We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How big's your plate???”
Review of Sportsmans Arms

Sportsmans Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Blackawton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How big's your plate???”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've been coming to Devon for our family holiday for the last three years and always make a point of coming here for Sunday lunch.... this time we turned up without a reservation and they managed to fit us in (family of 5). It was lovely as always. We enjoyed it that much that we went again for our evening meal. My husband had carvery again and he said it was better than Sundays. A must for our visit next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen_edwards4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    62
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Decent carvery and service.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Memories of this pub restaurant flood back from when we first visited Dartmouth around 20 years ago, back then family dining was not really allowed in the town which prompted us to take our kids to the sportsman who had a family room , food back then was typical pub grub of a decent standard. Today the pub has not changed much with the exception that its child friendly and attracts more family diners, gone is the separate kids dining room.
Most of the food served seemed to be the daily carvery, a typical range of meats , Pork and Beef along with roast potatoes, carrots cabbage and so on all topped off with a rich gravy, all for under a tenner.
Place was busy which reflects its popularity, other dishes were on offer and looked ok but we did not try anything else.
Good all round and we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great food and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Carvery roast available which was delicious, good selection of other food on the daily menu. All reasonably priced and a good choice of wine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Generous and delicious”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very well-cooked and nicely served food, plenty of it, and it was nice and friendly with a warm atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skerrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Carvery”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great Carvery with all the usual trimmings

Very well presented and not too over priced

Small play area for kids

Booking is advised

Helpful?
1 Thank Jumperman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing