We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blagdon Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashwater
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from another fantastic visit to Blagdon it is great to see that Steve and Liz manage to do what very few others car n do, create a very high standard and maintain it over many years.

Steve's food is delicious and the rooms are kept in immaculate condition.

If you want a weekend away with superb food in beautiful surroundings then Blagdon Manor is the place to go.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNicholson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Liz and Steve made us and our dog Rudi so very welcome. The room was spacious and beautiful. The food - simply fantastic. The staff - so very friendly. The location of Blagdon Manor is amazing. It was a short holiday way beyond our expectation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We agree whole-heatedly with the previous review!! Blagdon is superb in every single way. Steve and Liz have struck just the right balance between being friendly and professional, it feels welcoming yet very special.

We left feeling restored, relaxed and very well fed indeed! Our puppy Conker loved it too and enjoyed playing with Cassia and Mace. The stunning gardens provided plenty of space for a walk and room to play ball. We cannot wait to return as soon as possible! The only problem will be deciding which of the other amazing rooms to try next!

Room Tip: We had the Larkworthy suite which had an extra sitting room area which was perfect for our puppy Con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benwithinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We chose Blagdon Manor primarily because we were looking for a comfortable place to stay that offered good food and a dog friendly atmosphere. What we got so far exceeded our expectations that we will definitely be returning. Billed as a restaurant with rooms Blagdon Manor is run by owners Steve and Liz Morey. It is set in its own grounds offering several acres for dog walks and chilling out. It is one of those rare places that looks good on first inspection but actually gets better when you check out the detail! The rooms are very well appointed with quality bathrooms, powerful showers and plush decor. Dogs are made truly welcome and are provided with bowls, beds and home made treats. The manor, originally a 17th century farmhouse, has a bar and several comfortable public rooms where you will find all sorts of nick knacks to make your stay more enjoyable. There are maps of the surrounding areas with walks and attractions, magazines and little jars of sweeties!

Liz takes care of the front of house duties - the balance that she strikes between friendliness and professionalism is just right. Never intrusive but always available should you need anything.

Steve is the chef and a very good one indeed. He has worked with some of the best in the land and it shows. Locally sourced ingredients are transformed into imaginative dishes, bursting with flavour and beautifully presented. Every mouthful was a delight. Thank you very much!

Finally a mention must be made of Ruth. To call her simply a waitress does not do her justice. A local lady who is clearly very proud of the food she delivers to the table, she is witty, fun and wholly professional all at the same time.

Whether you have a dog or not do yourself a favour and book a fews days at Blagdon Manor. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent a lovely relaxing afternoon enjoying a cream tea with friends at Blagdon Manor, such a wonderful setting to take two special people for a surprise treat. Thank you for your warm hospitality as always and for the lovely scones and delicious Tea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnabycrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Spent some time pondering where to take our best friends for a 70th birthday and was recommended Blagdon Manor. The setting of the house is delightful and had it been a nice day the views and gardens would have been very special. The house is beautifully furnished which is enhanced by the very warm welcome received from Liz and the dogs. The scones and homemade jam were lovely. Liz gave us a little look around the rest of the house and we would now love to return and sample sunday lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Blagdon Manor for our wedding anniversary on Sunday April 6th.
Great welcome and very relaxing pre-dinner drinks in the lounge in front of the log burner. The dinner surpassed our expectations; the variety and quality of the food was just excellent and no question the chef Steve knows how to use fresh ingredients to full effect.
We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashwater
8.8 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
7.4 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
511 reviews
21.4 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
21.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
505 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blagdon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blagdon Manor Hotel

Property: Blagdon Manor Hotel
Address: Ashwater EX21 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Blagdon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blagdon Manor Ashwater
Blagdon Manor Hotel Ashwater, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing