We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great break”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great break”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Booked another break through Dealcloud, again great value for money, food in the restaurant good, staff excellent, will return again I'm sure, the only criticism is the the room we had is in need of updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    87
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
53
148
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant stay, we intended eating out but after the first meal we were so impressed that we ate in for the rest of our stay. The food was amazing, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.My only criticism is why is there no FREE wi-fi

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your response, we are pleased that you had a great stay. We have noted your comments regarding the Wi-Fi, this is available throughout the hotel free of charge, access codes are available from reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hi, visited this place for a wedding reception, very nice place but definitely in the middle of nowhere! and no phone signal on any network.
Few points noticed, only two flavours of crisps, weird for such a remote place
One of the kitchen staff had his whites, and apron and a tea towel hanging from him while going to toilet and this place has a 5 rating for health and hygiene!?
some of the staff were hanging around and even one sitting on reception desk top with feet up while we were sorting something with the only helpful lady who sounded South African

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had our wedding at Lakeview in JUne 2013. The sun shone, the swing ball and other garden games were ready and we were good to go. From start to finish our day was perfect. after a not so good start with our chair covers,(not Lakeviews fault and Kerry to the rescue,) Lakeview staff accommodated my requests ( not quite bridezilla.) Our food was amazing and so delicious on the day.... A lot of our guests said this too. Lakeview let us give our guests a choice from their menu. They accommodated our evening buffet of bacon and chips rolls. (This is not on the menu.) ,The food came out quickly and everyone's needs were met. The staff working on the day were polite and helpful. A few members if the team went above and beyond for us/me during the last few days beyond the wedding. We were allowed to decorate the marquee as we wished and had guidance and support when we were unsure. Our day was magical and I would defiantly recommend LAkeview Manr as a wedding destination. Truly stunning x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEJBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The place is stunning, fabulous views , lakes , good food and staff who can't do enough for you. The niggles...poor quality ( old ) beds and bedding , and rooms in need of updating / refurbishing.The furniture looks very old and tired . A word in the owners ear perhaps ?.A couple of grand spent would make all the difference .
Having said that though we will be going back in the autumn , and perhaps for a longer stay .
The cream tea was lovely , as was our evening meal , and the locals in the bar were very friendly and entertaining , we were made to feel very welcome .
All in all a wonderful stay , just hope the owner reads all the reviews ( ? ) and takes note!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

What a find. Stayed Friday 31 May to Monday 3 June. If your looking to get away from the rat race this is the place. No mobile phone signal, fantastic :) (there is a payphone in the bar and phones in the rooms). WiFi available but unreliable.
Set in beautiful country surroundings with three lakes and meadow lined with bluebells. We were woken one morning by the sound of a woodpecker. Horses in an adjoining field enjoyed the fuss from guests and the large lake carp were plentiful. The place just oozes tranquillity.
We stayed in "The Stables" room. which was comfortable and clean. Will upgrade next time to a more modern room.
Bar was friendly and frequented by locals and prices were reasonable. Staff could not do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Julie the hotel managed was extremely hard working and friendly. Travelled out to Honitin, Sidmouth and the little working bay at Beer.
Cant wait to go back, probably later this summer.
If you want to get away then get yourself away to here.!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streetySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Typical Devon lanes take you to this gem of a locality. The grounds are well maintained and very picturesque. Friendly staff, comfortable if slightly cramped room and excellent food. Stayed 3 nights on a Dealcloud offer and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Good base for touring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilderv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
6.2 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Property: Lakeview Manor
Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing