We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location Porthcothan beach within...”
other travellers have booked this property
Porthcothan Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthcothan Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Porthcothan Bay
Living Room
Sea Views
Sunset views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location Porthcothan beach within walking distance Excellent and comfortable property.”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Second year staying at Sunnyridge a hidden gem everything you need .Don't need a television you can just look at the stunning sea view. Had a few small problems that the owner Meg sorted out straight away. Already booked for 2017.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcowdell...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect chill out by the beach”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a holiday to relax and unwind as much as you can with an 8 month old. The location and facilities at Sunnyridge to do so are second to none and everything has been finished to a very high standard, very clean, neat and tidy. The open plan kitchen and lounge is great and makes the living area feel huge, fantastic for cooking at home too. We didn't take advantage of the facilities outside as it was a little cold in the evening (end of October) but I've no doubt that in the summer the amazing views plus a barbecue would go down a treat. The only slight problem we had were flies in the lounge area upon arrival and quickly found that opening the windows simply meant more came in. Luckily, as it was generally too cold to have the windows open, this meant that the flies got in on only a few occasions.

But if you want to use Sunnyridge as a base to explore and just rest and chill out in the evening then this is an excellent choice. We didn't go out in the evening due to having the young baby and wanting him to settle and go to sleep first and foremost, but made the most of the early starts and spent the daytimes visiting the many different towns nearby - Padstow, Wadebridge, and Newquay are all within easy reach, while places of interest like the Eden Project are only a 30 minute drive away. Would definitely go back again. A very pretty and modern home from home in a very pretty part of the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jan 2017
Thank you for your feedback, I'm very sorry to hear that there was a bad smell outside for part of your stay, our parents live next door so I did ask them if they noticed anything and unfortunately they also did. The farmers had grown cauliflowers in the fields surrounding which had gone over and with the direction of wind caused a bad smell which is unavoidable I'm afraid. I am pleased to say they ploughed it all the following week! This would probably account for the 5 flies you found, we have never had a fly problem. We have now bought extra pillows to avoid any further issues and have added an extra non slip mat for the bathroom. I do hope you enjoyed your stay overall and can only add my apologies for any disappointment you felt.
Kind regards,
Meg
If you had of notified me during your stay I would have done everything I could to solve any issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sam s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A modern, well finished and spacious house that filled with sunlight and made our holiday very enjoyable!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house is beautiful, with bedrooms mainly downstairs and a large open plan upper floor kitchen/lounge with a fantastic view through the glass balcony out to sea across a few fields. Amazing sunsets and the occasional glint of a lighthouse make this a really nice relaxing place to relax with a beverage whilst sinking into the massive sofa after a day of activities. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who likes to have a bit of piece and quiet but to be within a few minutes of a pub. There are a few nice places to eat locally for a £10 cab ride to St Merrin.
Loved it and would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail P
2 reviews
“Terrific location, sea views and very spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great property with amazing sea views. The location is fantastic. So close to the Atlantic and lots of great places close by: Padstow, Wadebridge, Watergate Bay, Newquay airport, Chocolate factory, gokarting and Eval Candle Company. The house was very well equipped with large TV for films when it rains and an even larger sofa to sink into! A lovely active week in one of our favourite places in the world. An absolutely perfect location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was the first time we'd been to cornwall, and our first time renting a place. Both of us were pleasantly surprised at the accommodation, plus the location (10 mins from Padstow) was perfect. Will definitely book again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchsTra...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Away from the hordes and the hounds in Padstow, 'Sunnyridge' is a peaceful retreat high up on the hill near Porthcothan. The building is relatively new and in terms of room layout is 'upside down' with the single open-plan kitchen-diner-lounge upstairs and 3 bedrooms downstairs. This arrangement allows for a fabulous sea view through a pair of west-facing double doors at one end of the living space. Here there is a glass-fronted juliet balcony so that the the wonderful sea view is not obstructed - great when the doors are open and the fresh air rolls in.
The contemporary design of the living area is very stylish and comes with all of today's modern conveniences. The property throughout is very clean and tidy and offers two bathrooms - one downstairs en-suite and a bright and cheerful shower room upstairs which we preferred to use.
The location is great for walking as one can leave the car at home and head off on the coastal path in either direction from Porthcothan Bay. Take care on the short stretch of road to the beach as it can be quite busy. Nearby St Merryn has many places to eat including Rick Stein's pub the Cornish Arms. All-in-all a fab location!
The only negative - the blue lighting over the kitchen sink area doesn't work and the bed mattresses could have been better quality - but I'm a grumpy ol' man! I also recommend taking your own pillows but I'd recommend that wherever you go. That said, we would love to return another day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The double bed(s)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing