We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy quaint cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blackawton, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cmullett4...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy quaint cottage”
Reviewed 19 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is well equipped and is handy for visiting places of interest. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cheerlead...
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Memorable visit”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This cottage, with its unusual features, is truly memorable. Unfortunately the weather was a tad chilly and the cottage reflected this. Too cold. Wood burner was welcome (but smokes a lot in high wind). Bed very comfortable and shower good. Lovely to have access to the orchard. Overall this property would be best visited in warmer months

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
We were so sorry you found the cottage cold, and the wood burner smoky. Unfortunately it was a particularly stormy week from the 7th- 11th March 2016 with severe gales recorded in nearby Berry Head of 91 mph along with many houses out of power across the south west! We have certainly never had any previous complaints and have always been told the cottage is very cosy when it’s cold outside. We would have been happy to advise regarding the heating if you had contacted us during your stay and happy for you to have put the central heating onto constant mode if needed. Again very sorry your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as anticipated, I do hope it hasn’t put you off visiting Devon again - I certainly can recommend it in the glorious summer months!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamsin h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy cottage for a small family and dogs”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely stay at toad hall cottage, with 2 adults a new born baby and 2 corgi's! It was really nice to arrive and have local produce as a wecome gift and to have contact with the owners offering help with a travel cot if we needed it. The bed is super comfy! The surrounding area is beautiful and there is plenty to do on any budget.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mingjer13
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and peaceful.”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is in the middle of nowhere, so quiet and peaceful. Very quirky old beams, painted ceiling, wood fire. Everything you needs is provided. No far from main beaches and towns.If you want to chill out this is the place .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Sofe very uncomfortable for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badger03
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, cosy, peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Toad Cottage for a Valentines escape from family life and were well rewarded. Despite the weather the wood burner made it very toasty and we were very comfortable. It is such a unique little place with it's hand painted ceiling and built in four poster bed we will never forget it and hope to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing