We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally somewhere that gets it!”
Review of Lacemakers Cafe

Lacemakers Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Friendly welcome, service and relaxing atmosphere where the Chefs create extraordinary dishes from locally sourced produce. The menu changes regularly and is extremely good value for money.
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally somewhere that gets it!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I made a visit to Honiton with a friend earlier in July and had a coffee. We were seated and served at the table: a practice which is becoming increasingly difficult to come by, and this was fantastic as we had travelled for ages. Sadly we didn't have time for a meal, but what food did come out looked amazing. The owner was friendly and the staff were very helpful. Very relaxing atmosphere despite being busy. Only slight criticism was the latte that I ordered was more like a cappuccino in a mug. But in all honesty, that was completely overshadowed by the feel of the place itself. Good value too. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lively_Fallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teameffort, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    58
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sheer excellence!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Well what can I say, the service was brilliant the waitresses were very kind and helpful, The atmosphere was rather peaceful and very enjoyable, and the food was absolutely magnificent! I will without a doubt most definately be coming back for some more fine quality food and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teameffort, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Oh Dear, Change of Ownership”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Always stop here for Coffee Scone, etc. But oh dear, called in to find New Owner and Staff, ordered filter coffee, waited, and waited, then along came Cappachino, had ordered cake, waited then a round of toast was put down in front of us. Finally got our Coffee, but no cake. Asked about the cake, very apologetic, but decided not to prolong our visit. Beware

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teameffort, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
So sorry you visited us when we were so busy and you were given a teacake rather than a cake, as you know we offered your wife a complimentary lemon cake to help with the distress caused but this was declined. The coffee you were given was filter with hot milk and not cappuccino. Thank you for your comments we will try harder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really good food, excellent value & very good service, a little gem”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We popped in on the off chance at the end of lunch time and were warmly received. We had the Lyme Bay dressed crab platter and ham, egg & chips. Both were served quickly and looked great on the plate. Unlike so many places Riva know how to do chips, they were perfect. Good servings without being over the top. The rhubarb crumble with cream that I had was cooked to perfection. A nice idea was to have good quality soft drinks for sale, we had ginger beer ands dandelion & burdock. All for a reasonable price. Would we go back, yes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topshamtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We popped into Riva just to grab a couple of hot drinks, but once we saw the menu we decided to stay for lunch. I had French onion soup with a huge chunk of bread. absolutely delicious!!. the husband had gammon and chips which he couldn't finish as there was quite a lot. (not like him at all). He said it was really good! The staff were friendly and the prices were very reasonable. Will definitely go there the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetbluebell49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Look forward to seeing you again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lacemakers Cafe also viewed

 
Honiton, Devon
 

Been to Lacemakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing