We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place , hidden gem, perfectly peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place , hidden gem, perfectly peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Visited Lakeview for 2 nights from a 40. Winks offer. Was little concerned at the unknown! But value for money was good. Had a courtyard room, was ok, would like to have been in main house as weather was wet & got wet going to and fro main part of hotel for dinner, breakfast & drinks! Really friendly & helpful staff. Dinner was good, cooked lovely. Grounds are beautiful, views very pretty. No wonder it is popular for small intimate weddings. Would visit again? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    84
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
145
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Went for a birthday lunch. One starter was Seafood, turned out to be prawns, smoked salmon and tinned salmon! Malaysian Rendang Chicken was truly awful, probably from a packet mix, popadoms were dripping with oil.

Beautiful building, interior and grounds but let down very badly by the food. We won't be going back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Came to Lakeview manor on an offer and was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms clean and sufficient, if a little old fashioned but very confortable. Had dinner the first night and it was good value and tasty. Proper "English" meal. Breakfast was the same, very tasty.
Location is lovely but would be difficult to find in the dark.
Would come again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just had a great weekend at the Lakeview Manor Hotel, the room was just right, clean and comfortable with a huge bed. We were in room 21 which is across the courtyard in the annex, we loved the privacy and had a great view over the grounds and lake.
Breakfast was lovely and we had dinner in the restaurant on the second evening; the food was excellent and we thought great value for money.
Staff were friendly and helpful - all in all we couldn't fault the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked this hotel through a weekend deal, and weren't sure what to expect. We arrived at a charming hotel set in the middle of no-where. Though we arrived late, the service was perfect and the restaurant top rate. The next day we drove to look around Exeter and Honiton, but had enjoyed the meal at the Lakeview so much we returned for the second evening. Our room was a bit small, and we suspect some fo the larger suites were for guests paying full fee. Overall, however, we had a very pleasant weekend break and would happily return again.

Room Tip: Try to book the Lower Clock Tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst on business. Although I arrived quite late the staff were very helpful and cooked me up a superb meal which was gorgeous. Room was very spacious with all the normal comforts including WIFI which was good as I had no phone signal (on two different networks). Location was good for me and was a very peaceful location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Looked for places to stay close to Dunkeswell Airport prior to departure on Google. Both my husband and I liked the look of Lakeview Manor; we were not disappointed.

Arrived late afternoon and the hotel was very quiet. We were given Room 23 which was out of reception into the courtyard and up the stairs, from the bedroom were views of the parkland with one of the lakes in the distance.

The bedroom had a large walk in shower, water was lovely and hot and was perfectly adequate for our needs. The room was very welcoming, spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. the only thing I would suggest is that the bedroom could do with a net curtain behind the main curtains.

Luckily we did have a small torch which helped when going for dinner in the evening.
If it is wet umbrellas can be borrowed to save you taking a coat when you go to the hotel restaurant/bar for dinner or breakfast.

The staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent; tasty and well presented.

The gardens and surrounding areas were teaming with wildlife and with the lakes had a lovely rustic charm.

Next time we stay I definitely want to investigate more of the lakes of which there are two.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms outside and up the steps would be the quietest and the furthest from Reception, bar and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
4.8 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Property: Lakeview Manor
Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing