We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop off for the A30”

Monkton Court Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Restaurants in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stop off for the A30”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on the way home from Cornwall, had passed many times but not stopped. Real treat, great service from friendly staff, good food at reasonable prices. Sat in the garden for lunch really great. Recommend to all who are fed up of the usual A30 or A303 rip off fare

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good place to break your journey”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel had been recommended to us and we had planned to stop here for a sandwich on our way from Devon to Kent but the menu looked so inviting that we decided to have a two course lunch.

Our meal was most enjoyable and not too expensive and although not cheap it seemed value for money. I had the coronation chicken as a main course and it was a very generous serving but I thought a side dish of new potatoes should have been served with the salad. My partner had an individual meat pie with veggies which he said was very good.

We will certainly return for another meal at this hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank joandgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Go to Services for Coffee!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Decided to stop for a coffee on the way back from Devon, not wanting to stop at the various services/diners etc. along the way.

Sat out in the garden with coffee being brought out. Friendly staff and a refreshing change.

Recommend a break here on the way down. Got to say the food looked likely to be good too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireYellowbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect as the restaurant was very quiet for a Friday but the food was fantastic, we had roast lamb and salmon steak, both cooked to perfection followed by a homemade white chocolate and rhubarb cheesecake which was delicious! It cost a little more than we would usually pay especially the wine but it was all very good!

Helpful?
Thank MrsFraserRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and fabulous experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoyed a mid week evening meal. The menu was comprehensive and the service was just wonderful. Attentive, friendly and not at all stuffy. We enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the lounge, followed by the most delicious three course meal in the comfortable and spacious restaurant. The glazed lemon tart was a triumph. We would highly recommend the restaurant at Monkton Court Hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magicwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkton Court Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Monkton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing