We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful afternoon tea”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blagdon Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Spent some time pondering where to take our best friends for a 70th birthday and was recommended Blagdon Manor. The setting of the house is delightful and had it been a nice day the views and gardens would have been very special. The house is beautifully furnished which is enhanced by the very warm welcome received from Liz and the dogs. The scones and homemade jam were lovely. Liz gave us a little look around the rest of the house and we would now love to return and sample sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fiona o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Blagdon Manor for our wedding anniversary on Sunday April 6th.
Great welcome and very relaxing pre-dinner drinks in the lounge in front of the log burner. The dinner surpassed our expectations; the variety and quality of the food was just excellent and no question the chef Steve knows how to use fresh ingredients to full effect.
We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

the staff the food the wine the place and the two beautiful dogs was an exceptional experience an would drive 300 miles just to go back! It's intimate but you feel miles away from anything. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norfolknchance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Can't praise this hotel/restaurant too highly. Sunday lunch exceeded expectations. A good walk round the grounds afterwards for dogs and owners made the day complete. If you are visiting this area a super place to stay - with not a solar wind turbine in sight.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Having visited many times the service never varies.. You are always greated by Liz, and maybe the dogs, and made to feel at home and part of their family. The choice of food is great and never the same. Steve, the chef, is always willing to take your wishes on board and make small changes if possible. The setting is beautiful with no other properties visable.
This great old building has all the comfort anyone could require coupled with great food and very friendly staff. One always returns.

Room Tip: Have stayed in the past. All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy091143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We recently had a great birthday dinner for my wife at Blagdon Manor during a visit to Devon. This is a very pleasant venue offering a friendly welcome. The food was very good and the kitchen catered very well adapting their menu for a gluten, wheat and dairy free diet, even extending this to the canapes on arrival and petit fours with coffee. Truly recommended for a 'special' dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motorman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lunch for twelve, nothing too much trouble. Excellent food, service and surroundings. Set in beautiful grounds with wildlife and birds to watch from an armchair. Tranquility with style in Devon, a lovely place to stay or like us drop in for a meal. This traditional hotel has a homely farmhouse feel that is so relaxing. You can bring the dogs along ! That's brilliant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blagdon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blagdon Manor Hotel

Address: Ashwater EX21 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashwater
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Blagdon Manor Ashwater
Blagdon Manor Hotel Ashwater, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing