We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a little gem, we just keep coming back. The rooms are tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable with everything you might need from a bowl of fresh fruit and a welcoming tea tray with fresh milk, biscuits and cake. The bathrooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

We would highly recommend the evening meal. The chef is clearly passionate about producing fine cuisine and it is a dilemma trying to make a choice from the imaginative dishes on offer.

All in all, a delightful place to stay with lovely staff and a friendly and attentive owner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
126
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

All the ingredients here for the perfect getaway break: delicious food, lovely house in a peaceful setting, comfortable and spacious accommodation, all within easy reach of both Dartmoor and the coast. We'd agree with all the positive comments made by other reviewers; this is a friendly, welcoming place where you can unwind and enjoy the exceptional food - properly 'local, fresh and seasonal' ingredients, imaginatively and deliciously combined.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I came to stay here with my partner having fancied it for a while - I had tried to come before & had to cancel at the last moment and the owner had been so pleasant about it I wanted to come & stay.

We were checked in by a really nice lady who was very welcoming. We had booked the master suite which was a lovely room which was thoughtfully laid out & had a nice fruit basket, flapjacks mineral water & a large tea & coffee selection.

Pre dinner drinks were in a cosy bar by a fire -with nice home made nibbles.

Dinner was not as good as I had hoped. Firstly - as we were the only guests in the hotel & there were only two other couples I suppose it is understandable that the menu was quite limited but only 2 main course choices (both red meat) was not a lot of choice and secondly one of the other couples included a lady with the loudest voice I have ever heard - which in a small eating area was completely dominating. Luckily we saw the funny side - as did the other "normal" couple & this was not the hotels fault. Starters (sea food risotto & a salmon pate) were more successful than a lamb dish which had Indian spices in it which were not in the menu description. The cheese board however was great - and the staff very pleasant.

Breakfast was good - and in a pretty room.

This was not cheap but it was a nice spot - and in warmer weather the outdoor areas I am sure would be nice to sit in

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuwariahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited Devon this weekend to visit relatives, and booked into the Plantation House Hotel for the one night. On arrival we were welcomed by 2 hens in the car park, then by the owner in reception. We were shown to our room, and then were brought fresh milk and a slice each of home-made fruit cake, which was gorgeous! Our room (12) was very comfortable and the bathroom very luxurious - loved the underfloor heating! We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was to die for! We have eaten in a few good restaurants, and this one ranks amongst them. The individual flavours in the dishes were exquisite, and the accompanying bottle of wine was very palatable. After spending a restful night in a wonderfully comfortable bed, breakfast was also gorgeous - and the fresh fruit salad really did awaken the taste buds. We took our coffee afterwards into the lounge and sat looking out of the window, watching the local wildlife (Canadian geese flying overhead and wild pheasants roaming around the garden). Richard, the owner and chef, ensures that everything runs smoothly, and the business is a real credit to him. We were sorry to leave this lovely little piece of Devon as the time went far too quickly (and we were even escorted from the car park by the 2 hens), but we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mich189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Plantation House Hotel, as non residents, for Valentine's dinner and what an outstanding evening we had. I'd had communication with Julie before we arrived so that the staff were aware I was gluten free; they weren't fazed by this at all.
We arrived to cocktails and nibbles and then meandered through 6 courses of locally sourced, perfectly cooked and presented culinary delights. Thank you chefs! The front of house service was second to none; attentive and perfectly timed whilst never being intrusive.
The location itself, in the midst of the Devon countryside is stunning. We arrived in the middle of a storm but will be returning in fairer weather to fully appreciate the grounds.
The decor is sympathetic to the buildings age, there is a small well stocked bar and a lounge area with open fire where we retired to to enjoy our cafetieres and home made chocolates (the chefs take on an orange matchmaker was to die for!).
The evening was very good value for money and we would highly recommend a visit for locals. It stands head to head with any of the best restaurants of Dartmouth, Exeter and Plymouth.
Next time we will be finding a dog sitter, booking a room and sampling some of the whiskies available at the bar!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank venustc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We've just returned from a weekend break at Plantation House. It was my husband's birthday, and getting away on our own is a rare treat so we decided to book here after reading the reviews.

Everything about our stay was just lovely, the room was comfortable and the bathroom was the nicest we've ever had in a hotel.

The food, both dinner and breakfast, were fantastic. The standard of the food is every bit as good as the previous reviews say, and the service was perfect - not too intrusive, friendly and well-paced. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a lovely, relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyT371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My fiancee and I visited this restaurant last night (February 6th 2014) to celebrate my birthday.
We were greeted by a real fire and light background music which complemented nicely the beautifully presented interior.
We were informed that the fisherman had just caught some bass from the nearby Wonwell beach not two hours ago and we agreed that we were unlikely to find any fresher.
We began the meal with a delicious haddock risotto - the finest I have ever eaten, and the sea bass which followed was beautifully pan-fried to perfection. I was pleased to see a basket of bread on the table, and the absence of salt and pepper indicated that the food was seasoned as it should be, Our bottle of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc came from an extensive wine list and matched the meal perfectly. The dessert was even presented to me with a lit candle standing in it. I cannot rate this restaurant highly enough. The proprietor is a man who knows how to look after people and his attention to detail is of the highest standard. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a really special experience with the best quality food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermington
10.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
755 reviews
6.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
829 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
520 reviews
6.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Plantation House Totnes Road, Ermington PL21 9NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ermington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former rectory, this eight bedroom boutique hotel and restaurant,nestling on the sunny side of the river Erme valley, now provides a luxurious blend of rural hospitality and stylish sophistication with a strong emphasis on food. Log fires in the winter, breakfast on the terrace in the summer, yummy new bathrooms. Innovative, classical cooking from the highly experienced chef/patron. Fabulous beaches, Dartmoor, Plymouth, Totnes, Dartmouth, Eden project all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Ermington
Plantation House Hotel And Restaurant Ermington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing