded on a phonecharger we forgot bypost the next day.We enjoyed Padstow very much, would love to go back and would definately stay at Cyntwell again.

David and Lisbet Monks, Colne, Lancashire.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidMColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Padstow is a little more expensive than the rest of the surrounding area but is such a lovely place I booked into Cyntwell for 1 night. It was delightful. Beautifully decorated, little touches like nice toiletries and fluffy towels, added that extra special touch. Nice and warm, with comfortable bed and plenty of hot water in the shower. A really lovely atmosphere. The lady running the place was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was about the best I have had and the chap who cooked it was friendly and personable. In a nice quiet street but only 2 or 3 minutes walk from the quay. All in all one of the nicest places I have stayed and I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Padstow.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front overlooking the street but it was very quiet so I would guess that all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed her for 2 nights.. Great place so close to everything. Lovely friendly place to stay.. We stayed in loft which was cosy and warm. We had all we needed in the room with tea/coffee, and fresh milk, tv etc. Big bathroom. Lovely comfy bed and really nice decor. Breakfast was great with a great choice from fresh fruit salad, juices, full english and fresh fish. Very welcoming people. Would def go again. thank you to all that made us feel welcome

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We found Cyntwell as usual via Trip Advisor. Wendy sent very helpful details of how to get the the B & B and was very welcoming when we arrived. The room was very clean and comfortable, although quite small, with lashings of hot water in the bathroom and a very comfy bed. Fresh milk was provided which was unusual and appreciated. It is very close to the centre of everything. There is no parking available which could be a problem if you are arriving at a busy time of day as we found it quite difficult to find a parking space (the car parks are not well signposted either) You then have to trundle your suitcases etc through the town which in the rain is not the best start. The lady who served us breakfast was very nice and the breakfast was fine. We were first down to breakfast on the first morning but last down on the second morning and we didn't like the fact that the tables that had been finished with, had the used tablecloths pushed to one side and the clean table linen on the back of a chair waiting to be put on the table. It made us feel they were waiting for us to finish so they could get on and re-set the room. It was good place to stay but we felt that overall, it lacked a certain ambience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank City-Break-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent our last two days of our holiday in Cornwall in the lovely Padstow and we had the chance to stay at Cyntwell's. We loved the cozy attic room where we slept, clean, comfortable and furnished and decored with a very good taste. We liked the breakfast, which was very good, as well as the welcoming B&B staff. We definitely recommend Cyntwell if you ever are in Padstow - Laura&Lorenzo

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights 7-9 September 2012. We were made to feel so welcome, the rooms are so quaint, especially the attic rooms. The breakfasts were spot on. I don't think I've ever slept so well in a B&B!
Thank you for making our trip to Padstow so enjoyable - when we visit again, we will definitely stay at Cyntwell. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#14 of 56 in Padstow
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 56 in Padstow
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 56 in Padstow
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tor View
Tor View
#9 of 56 in Padstow
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Althea Library
Althea Library
#2 of 56 in Padstow
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyntwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyntwell

Property: Cyntwell
Address: 4 Cross Street, Padstow PL28 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cyntwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyntwell Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing