We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely boutique hotel, friendly, relaxing, and stylish, with luxurious rooms and gorgeous food, in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely boutique hotel, friendly, relaxing, and stylish, with luxurious rooms and gorgeous food, in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I keep going back to this hotel. For me it has been always a work trip and it's a real treat to come to a place like this in the evening. The attention to detail and the standard of accommodation and cooking make every stay a real pleasure. It must be wonderful to stay here when you're on holiday - it's in South Hams and within easy reach of so much lovely countryside.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
127
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Can't believe our luck with this find. We needed a room for the night after dropping our oldest son at University and rather than book the Plymouth Novotel decided to go slightly up market and treat ourselves. And what a treat!

From the moment we arrived we realised this was something a little bit special. Our corner aspect room was tastefully furnished, extremely comfortable and above all peaceful. The bathroom was a little dated and as we later learned from the owner is due for refurbishment soon.

A peculiarity of the hotel is that Dinner is served at 7:30pm, not from 7:30pm. The restaurant is small, (no that's the wrong description - intimate is far better) and on the night we stayed all the diners congregated in the bar just after 7:00 for aperitifs and the menu before being taken through to their tables. It sounds a little regimented but was actually a very pleasurable experience.

The food wasn't good it was sublime. Everything is locally sourced, definitely fresh and well presented. The relaxed atmosphere encouraged us to linger over the meal and I guess we took a couple of hours. Service was faultless and friendly. We took a bottle of house red and were impressed with the quality and the price.

We spent some time talking to Richard (owner/Chef) who explained his concept of creating something a little special in a delightful rural location. We think he is well on the way to getting it just right and hope to be regular visitors in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostmymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My wife and I had chosen Plantation House Hotel (PHH) as the location of choice for our wedding anniversary. Set in the South Hams region of Devon, it offered to us a quiet setting but not far from cities such as Plymouth or Exeter.
The Hotel itself is a beautiful old Rectory, that has been well converted. It is clear that much thought has gone into the re decoration, which is contemporary without the feeling of pretentiousness. Our room was on the front of the house, it did have some noise from the road, but none that was intrusive and the road itself is hidden by the garden's hedge. We spent a quite some time sat at the window seat reading and relaxing, overlooking the garden and the local scenery, listening to the river. Wonderful.
The bathroom had undergone a recent renovation, with a considerable wow factor, even down to user controlled under floor heating, which I am sure would be appreciated on winter stays. However I did get locked in the bathroom as the catch on the door had slipped, my wife had to fetch Richard the Patron/Chef who, with his trusty palette knife managed to free me! I was not bothered really, these things happen and it could have been anyone, just gives me a story to tell.
There is fresh fruit and cafetiere coffee in the rooms, with a selection of both traditional and fruit teas. Bathrobes are also provided. The only pickup I had, I noticed dust on the rungs of the heated towel rail, but this is only me being very picky and I probably wouldn't have noticed had I not spent 10 minutes in there with nothing else to do but poke around!
As I have mentioned, Richard, the Patron of the PHH is also the Chef. It is clear that he is passionate and confident in his skills, which results in truly excellent food made from locally sourced ingredients. After pre dinner drinks on the terrace we were invited in to sit for dinner. We had 5 courses, which were very well presented and complemented each other perfectly. The dining room is again very well decorated, with some fabulous original artwork.
The service offered by the staff was second to none, with the front of house staff giving us a real personal experience, which just finished off a wonderful anniversary stay at the PHH.
I have a feeling we shall be returning again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Plantation House Hotel which we both thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel service and attention that we received from our hosts Richard, Magda and their staff was second to none; nothing was too much trouble. Our room and en-suite both recently refurbished were elegant, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The en-suite was provided with fresh clean white towels daily, fluffy white bathrobes and the finest of toiletries. Our breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and made from the finest local produce. We also had a choice of cereal and homemade muesli, fresh fruit salad, homemade jam and marmalade and freshly squeezed orange juice. Dinner was equally as delicious. If you are looking for somewhere special to stay in South Devon, the Plantation House is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basilandmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts. UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a short break (without children) for some peace and quiet and to explore the lovely Devon countryside. Plantation House was an ideal setting for both. We were greeted by Richard - Chef/Patron on arrival and made to feel very welcome. We were shown to our room which was pleasantly contemporary without trying too hard. The bathroom was stylish with some fab soap, fluffy towels and white bathrobes. Our room over looked the rolling hills and even though it did overlook the road we were not disturbed by it at all. On the first night we ate out and although we got back pretty late, the bar was opened for us and fresh coffee prepared....all with a smile.

On the second evening we enjoyed dinner at the Plantation which was fabulous with very fresh local produce and extremely high standard of cooking. The wine list caters for all tastes/budgets and it was overall a very pleasant experience.

Breakfast the next day was equally well cooked and presented with very fresh orange juice and great tea.

Overall I would highly recommend the Plantation House as a stylish and relaxed base in Devon from which to explore the beauty of the coast and the countryside. Richard and Magdalena have a littel gem here which is due to their hard work and obvious pleasure in running this hotel/restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillv27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I stayed at the Plantation House with a group of friends with a view toward enjoying a relaxing bank holiday weekend in the country. Richard and his team provided outstanding service--helpful, friendly, timely, but not overbearing. The delicious food was complimented by an unexpectedly good wine list.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2009

I stayed at the Plantation House for a bank holiday weekend and had a lovely time.
Richard, the chef-made-hotelier, prepared consistently very good cuisine throughout the stay. Almost all produce is sourced locally. Breakfast is also a real treat.

Although situated in the middle of countryside, the hotel doesn't have significant grounds itself; it would take a couple of minutes to circumnavigate - though this didn't detract from the general beauty of the surroundings.

The rooms are not large, but well appointed. The double bed could have been a little larger.

There are lots of little country pubs within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMooMilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermington
10.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
6.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
525 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Plantation House Totnes Road, Ermington PL21 9NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ermington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former rectory, this eight bedroom boutique hotel and restaurant,nestling on the sunny side of the river Erme valley, now provides a luxurious blend of rural hospitality and stylish sophistication with a strong emphasis on food. Log fires in the winter, breakfast on the terrace in the summer, yummy new bathrooms. Innovative, classical cooking from the highly experienced chef/patron. Fabulous beaches, Dartmoor, Plymouth, Totnes, Dartmouth, Eden project all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Ermington
Plantation House Hotel And Restaurant Ermington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing