We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cottage by the sea”
Review of Cyntwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyntwell
Ranked #17 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage by the sea”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As regular visitors to Padstow - we have previously stayed in self catering or caravans - so this was our first dip into the lovely range of B & B's in Padstow and we certainly chose well. After dropping the kids off with sister in law at chalet in Atlantic Bays, we parked up and walked up from the harbour to this delightful white cottage in the heart of the old town. A warm welcome from owner Wendy and very effecient check in - we were in Thrift, a small, but very comfortable double in the eaves at the front of the cottage looking over the road and a view over rooftops to Porthilly and the Camel estuary. Loved the little extras that made this such a cosy room - fairy lights over bed, lots of cushions, fresh milk and a lovely large bathroom. Steps are quite steep up to this room as mentioned in previous posts. We stayed during a very warm period in August and did make use of the fan in the room another nice touch, with all windows open - noise was not really an issue very quiet road outside and apart from some very nice pubs nightlife in Padstow is limited to a band or choir playing in the harbour - the B &B was full duirng our stay but we heard very little noise from fellow guests - we quite like being woken to nosiy seagulls - better than the roar of the M6 we get at home!!
Cant fault the breakfasts and all in all a lovely couple of days - would definately recommend to anyone looking for a quiet break in a great little Cornish fishing port - we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pe4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
118
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed with my husband, my Mum and stepdad, my Gran and her partner. Our room at the top of the house was lovely and so comfortable. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day. Word of warning to the less abled, the stairs are very steep. This wasn't a problem for my husband and I, but my gran and her partner found it a bit difficult. That said, I think this was the nicest B&B I have stayed in and I will will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcaimbeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely , place lovely hostess , great breakfast ( more marmalade please , but then I'm a gannet and its really good marmalade )
Super clean great location , all the rooms are excellent, its always our first choice for staying in Padstow,(we've changed dates to get a room )

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanleysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in May whilst visiting Cornwall. We liked it so much we arranged to stay at Cyntwell for an extra night. This is a really cute, pretty B&B with lovely cottage features. It was spotless, tastefully decorated and had a lovely bathroom. We stayed in the bedroom at the right of the first flight of stairs and I would highly recommend it. The room has a spacious, modern bathroom and window seats with views over the street. This B&B is right around the corner from Rick Stein's Cafe and Paul Ainsworth at No.6 and within just a stroll of other great foodie destinations such as Rojano's on the Square and The Basement, together with the harbour itself. The little touches at this B&B were what really stood out for me - the fresh milk placed in your room daily, makeup wipes provided in the bathroom and the well-cooked breakfasts. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rose319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Wendy could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. We stayed one night in a lovely double ensuite - comfy, clean, spacious. Perfect poached eggs for breakfast and just up the road from bustling padstow harbour. And we kept our bikes round the back. A great find - no hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rally1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked a 3 night stay recently , fully intending to move on elsewhere for the remainder of our trip, however we liked it so much we booked an extra night , we were really pleased that the same room was available. My idea of B & B heaven, pretty, quirky, spotlessly clean, good breakfast , roses round the door, fairy lights, beautiful smelling candles , comfortable bed, fresh milk on our 'doorstep' after a day out , friendly hosts and an excellent location. Now back at work and day-dreaming of our lovely stay in Padstow and Cyntwell.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Thrift' a double room at the top, lovely room. I loved it and its given me in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Cyntwell and Wendy are perfect for a Padstow holiday. Wendy is friendly, welcoming and strives to achieve high standards of hospitality. Room was very clean, bedding is luxurious and breakfast is hot and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#15 of 55 in Padstow
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tor View
Tor View
#8 of 55 in Padstow
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyntwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyntwell

Property: Cyntwell
Address: 4 Cross Street, Padstow PL28 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cyntwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyntwell Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing