We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by accident to get out of the Rain”
Review of Lacemakers Cafe

Lacemakers Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Friendly welcome, service and relaxing atmosphere where the Chefs create extraordinary dishes from locally sourced produce. The menu changes regularly and is extremely good value for money.
devon
1 review
“Found by accident to get out of the Rain”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We popped into the Lacemaker Café to get out of the rain just for a snack but after looking at the menu decided to have a meal instead and was not disappointed. The food was "Hot" "Very Tasty" and went down a treat. The staff were very nice and the atmosphere in the café was also very nice. Will definitely return soon

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    56
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lacemaker Cafe”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Called in for a quick lunch whilst in Honiton and was pleasantly surprised by this little café on the High Street. First impressions - it is CLEAN (tick) the waitress is pleasant and helpful but not pushy (tick) the food is freshly cooked and delicious (tick) there are plenty of veggie options (tick) and the atmosphere is relaxed and non-hurried (tick) All in all a little gem of a place, we shall certainly be returning next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddiDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed and friendly place”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Called in for breakfast.
Super decor and examples of lace
Very pleasant and helpful staff and excellent range and quality of food.
Great place to get a feel for the authentic West Country

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good refreshment stop, but avoid the chips!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were unable to check what they offer as their website domain-name appears to have expired. It was such a beautiful day we decided to take the plunge and visit for an early lunch before shopping. We have to agree with previous reviewers, as for a small High Street Cafe the Lacemaker offers very "civilised" surroundings and a relaxed atmosphere. The Cafe was only about a third full so the service was very good, as you would expect. The only parasol-equipped table in the delightful rear garden was already taken, so we sat at a cool inside table.The front door was wide open so there was some traffic noise from the busy High Street outside. The tea really was excellent and my wife enthused over her perfectly cooked ham omelette. I also wanted a light meal and opted for the ham and solitary egg (rather mean considering the price.) The Ham off the bone was full of flavour. The only negative was the portion of chips presented with the Ham. Now I know it is all subjective, and that the chips were probably from rare variety potatoes gathered and selected at dawn by local artisans and fried in extra-virgin triple purified yak butter, but, the simple fact is they had no taste at all, they appeared to be inert and could have been formed from cardboard (recycled of course) for all I know. Both the humble "chippys" in Honiton manage a better offering. Positive reviews on Trip Advisor tend to produce a "snowball effect" but, taking that into account, the Lacemaker is one of several very pleasant light refreshment stops if you shopping or are breaking your journey in Honiton.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classic English teatime”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a charming high street café with a friendly, relaxed ambience. Soft classical music was an unusual touch. Tea was servived piping hot (again, unusual) in individual pots, with good fresh cake. A delightful interlude.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wordbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lacemakers Cafe also viewed

 
Honiton, Devon
 

Been to Lacemakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing