We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely from the outside awful on the inside”
Review of Yarcombe Inn - CLOSED

Yarcombe Inn
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The historic Yarcombe Inn is a Grade II Listed Building situated on the A30 in East Devon, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Closed for over a year, it was rescued and run for over 3 years by a small but dedicated group of local people who re-awoke this wonderful old coaching inn, once more making it the heart and soul of the village. The award-winning Inn, which reverted back to private management in March 2013, is set in the beautiful village of Yarcombe nestling on the edge of the Blackdown Hills, and dates back almost a thousand years. It is said to have once belonged to the monks from Mont St Michel in France, and along with the rest of Yarcombe was later owned by Sir Francis Drake.
harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Lovely from the outside awful on the inside”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

After stopping at the Belfry B&B across the road decided to have a drink and food I have never seen anything like it no lager on draught only bottles and the pub was dead ordered scampi and chips and that's exactly what I got no salad no veg . This must be one of the worst meals I have ever had and certainly won't be going back . By the look of the stock and food provided this pub is on its way out. Such a shame as looks lovely from the outside

Helpful?
3 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    11
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cold and bleak”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

So disappointed on a recent stop at this pub for lunch. The sandwiches were poor quality bread, 'plastic' ham and a whopping £5.95 for the pleasure ! It was also very cold in the pub despite it being a lovely day outside. Some of our group had a cooked meals which were ok but still poor value. The staff kept disappearing from view and there was a strange atmosphere to the place.
We won't be calling in anytime soon again. Sorry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank triciac890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub great food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed with family in Yarcombe and visited the Yarcombe Inn for evening drinks and liked it so much we booked the family in for supper the following day. The menu was good and the food was very good, a really good talented chef and I'm very fussy about my food! They were so welcoming and friendly. The pub itself has lots of character being an old building. I would highly rate this place for a drink or a full meal. Very good quality gastro pub probably the best pub food I've had and good portions for gastro pub.

Helpful?
Thank choochoohamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cold Comfort”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stopped here on way home for some lunch. We had never visited before but had some recollection of it being rated as good - it wasn't.

First things first, the beer was excellent. As it is a pub, that is always a good thing. The rest was fairly unsatisfactory.

The pub advertises a warm welcome - it was absolutely freezing inside! It was not just us, honestly, but another couple inside also commented on how cold the pub was.

Staff wise there seemed to be one man behind the bar, and another working in the kitchen. Sufficient one might think, but the man behind the bar continually disappeared on mysterious missions which left another couple who came in during the course of one of these missions standing at the unattended bar for about 5 minutes.

We ordered sandwiches. When they arrived they were of poor quality, no butter on the bread, no condiments on the table and none offered. They came with some crisps and a few leaves drizzled with balsamic vinegar. Not good value at £5.95.

We are not in the habit of posting disparaging reviews as we usually want to highlight the best of our experiences to assist others, but this pub was a real disappointment to us. Maybe this will cause the management to review their policies and put the fire on on a cold day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Unfortunately we do not own the premises and have issues to resolve with the owners regarding heating. However, as you suggest, the fire should have been lit and your comments regarding that and the meal have been passed on to the relevant staff. However, we respectfully suggest that you may have been in a better position to judge our food if you hadn't just bought a sandwich. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great quality food served in a traditional county pub setting, with a roaring open fire”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Probably the best Pub meal I've ever had. A romantic Valentines meal. Fantastic choice for Meat and fish dishes, able to accommodate my fussy choices. Freshly prepared and cooked perfectly. Friendly atmosphere, relaxed and personal but professional at the same time. After the meal sat in comfortable arm chairs drinking G&Ts in front of an open fire, while the a storm blew outside. Perfect

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mums_on_tour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yarcombe Inn also viewed

 
Awliscombe, Honiton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing