We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The fabulous Milk Shed”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Milkshed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Strawson
Norfolk, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The fabulous Milk Shed”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed for two weeks. Lovely property. Great location. Well equipped and friendly hosts. Fantastic open plan living. Great wood fired hot tub and able to collect our own fresh eggs from the onsite chickens.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thanks for the review - thrilled you enjoyed your stay! It is always nice to see guests enjoying the hot tub and collecting chicken eggs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
608nickyf
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury getaway in the beautiful Devon countryside”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Milkshed is the perfect break, luxury accommodation set in the beautiful Devon countryside 10 minutes away from Honiton. It's in a great location which means it's easy to get to the coast and surrounding areas. The Milkshed has been lovingly furnished with a practical kitchen with all the amenities that you could wish for. Prior to our stay Katie was very helpful with information and recommendations. We were lucky with the weather and in particular we loved the hot tub, that was a real plus for us! We will visit again!

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Milkshed - we are very pleased you enjoyed both the property and location - and lovely to see the hot tub being used!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful week away at The Milkshed. Everything was as of an excellent standard and the owners have thought of everything to ensure you have a relaxing break.
The grounds, hot tub and the three course dinner cooked by Mark, were all outstanding, and nothing was ever too much trouble for Katie- thank you very much and hope to see you all again in the future.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your week at The Milkshed and would love to welcome you another time. We always really appreciate feedback so thank you for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomfordTr...
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Haven in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked for weeks break with my wife. Just standing outside on the first morning listening to everything - without the noise of traffic/people - is always a great start to the holiday. The accommodation is superb - two good size bedrooms one on-suite with bath and a good sized family bathroom. The rest of the Milk-Shed is also furnished to a high quality. There is everything you want for your holiday. Make sure you get Mark to cook you a meal (the last night is recommended) you will NOT be disappointed - we had a superb meal - thanks Mark.
Honiton itself is only 10 mins. away and there is a good selection of pubs/restaurants (esp. The Boston Tea Party)
This is an excellent base to cover Devon/Dorset and parts of Cornwall - Exeter, Torquay, Salcombe etc. - you have a endless choice. Highly recommended

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thanks very much for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed the lack of traffic/noise/people. The birdsong in the morning is just wonderful! We are delighted you enjoyed the catering and that you felt The Milkshed was a great base for seeing Devon. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naked_Hig...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent long weekend”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved: the quiet setting, the woodburner, friendly hosts and the excellent meal they prepared for us.

Our children loved: exploring trails through the field, feeding the chickens, visiting nearby beaches

We disliked... nothing. Much marvelous-ness all round - thank you.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your long weekend at The Milkshed. It is always lovely to hear that both parents and children had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriab...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday home which always exceeds our expectations ”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is our third visit to the Milkshed and as ever we are extremely impressed with the very high standard of accommodation, set in the glorious Devonshire countryside.The property is beautifully furnished and everything is catered for, including buckets and spades to borrow for the beach. There is nothing that the hosts haven't thought of. What lets most properties down of this standard is the comfort of the beds. However, at the Milkshed the beds are luxurious.

Since our last visit there is a coffee machine complete with coffee pods, which means you have no reason even to leave the accommodation. You certainly wouldn't want to miss though the array of beautiful places to visit within a fairly short drive away, including Sidmouth and Lyme Regis. When you return there is a hot tub waiting for you to relax in.

Katie and Mark are outstanding hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. Katie each year puts our online food shop away, so that it is ready for when we arrive, allowing us to start our holiday straight away.

I therefore cannot recommend the Milkshed more highly.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
What a lovely review! We are delighted you've chosen to return to The Milkshed - we try to improve the property each year so great to know the Nespresso machine has gone down well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollibobs...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My partner and I visited at the end of January for our engagement weekend and it was truly fabulous!! A beautiful location and completed to such a high standard - it really is perfect!

All the little touches are fantastic and really make it... from home-made brownies and a pre-heated hot tub on arrival to the kitchen goods supplied (that you always forget when you go on holiday

Thank you Katie and Mark for helping make our engagement weekend so memorable, we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We were honoured to be chosen as the location for your engagement weekend and wish you a lifetime of happiness together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.