We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural getaway with beauty, style and space.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Milkshed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ccvw
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural getaway with beauty, style and space.”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in September 2015

The Milkshed has been created with great vision and understanding of what's important to a space of this kind. The finishes and layout are extremely good and it feels wonderfully connected to the landscape. Katie & Mark are great hosts who are very helpful and accommodating whilst understanding the need for privacy too. The location is ideal for exploring the surrounding area and you can't help but fall in love with this place for all it has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for reviewing The Milkshed - it is lovely to have guests from overseas, and great to hear that the property feels well connected to the surrounding landscape, as this is something we were certainly aiming for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Milkshed is a superb place to stay, surrounded by beautiful countryside and far reaching views. It's beautifully decorated and every need is catered for. Speaking of which, we can highly recommend the on-site catering from owner and chef, Mark, who provides restaurant quality food straight to your table. The location is perfect, tucked away far enough to feel like you're in the middle of nowhere but close enough to all local amenities and plenty of beaches. Mark and Katie are excellent hosts, having stayed three times already we will most certainly be returning. Can highly recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review The Milkshed - it is always such an honour when guests choose to return and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky B
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We visited the cowshed at the end of July. It is one of the most stunning and luxurious places that we have stayed. My two daughters enjoyed barbecuing and using the hot tub. We were made to feel so welcomed and enjoyed an evening of delicious freshly cooked food bought to the cowshed. That was a real treat. The setting is tranquil and we had a thoroughly restful time. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review - The Milkshed was indeed a cow shed in a former life and we tried to keep a barn-like feel with our conversion project. We are glad the hot tub and BBQ were enjoyed - these are both things we have added to enhance our visitors' experience. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudi672...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect place for a perfect Stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in August 2015

The Milkshed is a beautiful barn conversion in a quiet surrounding.
It has everything you need to spend a perfect holiday.The private garden and the meadow leave no wishes open.
The welcome meal we booked was a tasteful start of our stay and the Diner was simply brilliant!To have an "own" Chief in a holiday house is something that really makes a difference.
Katie was very helpful when our daughter got an allergic reaction due to a wasp sting.
All in all a wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, Meadow,Diner!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind words - we have tried to make the outside space a special part of the property so it is particularly lovely to hear that it was so appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Milkshed is the "cream of the crop"”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Where to start! This is by far the best property we have stayed in, in the UK and in our top 3 worldwide! Florida is known to have amazing villas of a high standard (which we can confirm), but The Milkshed could give them a run for their money! Katie & Mark are extremely charming and friendly hosts and run a very professional business. The cottage is immaculate and very well equipped, it is relaxing and the wood fired hot tub was a real treat. We had two meals cooked by Mark, these were fantastic, we loved the idea of having restaurant quality food freshly made by a top rate chef, delivered to our table in the cottage. We highly recommend this property as Arnie said "We will be beck"!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style and comfort of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! It is always lovely to hear that The Milkshed met your expectations, particularly from guests who are so well travelled. You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceW332
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and yummy food”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for a week summer of 2015. Lovely place, in a relaxing setting and very newly done up. Very child friendly with toys / books for the kids. Owners are super friendly and helpful - they also offer home cooked meals. First night I think we had a fish pie waiting for us in the fridge. We just needed to put it in the oven. One of the nights we had couple of friends over for dinner after the kids have gone to sleep and had a 3 course meal cooked for us. Was very yummy and a v high standard of cooking!
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and particularly pleased the catering offered a nice break from cooking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrot...
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in June 2015

The Milkshed is the best holiday let we have ever stayed in.
Great Location, great hosts, beautifully appointed and fantastic grounds.
Fantastic 5 star meal for special treats. A must to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout, the meal and the grounds
Liked least: Minor issue needed another wardrobe in the 2nd bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed it all and take your comments as a huge compliment. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing