We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People travel miles for Joe's Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chippie Joe's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chippie Joe's
Cuisines: Fast food, British
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“People travel miles for Joe's Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Best chippie in Honiton.
At busy times you will probably have a bit of a wait but the end result is well worth waiting for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mountain300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth Devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cracking chippy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The best fish & chips I have had for years!!
Great value and the portions are massive, people travel from neighbouring towns to use this fish & chip shop, says it all!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alikitrypiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best cod and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

there is a bit of a wait as being very popular but the wait is worth it , the cod is very large and freshly cooked with out dobt this is the best fish and chips in the south west...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ONE WORD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

All one needs to say is "EXCELLENT" but trip advisor will not add review unless 100 characters are used so although excellent says it all I will have to also say although you will probably have to queue it is definitely worth it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOLOS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best fish and chips ever, every time....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This fish and chip shop always has a que and even in the rain, this is for a reason . The fish is the best fish and largest I have had and that is why I always go there whenever I am in Devon, the chips are great too. I like the staff too .....

Price of £4.90 is due to go up soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrhurdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippie Joe's also viewed

Honiton, Devon
Honiton, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing