We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant hotel off the beaten track!”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for four days recently. Excellent breakfasts and very good menu in the evenings for dinner. A lovely setting down a lane (there is no Orange signal, which is no fault of the hotel as it is in a dip) Free Wifi available. Staff very helpful. By the luck of the draw we had fantastic weather and the hotel grounds were impressive. Good carp fishing on site within easy walking distance and plenty of parking. We stayed in the Stables which was very good. Good road network locally so withing easy reach of Honiton, Beer, Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, Exmouth and Topsham, all of which are so fantastic in the sunshine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShabbyChicStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

My boyfriend took me to this hotel as a birthday treat. First of all wouldn't really call this a hotel so much as a pub with rooms! The location is stunning, however make sure you have a sat nav to get there!
The room needs major refurb, was expecting 4 poster bed like in the pictures but instead got an average double room with tiny tv, outdated style, awful view of a roof and horrendous green bathroom! Also bad smell of chip fat from the kitchen most of the time.
However breakfast was lovely as were the staff and the setting definitely makes up for everything else!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

On arriving at the hotel you can't be disappointed with the setting ~ picturesque and remote ~ if you don't like the countyside then this is not really the place for you.

We were checked in quickly by a very friendly lady who I lter found out was the owner.

We stayed in room 7 and couldn't have been more pleased or surprised. We'd been given a king size four poster bed and a bath that you can fit 2 people in :-) There was a flat screen TV and adequate tea/coffee making facilities.

The breakfast din't disappoint either and all is cooked to order.

We had dinner on 1 of the nights and again this didn't disappoint. It was in fact delicious!!!!

Even though this hotel is off the beaten track you can easily access various places within a 10-20 minute drive.

I would defo recommend this hotel and would re-visit :-)

Room Tip: Room 7 or if travelling with children ask for the Upper Clock Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful setting in a lovely part of the country, and the breakfast was very good. However, the room was cramped, dated and in need of a serious revamp. Given the setting, the views of rooftops from our room was disappointing, to say the least. There were no chairs in the bedroom at all, so we had to sit on the bed to watch the television which was ancient. The bathroom was very basic and had no shower facilities at all, making hair washing very difficult. We were booked in for two nights, but couldn't face spending a second night there, and left after the first night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and stayed at the hotel on a 40winks break. The hotel and grounds are wonderful and set in a beautiful location, although off the beaton track its close enough to get to the coast at Lyme Regis ect.. with ease on the A35 from Honiton. Most of the rooms are seperated from the main building and at first this was a little disapointing but in reality it was no problem at all. Our room was well maintained and the shower was exceptional. Tea and coffee in the room and the usual bathroom acessories were all provided. The Bar was well stocked with both wine and beer including 'real ale' The wine was not badly over priced and it was pleasing to see they had a local wine (Sharpinham) The food was in our opinion excellent , a small but comprehensive menue at resonable prices. On the down side We were disapointed in the service, a little slow and a little forgetful. Overall we would (and have) recomended this hotel to our friends. On the deal we had it was terific value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verdiandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a wonderful short break at Lakeview, however just a few gripes really. This is not a moan - just an observation really - 3 light bulbs had gone in the room. The walls are very thin as we could hear next door's tv set and the gentleman snoring, I wish there was something they could do about noise insulation. Apart from that all was very good. Wonderful location, food and service in restaurant very pleasant, breakfast very good, plenty of choice. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Breakfast was lovely (pancakes yum) and room was great. Cream tea was also rather scrumptious and of course it was all value for money.

All the staff were very friendly and the grounds were picturesque.

It would be lovely to visit again, especially for the offer that we had and we will be recommending it to friends and family.

The only downside was no phone signal but that was no fault of the hotel. We had free WIFI so that made up for it.

Room Tip: We had room 21, upstairs courtyard room - large room, superking bed and very sparkly shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
402 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
479 reviews
8.4 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
233 reviews
8 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range: £68 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing