We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scrummy cake!”
Review of Bovey Down Farm

Bovey Down Farm
Ranked #28 of 75 Restaurants in Honiton
Cuisines: Polish, Russian, British
Restaurant details
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“scrummy cake!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Called here for cake stop during cycle with Axe Valley Pedallers. Cake & hospitality first class, will def be back for a cream tea! Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela S, Owner at Bovey Down Farm, responded to this review, 4 May 2017
Very pleased to have the Axe Valley pedlers in, we look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Strange Location, Divine Cream Tea”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After looking on tripadvisor for a cream tea, my partner found this one with it's couple of 5* reviews, so we decided to check it out. We found the turning easily enough, and drove across a field containing caravans down to a farm building with a tarpaulin covering a number of tables and chairs.

Thinking we had stumbled into an English version of Deliverance, we questioned if we had the right place, until the owner appeared and asked if we were here for a cream tea. We said yes, and sat down at a table with mismatched chairs and cutlery.

When the cream tea turned up, we were amazed. The scones were HUGE, 2 each, there was a massive dollop of clotted cream and two bowls of jam (The photo on this page is small in comparison). My partner had enough tea for three cups. The quality of the scones, jam and cream was also of the highest quality. The quiet setting surrounded by trees and fields grew on us and the two staff were friendly and charming. At £5 a head it was also cheaper than some much poorer teas we had on holiday.

The next time we are down in Devon visiting my parents, we will be sure to pop in again for a great afternoon snack!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gothnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela S, Owner at Bovey Down Farm, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review,So pleased you enjoyed the cream tea, we also hope you enjoyed the far reaching views of the Farway Valley that our campers have the beauty of waking up too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cream tea treat”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My son took me to Bovey Down Farm as a treat - and what a treat! These really were the best scones I have ever tasted - still warm - and served with delicious, home-made jams and, of course, Devon cream. So, forget about calories for once, and just enjoy! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 96Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela S, Owner at Bovey Down Farm, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I too am very pleased your son brought you for a treat, we hope he will do the same again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Cream Tea Ever”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We found Bovey Down Farm quite by accident at 6.30 on a Saturday afternoon on the early May bank holiday. We really weren't sure that they'd still be serving, but were given a warm welcome and had chairs and tables moved around to accommodate our large party in the early evening sunshine.
The cream tea was the best we've ever tasted. The scones were baked for us and served with the tastiest jams and honey that was truly the finest any of us had ever had.
I would heartily recommend anyone who finds themselves in the area to make sure that they find Bovey Down Farm and avail themselves of their wonderful fare!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FloTilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela S, Owner at Bovey Down Farm, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I too am very pleased your son brought you for a treat, we hope he will do the same again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bovey Down Farm also viewed

 
Honiton, Devon
 

Been to Bovey Down Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing