We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Certificate of Excellence
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A wonderful stay in this charming boutique hotel for our first wedding anniversary. Beautiful location, excellent attentive staff and amazing food! Rooms are a good size, luxurious furniture and modern bathroom. The room we stayed in had pretty views.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
128
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My mother and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of April while we researched some family history in the area. It was supposed to be just a place to sleep at night, but it turned into the highlight of the trip.

The hotel is very small, and we were extremely lucky to have it to ourselves. The rooms are absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean and really well thought out - all individual. (gorgeous, luxurious bathrooms too!)

What makes this place so special is the food. As much as possible is sourced from foraging, from fishing, growing their own vegetables and from neighbouring farms. Therefore everything is fresh, local and seasonal. Having eaten at some of the top restaurants in the world, I was extremely impressed with the cooking here. It deserves a Michelin star (or two) and I believe that they do have a Michelin recommendation. Some examples from the menu include home made wild garlic bread, venison and scallops.

Breakfast was included in the price and was extremely generous and again, beautiful cooking. The full Devon breakfast is a beautiful feast, and my personal favourite touch was the homemade marmalade and jam that they were able to offer. There was loads of toast, croissants, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, cereal, yoghurt, porridge, and the fluffiest scrambled eggs I have ever had!

the attitude of the owners and staff is lovely too - extremely attentive, but relaxed and very happy to chat about recipes, how to forage, local attractions and directions! They even organised for us to go to the farmer's estate down the road to look at his collection of rescued birds of prey - peregrine falcons, hawks, and a beautiful baby barn owl!

Finally the views are lovely - rolling hillsides, the river Erme and lots of trees and birds, plus the resident chickens! (who supply the scrambled eggs!) It's truly a break from a hectic city life and we were in heaven sitting in the garden with a cup of tea and home made shortbread biscuits, listening to birdsong.

I simply cannot recommend this place highly enough, it's unbelievably cheap for the exquisite quality that it offers and we loved every minute there!

Room Tip: There isn't a lift, and the rooms are on the first and second floors. We had rooms on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for one night after finding it via Alastair Sawday's guide. We were not disappointed.
We were at the top of the house, Room clean and tidy. Welcome tray of tea-coffee , fruit and biscuits. Fresh milk was offered. Bathroom, natural stone and very plush. Shower good!
We ate in the restaurant. Have to say the food was excellent. Three to four choices per course. Others also commented that the food was excellent.
Breakfast was equally good, fruit, cereals and full Devon.
The chef patron was around and very open to our comments, which were all good! Staff were very good and friendly, maybe a little inexperienced in the type of hotel they were representing. We had a look at some of the suites - Moscow Mule was our favourite - light and airy.
Would recommend to others with no problem. There were a few other residents who were repeat business...that must say something about the hotel and its service!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here 3 nights for a (special!) birthday week-end. The hotel is in a beautiful and quiet location, we stayed in room 21 at the front of the hotel with a view out over a river and hills.
The staff are excellent, and because the hotel is so small you just feel like you are staying in someone else's house rather than a hotel! The room was very nice, pretty large and with all the amenities you need.
The food is also amazing, There is a lot of choice for breakfast including hot food cooked to order (and they don't mind if you want more than one thing from the menu!). We ate dinner here too, and it was some of the best food I have eaten in a long time. The owner is also the chef and obviously takes pride in everything he cooks.
The only reason (and I am being picky) that I didn't give a 5 star review is that:
1. you cannot book online (and normally I would discount hotels where I can't do this, although in this case I'm glad I didn't!)
2. I found the bed really uncomfortable - too soft for my liking
3. our bill was wrong on check-out (other people's drinks bill on it)
But overall even though it is an expensive place to stay it is worth it for a special occasion. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We pretty much took over this hotel to celebrate a 90th birthday with 3 generations coming together. The rooms are extremely comfortable (the single ones are pretty small though) and the touches of fruit in the rooms and flowers from the garden really lovely. The food was absolutely fabulous with some of us feeling it was the best we had ever had anywhere! The staff were extremely helpful - even taking one of the party back to a local b & b where he was staying. I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret_rundall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We returned to celebrate our second anniversay (courtesy of my in-laws, Gaye and Garth, thanks guys!) and the stay lived up to two previous trips. The ambience is so peaceful, great attention to detail,fantastic food (breakfast and evening meal)...most comfy bed ever, lovely walk by the river Erme...ten minutes from the delightful Newton Ferrers and Noss Mayo villages...even good parking! Unhesitatingly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Excellent hotel, location, service and brilliant food.
My fiance book this as a surprise birthday treat.
Relaxing, brilliant friendly service.
Food amazing, will definitely return for another treat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barks-from-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermington
10.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
854 reviews
10.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
530 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
6.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Plantation House Totnes Road, Ermington PL21 9NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ermington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former rectory, this eight bedroom boutique hotel and restaurant,nestling on the sunny side of the river Erme valley, now provides a luxurious blend of rural hospitality and stylish sophistication with a strong emphasis on food. Log fires in the winter, breakfast on the terrace in the summer, yummy new bathrooms. Innovative, classical cooking from the highly experienced chef/patron. Fabulous beaches, Dartmoor, Plymouth, Totnes, Dartmouth, Eden project all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Ermington
Plantation House Hotel And Restaurant Ermington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing