We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't Want to Leave This Place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Woodhayes Farm from the River Otter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodhayes Farm from the River Otter
Exterior of Orchard Barn Dining and sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Woodhayes Farm from the River Otter
Exterior of Orchard Barn
Dining and sitting room
Dining area and sitting room with log stove
Kitchen and Kitchen Units
Zip Link beds either 2 single or King size bed
King size sleigh bed
2 single beds
Loft Sitting room
View from farm gate with Dumpdon the Iron age hill fort in the distance
View of Honiton from Woodhayes
Field of Buttercups with Dumpdon Hill in the distance
Farm Track at Woodhayes Farm
Panoramic view from Sitting area under 400 year old oak tree
View of Farm Buildings from the orchard
A View of the Orchard
The River Lupp  2/3rds of a mile long
Parkland oak trees in winter
Dumpdon Hill fort in Winter
Woodhayes Farm from Honiton with Dumpdon Hill fort in the distance
Field of buttercups with Dumpdon Hill Fort in the distance
View of the Blackdown Hills from the BBQ area
View of Honiton from Woodhayes Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
M P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house but terrible access to outdoors”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The advertising and pictures for this property are misleading - so was the owners own correspondence (email & phone) when he stressed that the place was set in 150 acres of farmland - what's the point when you do not have any access to the outdoor area. Our designated garden area was the orchard, which was a walk across the driveway (about 150 meters away). As a matter of politeness we had informed the owner that we were smokers but would of course not smoke in the property - at that stage he still did not feel it necessary to inform us of the limited outdoor space. His parents lived next door - with large beautiful gardens - but that was not accessible to us. On Sunday morning we were having a coffee and cigarette outside out front door and were asked by the owners dad to move as he wanted to wash his car right in front of our cottage! Hospitality and friendliness were lacking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself was nice
Liked least: no outdoor access and poor hospitatlity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are always looking at ways to improve our guests' experience. Orchard Barn is set in 150 acres of wonderful parkland and woods which our guests do have unfettered access to. You can walk from the door up the path to the fields and Dumpdon Hill. We are always happy to recommend particular walks and detailed maps are in the Welcome file.
The Orchard garden area with bbq for sitting outside is a short walk (50 metres) from the accommodation across a courtyard which we mention on our website- we will ensure we mention this to smokers.
This is a non-smoking cottage. However, following your comments we are reviewing where we can accommodate those who smoke but nearby covered areas are limited. We are sorry you felt hospitality was lacking; we always try to be hospitable and welcoming to our guests. The enjoyment of your holiday is important to us. Please feel free to email me on fiona@woodhayes.co.uk to discuss this or any other points further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdarren7
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't Want to Leave This Place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just got back from a fabulous weeks stay at The Orchard Barn at Woodhayes Farm. Great location and the barn has everything you could wish for. Fresh flowers on arrival, milk, bread and butter all waiting for us. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possible need. We had breakfast every day at the barn. We cooked on the BBQ provided under the oak tree at least three of the night we were there - the view from the Orchard is breathtaking - with stunning sun sets. Beautiful also to take your morning coffee up there and listen to the birds waking up.
The beds are extremely comfortable and spacious. Bathrooms are really nicely done also. We didn't spend to much time in the loft as it was very hot up there - although we did start to watch a movie up there - but we all got too sleepy and had to go to bed!
Great place to take a dog as there is lots of space for them to run around.
A couple of minor draw backs was the wireless was very slow and simply not strong enough. The lighting in the living area/dining room/kitchen was a little too harsh at night - we had to bring a lamp down from one of the bedrooms to make it cosy. It was a great place to stay and I would love to go back in the future - maybe a winter visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen views across the garden and the Orchard BBQ area
Liked least: Wi-fi and lighting in the living area/kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diggermei...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK but not for children.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Good accommodation, but not child friendly,as building work on going and the site is being used as a small business area with some large vehicles coming and going during our stay. Wifi not good, as mentioned by other visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Internal Layout
Liked least: External business area and building work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wispadogg...
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Barn, great facilities”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This review should really show 4.5 rather than 5.

My wife and I booked this as a holiday over Xmas for us and her sister in law, her brother, her three neices and their dog. Booking the cottage was very easy, although we used a website for cottages in Devon, this property can be booked directly with Woodhayes farm.

Upon arrival the cottage was very clean and the owners left us a surprise xmas cake to have. The barn is converted into 3 floors; the ground being a kitchen / dining room with a 14" TV & wood burner. The second floor being x3 bedrooms and the upper floor in the attic with x2 sofa beds and a large TV.

We were greeted by Fiona's mother-in-law who stated a walk into Honiton was approximately 15 minutes, this was down counrty lanes and I would not reccomend walking on a dark night (as we did) unless you have torches.

The area is lovely and very peaceful. The reason why I gave this 4.5 out of 5 is that the internet was very intermittant, sometimes I could get internet access other times I could not. This is very frustrating as I wanted to speak to various family members via Skype, which we could not. I could not find a router but two bridging wireless access points.

Apart from the internet problem this is a very nice cottage, Lyme Regis is approximately 30 min drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great facilities
Liked least: Internet was very hit & miss; I think the internet was a bridge from the main house. But very rural I would not reccomend walking into Honiton
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi11
South West
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Barn,excellent location!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Excellent barn very spacious. Location brilliant! Very easy to book with friendly owners. Would definitley visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred E
Nueziders, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing holidays at Woodhayes”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent two beautiful weeks at Orchard Barn. It was the most exclusive appartement we have ever had for holidays! As the weather was quite wet, we had lots of space to relax: our youth prefered to stay at the living room under the roof top - a real cosy place with a beautiful view. But we enjoyed the big kitchen, the fireplace and the big table to sit together and play games, too. Our hosts were very friendly, they told us many lovely places to see. It was our first stay in England, but we do hope that it wasn't the last one - lets hope, next time the Orchard Barn will be available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very modern apartment with lots of space
Liked least: the rainy weather ;-)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This was our first trip to the beautiful Blackdown Hills and East Devon and it wont be the last ! Fiona greeted us after our journey from London and was very helpful in getting us settled. Flowers, bread, milk and jam were a surprise well come for us and much appreciated. Orchard barn is a converted 19th century farm barn which forms part of the curtilage of the main house, with a fine cobbled yard outside just a stones throw away from the delightful orchard. The interior is tastefully decorated with original artwork and it feels very snug and inviting. Fiona's parents in law live next door and they were very welcoming too, allowing us to walk through their lovely garden and admire the delights there. We had some lovely spring walks over Woodhayes farm, where we walked through the Park admiring the fabulous ancient oak trees and Crown All wood seeing 4 roe deer and even a badger. Dumpdon Hill fort (a bit of a climb!) was well worth reaching the sumit to see the tremendous panorama of the otter valley Honiton and even Dartmoor.... all in all it was a delight and our hosts couldn't be more helpful and kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the walks and landscapes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing